Customer Reviews


259 Reviews
5 star:
 (198)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you drive you need to read this
This book is what every new driver should get along with the highway code. sadly this doesn't happen, so whether you have been driving for one day or thirty years you should read this.
The book is very well laid out and of the highest quality. Clear concise it is a very good example of HM Govt. publishing at its best. All points are clearly illustrated with diagrams,...
Published on 9 Nov. 2002 by Chris A

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars expensive for the content
wish I had found a second hand version somewhere for a pound. everything in it is very obvious but necessary for those not in the forces to pass your advance driving test
Published 15 months ago by Steven Bell


‹ Previous | 1 2 326 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Recrafted Version, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent update for this handbook. As a reference for any driver who wants to progress, this is perfect.
Good diagrams and very clear writing and language make every topic easily understood.
The new section on Emergency Response driving is a great help for everyone, including those 'in the way' of an Emergency Driver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roadcraft, 15 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have bought each edition of 'Roadcraft' since the 1970s. With each new edition there has been significant improvement and this one is no exception; it tops the lot. I have for many years been interested in good driving and possess a small library of books and DVDs on the subject. This book and the companion DVD (sold separately) hold pride of place, and I can recommend it without reservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A serious must have read, 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Today's driving standards as seen on our roads leaves little doubt that some have no cares about anyone but themselves. This book used in conjuction with serious advanced driving tuition helps to keep you and your family safer when driving. If you care, then go for this book and the tuition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable information for anyone who drives, 12 Oct. 2009
By 
EdG (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roadcraft: the police driver's handbook: The Essential Police Driver's Handbook (Paperback)
This should not be mistaken for something which only driving 'geeks' and Police drivers should purchase. Far from it. It contains practical information for anyone who drives a car, such as how handle your vehicle in skids, how to safely negotiate hazards, how to properly observe situations and how your mental state can affect your driving ability.
(Much of the information is supplied by the IAM (Institute of Advanced Motorists) and will be familiar to anyone who is a member and has read 'How to be a better driver'. However, it contains so much more that it should be treated as a supplement to this.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for all driving instructors ...., 14 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As the author of "How to Become a Driving Instructor" I was delighted to have the latest edition of "Roadcraft". A book that has truly stood the test of time. The new edition is especially valuable to me as an IHCD ambulance driving instructor. The updates include a new chapter on emergency response that I recommend that all my students read. This book is not only valuable, but essential for every good driving instructor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Book for Advanced Driving, 8 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Roadcraft: the police driver's handbook: The Essential Police Driver's Handbook (Paperback)
If you are going to take the IAM or RoSPA ADA Advanced driving test you need to have a good knowledge of the Police Roadcraft System, this book gives you that knowledge, it is the bible of advanced driving. To further your knowledge more in book form this can be gained by reading John Lyons Advanced Driving book. Roadcraft was originally written in 1954 and published in 1955. The system was updated and changed in 1994, however a few points to bear in mind are, Warning signs for road hazards are not always as stated, the nearest hazard could be the bottom sign this depends on the local council. Do not use the Rotational steering method shown; instead for open road work hand high first that corresponds to direction of bend, right hand bend - right hand high and left hand drops down the steering wheel, you then rotationally steer so that when you are in the bend at its apex your hands will be at quarter to three and able to deflect the steering wheel for any correction needed in an emergency. The last point in regards to Aquaplaning, yes remove your foot from the accelerator but do not declutch as you need your wheels to rotate to disperse the water and not to lock up which they can do if the drive is taken away by declutching. With those points in mind the rest of the book is the best guide to the basics you require for becoming an advanced driver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greate for drivers who want to be even better., 1 Nov. 2010
This was recommended to me by an experienced driving instructor as a way to continue to improve my roadcraft and defensive driving skills. I bought it, read it then tried it. I had wondered whether it might be full of impractical theory. It is not. Everything in it makes sense and works. It shows how to a good and safe driver on roads that are full of traffic going in different directions and have speed limits. It is NOT about how to drive fast as if you are on a racing circuit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars roadcraft, 3 Jan. 2011
By 
John Errington "jle" (Rowlands Gill, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roadcraft: the police driver's handbook: The Essential Police Driver's Handbook (Paperback)
I bought this book many years ago shortly after passing my test and found it immensely useful in learning to drive "properly".
The techniques described are well supported by explanations of WHY each is a better way; and the sections on reading the road will help any driver react more quickly and more appropriately.
I have bought this new copy for my daughter who is starting to learn to drive and I'm confident it will make her safer on the road, both to others and herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ESSENTIAL DRIVING SKILLS, 4 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Roadcraft: the police driver's handbook: The Essential Police Driver's Handbook (Paperback)
As the roads get busier it makes sense to hone your driving skills and make sure you are ready for whatever you encounter. Full of really useful tips aimed at Police drivers but relevant to all drivers. I found the information on cornering and overtaking particularly helpful. I learned to drive over 30 years ago in a Morris Minor. Modern cars are more powerful and complicated so to get the best out of them and to stay safe, read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does it expose the Police Driving techniques., 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roadcraft: the police driver's handbook: The Essential Police Driver's Handbook (Paperback)
System is good, practice is required to achieve a good long term embedding of principles. has it made me abetter driver simply by reading it - yes it has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 326 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roadcraft: the police driver's handbook: The Essential Police Driver's Handbook
Used & New from: £9.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews