Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great purchase, 15 July 2003
This review is from: Linux Administration Handbook (Paperback)
This is a really great book, upto date, only as indepth as it needbe, and not full of waffle and padding despite being nearly 900 pages long. Might be quite expensive but the money you'll save by not buying bad linux books will make it worth it.
There are even a few excerises at the end of each chapter if your really serious.
There is also a unix version of this book that covers Linux too, and that comes in purple rather than green..
Covers Redhat SuSE and Debian, so you cannot lose.
I am amazed no-one else has reviewed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a must for any linux admin!, 22 July 2003
This review is from: Linux Administration Handbook (Paperback)
This book is a must for anyone wanting to tinker with Linux admin, and probably even seasoned Linux admins. The book is extremely well written and discusses even complex ideas in such a way that even beginners can understand whilst not skipping important details. The book also includes real-world examples of configuration files. This is the best book I have ever seen on the topic of Linux admin and if you are a beginner looking at getting some knowledge of linux admining then I thoroughly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic laptop/bedside reading, 31 Jan 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has been worth its weight in gold, most of the subjects are in depth and consise. Some stuff like the ldap bit could have had a little more content. but for an administrator this and the o'reilly Unix Administrator should be standard book shelf matrial for all linux administrators..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this book, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Linux Administration Handbook (Paperback)
This is the first it book I actually enjoyed reading, I recommend this to any person who wants to learn the fundamentals of Linux Admin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have, 13 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is amazing work done by the authors of this book. I recommend this as a must have if you are Linux noob or pro.

cheers!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does What It Says On The Tin, 3 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. David Kerr (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Need a big reference book of Linux admin tasks and so on? Go for this.

It's got everything that you could need and more. It is well written and sensibly arranged. If you need a good reference for Linux admin, I haven't yet found a better book than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best book ever!, 12 Sep 2008
Hello,

I'm a unix/linux sys admin for more than 10 years, and I keep on buying book and reading things on internet to keep myself up-to-date.

This book is great, i did not learn much from it, but it's a very handy handbook to have!

I would recommend this book to anyone using linux!

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great info, 11 April 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book presents some great info in a clear format, not too over complicated. Gives enough on each subject to give you a good idea what you are working on and how to proceed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Linux Administration Handbook
Linux Administration Handbook by Trent R. Hein (Paperback - 25 Mar 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews