Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A programming classic
If you read a lot of computer books, you can easily tell the good ones: they are frequently cited. Well, this book is frequently cited. You even find references to it in computer books that have nothing to do with C programming. That fact should tell you something.
I learned C from this book, and I have to agree with the authors that cite it--it's a good book...
Published on 10 Sep 1998

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Its very old school - which is not necessarily bad
I should of known better. Been coding for years, this is coding utilizing as much cleverness in one line of code as you can.

Thats the old school way. I respect that and they are very good at it. The new school is coding things in a way that is expressive and mitigates risks of both the code itself and of the person consuming it.

This book was...
Published 5 months ago by MrTortoise


‹ Previous | 112 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT!, 1 Sep 2011
This review is from: The C Programming Language (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
Exactly as describe, quick delivery, good condition, and great price as well. I would definatly recommend this buy for anyone interested in learnin C!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure genius, 25 Mar 2008
This review is from: The C Programming Language (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
This book may not be the newest one out but it is totally the best. I read many many many books trying to learn C but none of them quite did it until i found this one and it will always have a place in my heart and on my desk. STOP looking and buy this book NOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - The authorative guide, 29 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The C Programming Language (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
I can only say what i'm sure many have said before. This book is an execellent tutorial to the C programming language, and is not dependent of any prior knowledge. Most people will never have to buy another book on C. It can't be recommended enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 30 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The C Programming Language (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
Being relatively new to C programming (basic knowledge), I can safely say this book will be perfect for HND Computing and other similar level courses needing both C exercises, explanations, and a sort of reference manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is the best, 12 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This book is perfect. Everything is explained simply and quickly. As an example, i have never understood POINTERS, after reading this book i think there the best thing in the world! Everything will be made clear!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great C Programming book, 23 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The C Programming Language (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
This is the best C programming book out there. It gives you the facts, and has them all without a 1000 page book. Also, Kernigan and Ritchie are the creators of the C programming language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is an excellent book on C, 25 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The C Programming Language (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
It covers all of necessary parts of C languange, even though somewhere it is hard to be understood. Anyway, it is a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is a heeel for beginners, 10 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The C Programming Language (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
I am writing this review with this book on my hand. I bought this book with happiness three days ago, because I thought I was going to start learning computer programming. However, as a beginner, I found myself have a huge trouble to understand this book. I might be a great reference book for experienced programmers. But for me, it's a hell! I will return this book an hour later, and get another easier book to start learning C. However, I will come back to this one as soon as I have some basic knowledge about C. I believe it will work once I come back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of ANSI C, a must buy !, 7 Oct 2001
By 
Mr. G. Walburn "Seligsoft" (Gloucestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The C Programming Language (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
I have just started a 'c' programming course, with no knowledge of how in-depth I would have to go to learn it, I started to loose pace a bit, until I bought this book on recommendation from my lecturer , all I don't understand is clearly and logically mapped out in the book.
I have read several Sams 'how to in 24 hrs...'books, the most recient being 'Beginning Programming' another must read before anyone enters the programming world, I chose 'c' and 'c++' because of its speed over basic, which I already know well. I hope to write applications very soon with this book.
I have applied for the 'C Answer Book', which I hope will complete the resource, I do agree though it should be part of a package together.
Anyone interested in trying it out should buy 'C++ Builder 5 Starter pack' from Macmillan which has a very good compiler and libary files for creating DOS, Windows 16 and 32bit applications, and then read 'The C Programming Language'K & R afterwards.
I would like to see Kerninghan and Ritchies books bundled with a c-compiler, this would set a high standard throughout the industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great book, 17 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. S. J. Hollingshead (Exeter, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The C Programming Language (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
This book is a great start to C. It outlines parts of the language and makes sure that it's done step by step, not getting too complex before it has to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The  C Programming Language (2nd Edition)
The C Programming Language (2nd Edition) by Dennis Ritchie (Paperback - 22 Mar 1988)
33.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews