Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best of the market
I am a engineer who needed an intro into computer networks for my new job. Among the ones I looked into (Freeman, Held, the SAMS series etc ) I found this one the best by far.
First, the writing style is extremely friendly and casual, you feel like the man is speaking to you directly.
Second, I found the contents quite up-to-date for my purposes, which was to...
Published on 12 Aug 2004

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only a reference book
I think it's not a good choice for beginners. Too much theory and not well-organized. However, I'd like it to put in my library as a good refernce book. If you know what you're looking for in the book, Comp. Networks is helpful...
Published on 31 Aug 1999


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best of the market, 12 Aug 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Computer Networks (International Edition) (Paperback)
I am a engineer who needed an intro into computer networks for my new job. Among the ones I looked into (Freeman, Held, the SAMS series etc ) I found this one the best by far.
First, the writing style is extremely friendly and casual, you feel like the man is speaking to you directly.
Second, I found the contents quite up-to-date for my purposes, which was to learn the basics and be ready to go further. This book helps you understand data coms based on the OSI model.
It prepared me to tackle more advanced books - at the moment I am in R. Perlman's " Interconnections".
Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed, 16 Dec 2005
This review is from: Computer Networks (International Edition) (Paperback)
This book is a really comprehensive book about networking. it focuses mainly on the theoretical aspects of networks (not how to make one in your home) and is greatly useful for a university degree in this area. It has a very in depth look at the topic, inclusing algorihms for packet switching, physical specifications for all manner of network standards and a very comprehensive section about TCP/IP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Overview of Networks, 1 Nov 2005
This review is from: Computer Networks (International Edition) (Paperback)
Tanenbaum is an expert at putting the subject into perspective. I would recommend this book to anyone who needs to learn more about networks. Good background reading on networks for anyone considering doing a degree in Computer Science or Software Engineering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough and Clear. Engineer's point of view., 27 Feb 2003
By 
G. Avvinti (Sicily, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Computer Networks (International Edition) (Paperback)
Computer Networks are a wide and fastly growing subject. Finding a textbook that covers all of the topics in a detailed way is simply impossible. Perhaps for this reason good textbook authors have, in a probably implicit way, established two possible approaches: the Engineers' and the (mostly Software) Developers'. Once again Tanenbaum has done a great job with this book (and its updated-more-than-revised 4th edition), which takes the former approach.
The book presents general issues and impacts (on technology as well on the society) of Computer Networks in the first chapter, and then move in a detailed exposition of the lower layers of a general network architecture (similar to the OSI one). The great value of the books stems from the clarity and thoroughness of the exposition. Indeed, it presents all of the most known technologies and algorithms (both today's and historical) from physical mediums to algorithms for routing, congestion and flow control and so on. Plenty of details are provided at the level of mathematical performance analysis for some algorithms like those presented in the Medium Access Sublayer chapter (e.g. ALOHA and CSMAs).
The "tone" of prof. Tanenbaum is an added values as well. He rarely becomes boring and sometimes results hilarious in his comments of famous anecdotes that led to the born of this technology or that algorithm (have you ever heard how automatic phone calls switching was born ?). I never underestimate the value of an easy exposition, as sometimes studying is already hard enough to cope also with a overwhelmingly boring book.
Enough for the lower layers/protocols so far. About the upper ones the book actually does not spend too much emphasis on network applications nor on the high level tools for building network applications (e.g. there are a very few pages for sockets, but no more). Indeed, this area is more properly in the competence of the second kind of books (Developer's) as noted at the beginning of the review. However, there's one (unsurprising but happy) exception: as already done in his "Modern Operating Systems, 2e", Tanenbaum has put a detailed and rigorous treatment of the Security issue (Network Security in this case).
About editions, the third was already a very good book. Reasons for considering the fourth edition are the inclusion of updated technologies like ADSL, Bluetooth, Gigabit Ethernet, JavaScript, XHTML or XML, etc. More than this, however, technologies like fiber optic were on the wave of great improvements in 1996 when the third edition was published (and deformation due to day-night thermal excursions were not cited) so that now the treatment is more reliable (in terms of updates, not in technicalities).
All in all, given that imho there's no serious "complete bible" (or the like) book on computer networks, this book is a full five-stars one if the Engineers' perspective is that of interest. If one is more interested in the Developers' perspective (take again the sockets example), then a good choice would be Douglas Comer's "Computer Networks". For TCP/IP fans, my best choices would be the more focused Comer's "Internetworking with TCP/IP, vol. I" (1/3 Engineer's, 2/3 Developers') or Stevens' "TCP/IP Illustrated. vol I" (1/5 Engineer's, 4/5 Developers').
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best book, 11 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Computer Networks (Hardcover)
I am a freelance trainer. I use this book for my reference and reviewing the basic concept. I can not praise enough for the book, this is truely one of the best book ever written for the subject. Stalling book was also very good. I strongly recommend both for everyone.
If you want a more advanced topic, you may look at Daniel Minoli's Delivering Voice over IP and Delivering Voice over Frame Relay and ATM, this is a more advanced and up-to-date, but make sure you have this and Stalling's books as your backup. I am sure you will need them to refresh the basic concept.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is for someone how wants the whole story., 21 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Computer Networks (Hardcover)
Don't read this book if you're looking for a fast track guide to certification. It's intended for someone who really wants an in-depth look at the way networks work. It is adaptable to all past, present and future operating systems, Not just NT or UNIX.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars - but only for certain people, 5 Feb 2004
This review is from: Computer Networks (International Edition) (Paperback)
I have given this book 5 stars in the category of 'Computer Book' - remember this is still a textbook! Buying it for a read on the train is not recommended to most...
It is rare for a technical book to actually induce pleasure, but this book manages it. I have read far more technical books that I ought to have done (due to my degree), and this easily comes out on top.
It is well organised, succinct, and the writing is easy to follow. Normally this type of book rambles around, without really making the point clear. Not Tanenbaum; you learn infinitely more in this book than others twice its size - I think that is best thing about this book, the amount of understandable data transferred quickly.
If you have to study networks as part of an academic course or in the workplace, this is an excellent place to start. The topics covered range from cryptography to telephony networks, Bluetooth to socket programming.
If you want to delve deeply into a particular topic extremely, I think it is possible that this book will not be sufficient - but it will make a great introduction, and aid understanding of the more complex information.
So, in short, simply the best technical book I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only a reference book, 31 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Computer Networks (Hardcover)
I think it's not a good choice for beginners. Too much theory and not well-organized. However, I'd like it to put in my library as a good refernce book. If you know what you're looking for in the book, Comp. Networks is helpful...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you buy just one book on computer networks, this is it!, 17 July 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Computer Networks (Hardcover)
Many years ago when I needed a good general purpose reference on computer networking technology, I decided that Tanenbaum's Computer Networks was "the book." I have repeatedly told my students, "If you can only afford to buy one book, this is the book you want." That remains true today. From his 1st edition of Computer Networks in 1979, Tanenbaum has consistently excelled in presenting technical computer networking information in a lucid style that enables even the novice to become knowledgeable in a short time. This newest edition is not only updated to reflect the changes in emphasis of technology from the OSI architecture to the dominant TCP/IP model, but has also enabled the reader to see far enough forward so that design decisions made today do not preclude the adoption of emerging technologies as they mature. A bargain at twice the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for both beginners and intermediate users, 20 Nov 2003
By 
J. W. Moore "I'm easily pleased" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Computer Networks (International Edition) (Paperback)
After already having a fairly good basic understanding of computer networks, this book covers everything you will need to know about different types of network, from the history and things such as local telephone networks to the latest wireless technology. Very useful for academics and business use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa493ea0)

This product

Computer Networks (International Edition)
Computer Networks (International Edition) by Andrew S. Tanenbaum (Paperback - 1 July 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews