Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but specific
First off this book teaches you how to program java applets not applications. Bearing that in mind allows you to place this into a much slimer genre of books. This book was the course text for a first year undergrad course on java for scientists and i liked the fact that it was easy to use. It is definately not comprehensive, it does not pretend to be but it does give you...
Published on 10 April 2003 by Mb Awan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good but just for very beginners
A very easy book. I racomend it for those who don`t know anything about C++ or object-oriented programming. After one month, you will feel the need of a more advanced book.
Published on 7 Mar 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but specific, 10 April 2003
By 
Mb Awan "abiriax" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First off this book teaches you how to program java applets not applications. Bearing that in mind allows you to place this into a much slimer genre of books. This book was the course text for a first year undergrad course on java for scientists and i liked the fact that it was easy to use. It is definately not comprehensive, it does not pretend to be but it does give you an easy way in. A good first book on java but not the last one you will by if you want to take the language seriously
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good but just for very beginners, 7 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Java for Students (Paperback)
A very easy book. I racomend it for those who don`t know anything about C++ or object-oriented programming. After one month, you will feel the need of a more advanced book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !!, 8 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Java for Students (Paperback)
This is a simple, straight-forward book. Nothing is left uncovered. Working through all the exercises and examples I really learned Java the fun way, which, by the way, is the best way to learn anyway. I can recommend this book to any other student or anybody else who is into object-oriented programming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Jury is still out on this one!, 18 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Java for Students (Paperback)
I bought this book on solely on the recommendation of various on-line reviews, as this book doesn't appear to be stocked by any of the major UK book retailers.
Having now had a chance to have a rummage through it, my initial impression is that's very good in some areas and poor in others.
Example of the good: it is excellent at explaining difficult ideas in a way that not only do you understand the immediate concept but your also able to relate it to other similar ideas and grow on it.
Example of the poor: I guess that the authors dropped the manuscript on a windy day while taking it to their publishers as the book seems to jump around all over the place. The book just doesn't seem to 'logically' progress in any coherent way that I can understand.
I also find it odd that a book that describes itself as ideal for undergrads assumes so little knowledge of 'basic' computing. It almost seems to be targeting the 'over 60's' in this respect.
I think that if you buy this book solely in the hope that it'll teach you Java your going to be disappointed. If you want to understand the concepts and do some working examples then I think that this is probably the book for you.
For those that really want to learn to code and go into the commercial sector then I can fully recommend....... Begining Java 2 JDK 1.3 by Ivor Horton printed by Wrox Press.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best "Introduction to Java" book, 13 Mar 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Java for Students (Paperback)
The number 1 ranked university in Turkey has selected this book for an Undergrad 1st year Java course. This book is excellent, not confusing and intenden to teach something. Forget all other commercial "Teach Yourself in X day" books. If you want to learn Java, buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Applet programming thoroughly presented, 13 Mar 2013
By 
I. Carmichael (Penguin, Tasmania Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simply a great book. Very few tackle Java via applets (and sadly the new editions of this don't either). It now suffers from age - Swing gets a mention, but is not fully treated.
Still this is my teaching text of choice for College Computer Science. Variables, objects, control structures, they're all there, together with very helpful 'Programming Pitfalls'.
And now being second-hand only, the price is absolutely rock-bottom - so, what's not to like?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great book but a little bit expensive, 6 Mar 2012
This review is from: Java for Students (Paperback)
Java for students was exactly what I was looking for. It had a really well balanced learning curve that steered me through the first exercises right through to the more complex coding tasks at the back of the book. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to Java for novices, 12 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. C. Whiteside (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Java for Students (Paperback)
A well-written and informative introduction to programming concepts in Java specifically for students, though obviously seasoned code-monkeys will find its repetition of object-orientated concepts rather redundant. Packed with clear examples and hints, it should be on the reading lists for curious hobbiests as well as software engineering undergraduates.

Note that the remit of this book only extends to programming for the standard JVM, and is not suitable information on Android or JavaME programming for mobile devices specifically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good intro, 15 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Java for Students (Paperback)
I found this book for a beginner in java to be very good.One point though.It is virtually the only book I have found to describe an example of construction method...building a house ..later deleted from later editions ..after 2001 I think..It is easy to understand and gives good examples...Could the author bring back the deleted method??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Beginning Programmer's Book, 6 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Java for Students (Paperback)
This is an excellent beginners book. The best part for me as a teacher is that it explains concepts that I often overlook as too obvios, but continue to confuse students to no end. It is great to see a book that is thorough, straight forward and focuses on the important issues and doesn't attempt to cover every detail of Java.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Java for Students
Java for Students by Mike Parr (Paperback - 24 Nov 2004)
Used & New from: 9.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews