Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as other reviews might suggest
I was fortunate enough to be lent this DVD and in conjunction with the Theory CD passed my theory test first time around. That said, I am learning to ride a motorcycle as an experienced driver. The DVD progressively explains Hazards with a gradual emphasis on differentiating static hazards from Developing ones (ie ones which absolutely force a driver/rider to change speed...
Published on 30 Aug. 2008 by Ed R

versus
144 of 145 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy alternative software instead!
I bought this DVD as part of the official DSA learner pack which also included the theory test CD-ROM and the Prepare for the Practical Test DVD.

To be honest I was disappointed with the Hazard Perception DVD as it only had ten clips on which to practice (which was not enough to really get the hang of when to click to spot the hazard). Nor did it review the...
Published on 12 Mar. 2009 by Ms. S. Hurrell


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time and money, 26 Aug. 2009
By 
A. Parker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Official DSA Guide to Hazard Perception [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this because it is the `official' DVD. What a waste of money! There are limited clips, a pointless `what happens at the test centre' introduction (the DVLA send you a free DVD explaining this when you book your test anyway) and it isn't even like the real test!
I did pass but only because a friend lent me a copy of her `driving test success' hazard perception DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars do not buy a new copy, 25 May 2012
This review is from: The Official DSA Guide to Hazard Perception [DVD] (DVD)
The reason i gave this three stars is that the content is good but it's not worth buying new, which i did. If you're a new driver (i'm not, but needed to know what the hazard perception test is all about as doing a test for a new category of vehicle) the dvd explains the concept of hazard perception well and in an easily understood format, with Suzy Perry's delivery clear and not condescending. The commentary also includes information sections to refer to, plus for new drivers, points to discuss with your tutor. Each chapter ends with a mini quiz to test and recap your knowledge which dove tails nicely with the theory test; ending with a mock hazard perception test. However, there is only one mock test sequence, which is why i gave it three stars: there needs to be at least two if not three mock tests to practice on. Once you've completed the test, you'd need to wait at least a month to do it again to practice, as at the end it gives you the answers. Hence my title: rent it, borrow it or even buy it second hand but not new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD could be good but is RUBBISH because of mock test missing, 13 Sept. 2010
This review is from: The Official DSA Guide to Hazard Perception [DVD] (DVD)
Don't buy this.
There isn't enough videos for the actual test !!! I'm screwed and now have to rush to buy some other dvd or find online solution because this is not good enough to practice the actual test. There are only 10 Clips when some websites give access to dozens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY!!!!!, 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official DSA Guide to Hazard Perception [DVD] (DVD)
Do not buy this item because it only has 10 clips on it and the video clips that are used are the exact same, they have no change so you know when there is going to be a hazard, you will not learn using this DVD, the DVD is old and is not updated. So what I done is that I used the Driving Test Success All Tests New 2013 Edition (PC) and this DVD is excellent as it covers a wide range of theory questions and hold 400 video clips for the hazard perception and the correct showing which is 14 clips, as soon as you use this DVD you feel like you can learn and will gain confidence for the theory test

so if you thinking about buying this then don't, buy what i have suggested here :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Get a newer one if you can, 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official DSA Guide to Hazard Perception [DVD] (DVD)
I used this to practise for my motorcycle Hazard Perception test which I passed just recently. If there is an updated version I suggest getting the newest one instead. This one is filmed on a camera, so difficult to see things ahead sometimes because of the lighting. The DVD menu can also be a little funny sometimes. In the test centres the test is now high quality CGI like on a computer game and much more responsive. If you have no other option, then still get this one to practise as it really does help to get used to this testing method. I consider myself to have excellent hazard perception but did need the practise and it was the hardest part of the test in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars DSA Hazard Perception - Hazard is the DSA, 3 Nov. 2012
This review is from: The Official DSA Guide to Hazard Perception [DVD] (DVD)
Do not waste your money on this product. There are far better learning materials out there.

On using this you do wonder if it is the intention of the DSA to confuse matters to get more failures (and therefore more re-test fees).

It confuses matters by going on about particular 'hazards' such as pedestrians walking down the pavement or petrol stations - but the 'warnings' around these are inconsistent.

Save your money, buy something else and have a better chance of passing.

In-keeping with a lot of public-body provided material, not to the same level of quality as the private sector offers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but needs more clips, 29 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official DSA Guide to Hazard Perception [DVD] (DVD)
Hi, bought this dvd for doing hgv theory i would say its ok but not brilliant there is just not enough clips for you to get the hang of it and when you done the 10 clips you know what going to happen. it does not explain it very well either one minute it tells you a hazzard in one clip and the next clip can be a same hazzard but then does not high light it, so it can be confusing. just remember on your actual hazzard test you will only need to flag 5 to 6 six times in a clip but at least it got me through my hazzard with a score of 79 out of 100 due to the fact i over flag and lost points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and confusing, 30 April 2012
This review is from: The Official DSA Guide to Hazard Perception [DVD] (DVD)
I was shocked to discover that only 10 hazard perception clips were provided to train on. To really get to grips with the test you should have at least 100 simulation video clips.

Furthermore, I felt it didn't really make it that clear how the test was marked and it was only when I went onto the DVLA website and read its section on the test that it all clicked (pardon the pun). I now feel I have to fork out more money on another DVD to practise further before my test.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 17 Dec. 2011
This review is from: The Official DSA Guide to Hazard Perception [DVD] (DVD)
I found the DVD very useful for my hazard perception test and it helped me pass it first time. The DVD is split into two main sections: learning material and practice test. The first part is very useful as it explains the various aspects of hazard perception. I found the second part to be very similar to the actual hazard perception test, and I thought it prepared me well. The only downside is the the menu interface isn't the best, but equally its not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the effort, 10 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official DSA Guide to Hazard Perception [DVD] (DVD)
Disappointing and a poor guide to the " real thing " . Online tests much more helpful . Looks good on the bookshelf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Official DSA Guide to Hazard Perception [DVD]
The Official DSA Guide to Hazard Perception [DVD] by Driving Standards Agency (DVD - 1 Jan. 2007)
Used & New from: £4.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews