Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Test Infomation From the People who set the Test
I cannot believe the ratings people are giving this book and mostly because they bought the wrong one. Yes, I agree the titles are confusing but if you read the book synopsis it tells you what this book is.

I am a driving instuctor with 15 years experience and I recomend this book to all my clients/pupils. It is the only official book that covers the entire...
Published on 11 Jun 2006 by Driving Instructor

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There's no real point to this book
Don't buy this book thinking it's something else, which is what I did. This book is only about the test itself and what you're likely to be marked on in the test. It does not give any help with actually learning to drive - which is what you'd expect from the title. For that you need a different book that's also published by the DSA and to which...
Published on 21 Feb 2006 by P. Moores


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Test Infomation From the People who set the Test, 11 Jun 2006
By 
This review is from: The Official Guide to Learning to Drive (Driving Skills) (Paperback)
I cannot believe the ratings people are giving this book and mostly because they bought the wrong one. Yes, I agree the titles are confusing but if you read the book synopsis it tells you what this book is.

I am a driving instuctor with 15 years experience and I recomend this book to all my clients/pupils. It is the only official book that covers the entire driving test syllabus. The national average pass rate for the practical test is only 43% - you have more chance of failing than passing. The reason for this is that MOST (and the pass rate reflects this) are not ready for the test. This book helps you understand what the examiner is going to test you for, how you will be marked and the faults you need to avoid. This is essential information for any learner driver.Would you take any other test without knowing how it will be marked and what is expected of you? Todays driving test is of a very high standard and you need to be ready for that.

Buy this book, when you pass 1st time (because you understand the test) you can always do a friend a BIG favour and pass it on to them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There's no real point to this book, 21 Feb 2006
By 
P. Moores - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Official Guide to Learning to Drive (Driving Skills) (Paperback)
Don't buy this book thinking it's something else, which is what I did. This book is only about the test itself and what you're likely to be marked on in the test. It does not give any help with actually learning to drive - which is what you'd expect from the title. For that you need a different book that's also published by the DSA and to which they constantly refer to in the text here. Why they could just combine the two into a single volume, I do not know.
Here's a hint, buy the other book (essential skills, I think it's called) and get your driving instructor to teach you what's in this book and save yourslef some money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Best Advice You Can Get? Then I'm Scared!!!, 24 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Official Guide to Learning to Drive (Driving Skills) (Paperback)
The back of this book contains the phrase, "The Best Advice You Can Get". Well if the lack of information in this book is anything to go by then I'm absolutely terrified!
The book gives no pracitcal information whatsoever on the subject of driving but rather sets out to glibly repeat the driving sylabus in a convoluted and unnecessary manner.
All of the actual "information" could probably have fitted neatly into a 10 page brochure but then the DSA wouldn't have had anything to sell - so instead they've stretched it out to approx 100 pages (with pointless and unhelpful illustrations) and LOTS of advertisements for their other (which so far as I can see are equally pointless) products.
Learning to drive is expensive enough without being ripped off by the people who are supposed to be there to set an example. Avoid this book and look for something more practical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars as close to empty as possible, 15 Feb 2006
By 
Mr. R. D. Parkes "bob_p_zero" (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
tells u a small amount of information about what u do when taking ur theory test and what books to buy which are all dsa books. and shows a guy nicknamed - abs doing his practical test. there is only chapter selection and no play all selection. i would have expected a dvd to have as much info and even more info than the book. 1 star for showing a person doing various parts of the practical test perfectly and a small quiz to make sure u actually took in what u had seen in each film clip. dsa has turned to mindless cash cow. anyways past the test - its far easier doing it early in the morning and also drawing out the manoeuvre's helps loads and anything you may find difficult to remember. only useful thing was the theory and hazard perception on dvd from Driving Test Success
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 24 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: The Official Guide to Learning to Drive (Driving Skills) (Paperback)
recomend to every one it give you idia of what they need from yuo on test
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great way to start, 17 Jun 2005
This review is from: The Official Guide to Learning to Drive (Driving Skills) (Paperback)
I had my very first ever driving lesson last week and went straight out and bought this book
I am sure it will come in very handy as I progress through my lessons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Official Guide to Learning to Drive (Driving Skills)
The Official Guide to Learning to Drive (Driving Skills) by Driving Standards Agency (Paperback - 28 Sep 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews