Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars361
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2010
The handbook, as with earlier editions, provides good sound basic advice which is of great value to all drivers. If more people followed the practices outlined in the book there would be considerable savings in lives, injuries and vehicle and property damage.

It is a pity the book does not have more readers among the general public.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2010
I bought the motorcycle version of this after passing my CBT a few years ago and the information is invaluable. This car version of the book is just as good. No matter how good a driver you think you are, this book will teach you to be a safer, and therefore better, driver in all sorts of situations on the road. Buy it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2012
This book is not just for Advanced Police drivers but for everyone who has a keen interest in driving and for driving safely.
As some one who is looking to do advanced driving courses i found the book good and easy to read due to well laid out sections, with good explanations .
The other advantage is at the end of each chapter there are memory joggers and mini tests .

At its heart is basically teaching a driving system that allows you to understand how car control works and improve how you not only read the road but understand the road and surroundings.

If you have any type of interest in driving then this is worth getting....
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
Every driver should have a copy of this and refer to it regularly. I bough this book because my son is learning to drive and while trying to pass on my 'wisdom', it became apparent that I didnt know the correct proceedure for dealing with quite a few driving situations. Roadcraft is well illustrated and full of good common-sense instruction on how to drive safely, courtiously and cooperatively. The book gets the message across that driving well requires knowledge, skill and concentration, and that every road user SHARES the road with other drivers. Some may think that Roadcraft is aimed at advanced drivers but its really for everyday driving situations.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
This is not a new book to me, my having read it and driven by its tenets for years. I just bought the Kindle version for convenient reference in relation to "blue light" driving. Having said that ... if everyone who drives a car read this book there would be many fewer road accidents, no road rage and fewer traffic jams (it doesn't abolish roadworks or traffic cones!) But that is a daydream! Most drivers will never read this and too many will continue in short-sighted, frustrated, risky incompetence...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
This is a sensible read for any driver irrespective of age or experience. Some of the guidance is simply common sense and experienced drivers should really 'know the rules'. Nevertheless everybody can learn something from this book and it is also pleasing to be able to say 'I already do that'. There is no doubt that if all drivers followed the advice given there would be fewer accidents on the road and a lot less 'road rage' and aggro. Motor insurance premiums might go down as a result- and pigs might fly!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2009
This book is a must fo all drivers. It has the most essential aspects of the skills involved in driving.It gives the insight into experiences involving the safest way to handle a motor vehicle.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2009
This is a brilliant book for tweaking your driving skills up a few notches. It's full of extra tips and ideas which will help combat bad habits and complacency which creep into most drivers' long term driving methods. It's delivered in a nonpatronising way and shows that driving really is a craft which can worked on and improved no matter where the baseline driving skills may be. This results in a safer driving environment for us all.Well recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
Nice update to a great book. This is the standard that every driver in the UK should be aiming for and rightly puts mindset to the very forefront of driver training.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2010
A good read, full of information, just like everyone has said before me. I particularly liked the section on how to approach and negotiate bends, it really works!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)