Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sufficient for prep work
covers everything i need to know about cpd/moped stuff and also the motorbike licence, good book to have for learners.
Published 13 months ago by J A Nyatsanza

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very, very basic.
I bought this book hoping for some real in depth explanations on correct road positioning, techniques for ensuring good observation etc. Instead, it is a fairly basic list of the things the examiner will check which you can find for free on the DVLA website and You-Tube page, with no clearer insights.

For example, in every single section where it say's "Things...
Published 11 months ago by Unstabler


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very, very basic., 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official DSA Guide to Learning to Ride (Driving Standards Agency) (Paperback)
I bought this book hoping for some real in depth explanations on correct road positioning, techniques for ensuring good observation etc. Instead, it is a fairly basic list of the things the examiner will check which you can find for free on the DVLA website and You-Tube page, with no clearer insights.

For example, in every single section where it say's "Things to Avoid" it says something like "Inappropriate Observation" - Yes, I know Inappropriate observation is a bad thing (when has inappropriate anything been a good thing to do on a test???) , but I was hoping for a better explanation on what would be considered inappropriate, or what would be ideal (for example, "When pulling away first check both mirrors, then the left hand blind spot, then the right hand blind spot, ensuring that the examiner can see that you have made the checks" (note - I don't know if this is the correct procedure, but just an example of the level of detail I was hoping for)).

Same criticism of the on road test section - Of course "correct road positioning" is important. But I was hoping for some examples and diagrams to show common situations and the appropriate positioning that is recommended.

Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No real information, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official DSA Guide to Learning to Ride (Driving Standards Agency) (Paperback)
This book provides an overview of what one will learn in CBT and what will be tested, but provides absolutely no real useful advice.
I can't see what value it actually adds to anyone trying to learn to ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sufficient for prep work, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official DSA Guide to Learning to Ride (Driving Standards Agency) (Paperback)
covers everything i need to know about cpd/moped stuff and also the motorbike licence, good book to have for learners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Book, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official DSA Guide to Learning to Ride (Driving Standards Agency) (Paperback)
This is a very good book, This book covers everything needed to ride a motorcycle at a basic level, would recommend to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Instructor course, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official DSA Guide to Learning to Ride (Driving Standards Agency) (Paperback)
This has everything you need to prepare you for cardington, obviously alongside a well paid instructors course which I suggest you also do, this book has all the relevant information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quick delivery, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official DSA Guide to Learning to Ride (Driving Standards Agency) (Paperback)
excellent service. i would recommend this book to anyone preparing to take their bike test. contains all the necessary tips to get you through your exams
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Pointless!, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is completely pointless. It doesn't teach you anything about learning to ride that you can't find on the internet. I suggest the DSA's "Official DSA Guide to Riding" if you're looking to learn about riding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official DSA Guide to Learning to Ride (Driving Standards Agency) (Paperback)
This item is aimed at beginners attempting their CBT motor cycle training.
The book is in easy to understand stages and very clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very useful book, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I brought this book following advice from a friend. I've always wanted to learn to ride but never seemed to get around to it until now.the book was extremely helpful, giving a clear outline of what to expect on the day of my CBT, which meant that I felt more prepared and less overwhelmed by the volume of information.
I did find that there were many phrases repeated over and over, which I did find a little tedious. But, overall, a very useful book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Official DSA Guide to Learning to Ride (Driving Standards Agency)
The Official DSA Guide to Learning to Ride (Driving Standards Agency) by Driving Standards Agency (DSA) (Paperback - 10 Jan 2013)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews