Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Updated (almost)
A generally good update to the previous version and a mine of information for advanced riding, but let down by a few silly mistakes. some chapters have been lifted directly from the car version and refer to rolling windows down (windows weren't an option on my Triumph Tiger).
Published 15 months ago by Mr Gareth D Evans

versus
77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Clearly written by committee - read with extreme caution!
It is unpleasant to say, but this new and long awaited revision of such an important and historically venerated book contains substantial errors; not so much typographic, but factual. There are laughable errors over "windows", the "system of car control" and front "wheels" (plural), most likely due to lazy proof-reading and a rushed transfer from the earlier published car...
Published 19 months ago by Almirante-Biker


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Clearly written by committee - read with extreme caution!, 6 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Motorcycle roadcraft: the police rider's handbook (Paperback)
It is unpleasant to say, but this new and long awaited revision of such an important and historically venerated book contains substantial errors; not so much typographic, but factual. There are laughable errors over "windows", the "system of car control" and front "wheels" (plural), most likely due to lazy proof-reading and a rushed transfer from the earlier published car version.

More important are the misleading, if not downright incorrect, texts over cornering forces, braking, dealing with slow-manoeuvres and manual-handling. There are likely many more, as I have only just started analyzing it. Try doing what is said on getting your bike off and on the centre-stand and you are likely to end up having to make an insurance claim; medical, vehicle or both. There are also some unclear and misleading texts mixed in with a number of the diagrams (eg. regarding overtaking). People reading this training book as a relative novice (from an advanced rider point of view) will likely read these things and take them quite literally. They could in some instances put their lives at risk by doing so.

It's a real disappointment. This is doubly sad when all in all the design, layout, and general appearance of the book and information within it are without argument an improvement over the last revision (1996).

Apparently at least thirty people, many of them distinguished in this field, sitting on at least three boards or committees, have been involved in this production. I sincerely hope they take note of the many comments they will undoubtedly get on this revision and ensure a thorough edit is carried out before any reprint is envisaged. To reprint this edition "as is" would be adding insult to injury. The PDF and e-Book versions are not published yet. Take note TSO - don't bother. Listen to the many critics that will appear, and get it right beforehand.

My advice at the moment is don't buy this, especially if you are just starting out on your advanced biking career. Get hold of the 1996 edition and use that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Many parts obviously copied from the car version, but still a useful book, 8 Sept. 2013
By 
Mr. J. M. Young (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcycle roadcraft: the police rider's handbook (Paperback)
There are several parts that have been copy/ pasted from the car version without so much as even changing the word "car" to "bike". This is lazy proof-reading and disappointing as this is supposed to be "the" book to own.

In general the book is well laid out and clear. Much of the information is valid and I'd still recommend reading it but if you've got an earlier version I don't see any need to get this version.

With more attention to detail this book should easily get 5 stars so it's a real shame it falls short. The publisher should correct the errors and distribute it for free to people who already brought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor when compared with previous edition, 9 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcycle roadcraft: the police rider's handbook (Paperback)
Having passed my IAM advanced motorcycle test a few years ago I was looking forward to reading the new version of this book in order to get the latest word on motorcycle roadcraft. I have, thus far, been disapointed with this new edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A mixed blessing., 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcycle roadcraft: the police rider's handbook (Paperback)
This book contains a great deal of wisdom and is well worth having. Unfortunately, the "muppets" who published it, appear to have "cut and pasted" large chunks from the Car Drivers version, without checking, or proof reading the finished article. You now have anomalies such as " Check your Windscreen wipers" in the motorcycle version. It one instance a motorbike changes into a car half way through an overtake. I would NOT recommend that anybody buy this "faulty" version, but wait until the corrected version appears for sale. These blunders are so serious, I would have expected that a full refund should be offered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment..., 6 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Motorcycle roadcraft: the police rider's handbook (Paperback)
Couldn't agree more with the previous two posts, after all this time we get this, mind you I notice the price has miraculously dropped from £16.99 earlier in the week to £11.55 including delivery now. Is that a coincidence?

The book is littered with dogmatic statements in contrast to all previous versions where they were careful to avoid that. Contradictions abound, references to `vehicle' (the bits cut & pasted no doubt from the car book) while other bits refer to `machine' (the bits written by a biker no doubt). Statements like ..."activating ABS means you've lost control..." Really?

Heavy use of the rear brake "...causes the rear wheel to rise..." Really? Are they sure they don't mean the front brake? Did that car driver by any chance write that bit too?

And the diagrams often contradict the words. Page 183 states that when you turn left the best place to be is on the left and yet page 184 shows a rider turning into a `normal' left turning from the offside of their lane?? The text states that `swan necking' is misleading, but positioning to the offside of the lane to turn left isn't somehow? Confused you will be.

Then there's those diagrams that Almirante-Biker refers to on overtaking. The diagram where you don't have to reduce speed as you approach the vehicle has the rider coming up to within a couple of bike lengths of a lorry and then swooping out, then miraculously turning into a car as they return to the nearside. Yet on the following pages we have a situation where a rider comes up to a car to match its speed, much safer, yet with a far greater distance behind it and a good view over it as it's only a small car. Where's the sense in that? At least it remains a bike when it gets back to the nearside again....

However surely the best one must be on page 202. Here we have a diagram advocating how to do it correctly from a position dangerously close to the centre rear of a lorry (what is it with that rider and lorries?) and then swooping out without any vision into the offside lane. Crazy or what? On that same page we have "...never try to jump the queue. It annoys road users and can be dangerous." (It's that car driver again....) which seems to contradict the section on filtering. Anomalies such as this abound. I agree with `The bike coach' who "expect(s) it to be withdrawn, corrected and re-issued (hopefully)" Me too...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Serious errors - read with care, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcycle roadcraft: the police rider's handbook (Paperback)
I think it is much better, more understandable and readable.

However, there is a fairly serious obvious error in it under 'Grip' i.e. - 'grip increases by 50% at a 45 degree lean angle'. Grip is confused with load on the suspension (which actually increases by 41% at 45 degrees to be pedantic). I think it is obvious that this is not right from a common sense point of view. Centrifugal force acts horizontally so cornering does not increase grip at all but instead uses most of it up at a 45 degree lean angle.

The next bit on 'Weight Transfer' is also muddled at best, as rear braking and throttle shutting produce similar - not opposite effects etc. etc. I expect it to be withdrawn, corrected and re-issued (hopefully) as potentially it is the most useful book on riding that there is, and earlier versions have been used as 'The Bible' by advanced trainers, and in layout, content and format is a huge improvement.

It is very sad as we have been waiting 17 years for the new version, and clearly a lot of work has gone into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read and understand., 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcycle roadcraft: the police rider's handbook (Paperback)
A few editing errors let it down - motorcylces turn magically into cars in the illustrations! I now understand why my motorcycle reacts the way it does...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Updated (almost), 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcycle roadcraft: the police rider's handbook (Paperback)
A generally good update to the previous version and a mine of information for advanced riding, but let down by a few silly mistakes. some chapters have been lifted directly from the car version and refer to rolling windows down (windows weren't an option on my Triumph Tiger).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Many mistakes that required re-print, 13 Mar. 2014
By 
A. D. Stenton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcycle roadcraft: the police rider's handbook (Paperback)
Page 38, 48 75, 81, 145 have errors that refer to cars etc. Page 193 & 208 have cars in diagrams :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 11 Aug. 2014
By 
Paul Barton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcycle roadcraft: the police rider's handbook (Paperback)
Heard a lot about editorial errors such as reference to winding down windows and bikes changing to cars in the sequence pictures but glad to say this edition didn't have any such things (that I noticed anyway). A useful refresher for a seasoned rider and some interesting bits but I really got it for my son who had recently done direct access and to him it will be invaluable, especially if he reads it in conjunction with further training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Motorcycle roadcraft: the police rider's handbook
Motorcycle roadcraft: the police rider's handbook by Philip Coyne (Paperback - 26 Aug. 2013)
£11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews