Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most comprehensive description of TCP/IP available, 25 Oct. 2000
This review is from: Internetworking with TCP/IP: Principles, Protocols and Architecture v.1: Principles, Protocols, and Architecture: Principles, Protocols and Architecture Vol 1 (Internetworking with TCP/IP Vol. 1) (Hardcover)
This book came with a strong recommendation from a colleague, an opinion with which I can more than concur with. I have found this book to be the single most comprehensive source of TCP/IP and related protocols available. Furthermore, and perhaps most importantly, the book is very easy to read, well structured and concise. However, it should be noted that this volume does not include in-depth implementation details nor source code but, apparently, the following volumes do. In conclusion this book is both an excellent tutorial and reference book for the TCP/IP protocol suite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One for the Techies, 25 Dec. 2002
By 
Mr. P. Harvey "Phil" (Cornwall, UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Internetworking with TCP/IP: Principles, Protocols and Architecture v.1: Principles, Protocols, and Architecture: Principles, Protocols and Architecture Vol 1 (Internetworking with TCP/IP Vol. 1) (Hardcover)
Vol. 1 (4th ed.), h/back, 750 pages: deals with basic internetworking with TCP/IP and is 'one the Techies'. It is not intended for the non-technical reader wanting to know more about the subject. It is really a student text/reference book comprising 33 chapters, each with its own set of self-assessment exercises. Vol. 1 also contains an appendices containing a comprehensive glossary, extensive bibliography and a long list of RFCs (Request for Comments), all of which can be found on the Internet, if you know where to look. Vol. 2 deals with design, implementation and the internals of TCP/IP and Vol. 3 deals with client-server programming and applications and each of these three volumes are perfect examples of clarity and presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book ever on TCP/IP, 3 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Internetworking with TCP/IP: Principles, Protocols and Architecture v.1: Principles, Protocols, and Architecture: Principles, Protocols and Architecture Vol 1 (Internetworking with TCP/IP Vol. 1) (Hardcover)
If I was not in a hurry I would write at great lengths about this book. In short it is extremely well written. Not only technically is it a masterpiece, but somehow the author has made the book an enjoyable read! I never thought I would find myself reading and enjoying reading a technical book so much.
I personally can not praise the author enough for the high standard of writing.
I had purchased other books before because they had caught my eye with better covers Etc. They gave me factual statements but did not any the question why the facts were the way they were.
I did not know TCP/IP before I read this book, now with reading a little each day on public transport on the way to and from work, I feel that I have a fair grasp of it. If only more technical books were of this standard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Book on TCP/IP, 16 Nov. 2003
By 
JJ (York, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Internetworking with TCP/IP: Principles, Protocols and Architecture v.1: Principles, Protocols, and Architecture: Principles, Protocols and Architecture Vol 1 (Internetworking with TCP/IP Vol. 1) (Hardcover)
The definitive guide to the TCP/IP standard from a man that helped design it. This is the book that every firewall admin or network admin needs to have on his shelf - when your not quite sure if it is FW-1 or IIS that isn't handling that TCP teardown correctly - this is the book which can tell you - and the book that you can trust to be right. An indispensible reference, if not a gripping bed time story...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Undoubtedly the best TCP/IP book I have ever read, 4 Feb. 2011
By 
B. Middleton (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
Having read Dr Comer's book from start to end I have to say that it is the best resource to fully understand all the nuances that the TCP/IP protocol suite has. Not only is the book extremely thorough it is extremely well written; very clear and concise and he makes it an enjoyable read. I have also read TCP/IP Illustrated Volume I and have to say that I found that although it was an excellent book it really is a bit dated and also a little bit harder to follow. This is a book that an experienced network professional can gain from as well as anybody who is completely new to networking. As a networking professional myself this book is an excellent resource to have available for reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best N/W book you can buy, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Internetworking with TCP/IP: Principles, Protocols and Architecture v.1: Principles, Protocols, and Architecture: Principles, Protocols and Architecture Vol 1 (Internetworking with TCP/IP Vol. 1) (Hardcover)
Best N/W book you can buy at any price. Older editions supply all the basics so unless you're a V6 person, any addition is worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Understand TCP/IP concepts, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Internetworking with TCP/IP: Principles, Protocols and Architecture v.1: Principles, Protocols, and Architecture: Principles, Protocols and Architecture Vol 1 (Internetworking with TCP/IP Vol. 1) (Hardcover)
This is a great introduction to TCP/IP concepts and really promotes understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 28 Dec. 2013
By 
R. Chohan (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
reasonable condition book and did not expect it much better: I still have to read it but expect it to be good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews