Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The official DSA Guide to Driving - The Essential Skills, 22 Mar 2005
By 
Kevin F. Dyas "kevdyas" (Grimsby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Driving 2005: The Essential Skills (Driving Skills) (Paperback)
This is the latest version of Driving - The Essential Skills (formally the driving manual) and is just one book in the "Official Series" of books from the DSA. Whether you are currently learning to drive or took your test a number of years ago this book is the definitive guide to driving! The book is written by the Driving Standards Agency (DSA) the agency behind the UK's driving test and the registrar of Approved Driving Instructors.
The guide covers a variety of topics from basic car control to manoeuvres and driving at night to basic maintenance.
The UK driving test has been updated to include basic vehicle safety checks such as checking oil, lights and tyres - this book will tell you how to complete just that.
This latest edition has been updated to take into account new driving legislation and introduces new guidance on congestion and how to avoid it as well as making your driving more environmentally friendly.
Its not just one of those books which tells you what to do, it tells you how to put it into practice too. So, when you're struggling with those Turn in the Roads or Parallel Parking there is only one book you need and this is it!
This same book provides you with guidance on motorway driving, all-weather driving, breakdowns and accidents and emergencies.
Such information in one book goes to show that the Driving Standards Agency is working towards their motto of "Safe Driving for Life".
Statistics show that drivers reduce their chances significantly of being in an accident with the right mix of knowledge and practical skill - so what's stopping you from becoming a safer driver?
Excellent book and highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reference for all drivers, 13 July 2005
This review is from: Driving 2005: The Essential Skills (Driving Skills) (Paperback)
OK, I passed my test some five years' ago so I bought this to refresh my knowledge. This is the perfect companion to the Highway Code as, unlike the H'code, this explains the practical for the theory of driving. Considering how vague the Highway Code is in places this book is essential for all drivers, not just learners. The chapter on motorways is particularly of importance as learners do not get experience of motorways as part of their tuition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A perennial resource which makes for tedious, but beneficial, reading, 25 Feb 2007
By 
Ruffian McRuffian (Rural southern Japan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Driving 2005: The Essential Skills (Driving Skills) (Paperback)
I found the first ten sections of this book extremely beneficial when I was taking lessons. Each time I had a problem grasping the logic behind a particular driving scenario, I referred back this book. In particular, I found re-reading the sections entitled `on the road', `bends and junctions' and `manoeuvring' greatly improved my driving prior to my test. I also benefited from reading sections 11 to 13 before taking my Pass-Plus, as they refer to driving on motorways, all-weather driving and driving at night. I plan to hold onto this book because you can so easily refer back to it in order to dispel any uncertainties you might have about driving. The later sections on topics like European driving and breakdowns are also bound to be of use at some point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 14 Oct 2006
By 
T. Manwaring "beyond driving" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Driving 2005: The Essential Skills (Driving Skills) (Paperback)
This is the Driving Standards Agency bible, and as such it tends to be treated with reverence, as it should be. It isn't the most exciting book on the subject, there's no jokes or cartoons, but it explains everything simply and effectively, and is recommended to learners and instructors alike for exactly this reason. A comprehensive manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Driving 2005: the essentila skills, 9 April 2011
This review is from: Driving 2005: The Essential Skills (Driving Skills) (Paperback)
Older version. Bought as some older diagrams seemed easier to use than more modern new versions. Good as addition to newer version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 3 Dec 2010
This review is from: Driving 2005: The Essential Skills (Driving Skills) (Paperback)
This book was recommended by my drinving instructor as the only must have along side the code and I have to say it is a great way to revise inbetween lessons to make the lessons more productive. Definitely a keeper even after passing the exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Driving: The Essential Skills, 4 Jan 2010
By 
J. Reynolds - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Driving 2005: The Essential Skills (Driving Skills) (Paperback)
Very useful book, would recommend for any new driver. Sections on motorway driving and all weather driving particularly helpful. Has a section on avoiding congestion, which previous edition (2001) didn't have. Came in the post relatively quickly. Good condition apart from a fold in the front cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars driving : the essential skills, 8 Sep 2009
By 
Ms. H. M. Kemp (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Driving 2005: The Essential Skills (Driving Skills) (Paperback)
if you need to anything about driving then this is the book for you it is really good for your theory and practical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Driving: The Essential Skills, 10 Jun 2009
By 
Ms. J. Button - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Driving 2005: The Essential Skills (Driving Skills) (Paperback)
Very in depth. I use it after my driving lessons to go over what I have just been taught, and is very good for clearing up things I wasn't too sure about. Also, I can look into what I will be doing in the future, so can get tips on how to perform the manouver before actually trying it. Would recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars driving-the essenitial skills, 8 Jun 2009
By 
R. Bibi - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Driving 2005: The Essential Skills (Driving Skills) (Paperback)
i was quite happy with the quality of the book it was in an excellent condition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Driving 2005: The Essential Skills (Driving Skills)
Driving 2005: The Essential Skills (Driving Skills) by Driving Standards Agency (Paperback - 16 Mar 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews