Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pocket sized guidance
The introduction sets out this book to be an aide-memoire or a quick reference manual to practitioners of Prince2: it will also be useful for anyone who needs to talk shop with someone using the Prince2 framework and/or for anyone who wants to get a very high level view of the thought process behind Prince2.

You won't get all of the detail behind the method,...
Published on 7 July 2008 by P. Robertshaw

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wrong, wrong, wrong
This ought to condense the salient points of the big grey book into a slim reference volume but doesn't. It spends far too long telling us about stuff we don't really need in any detail and completely omits the much-needed set of seven diagrams of the Processes and their constituent sub-processes. I just need something to refer to as an aide-memoire for the stuff that...
Published on 14 Oct 2011 by Michael May


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pocket sized guidance, 7 July 2008
By 
P. Robertshaw (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PRINCE2 Pocketbook (Paperback)
The introduction sets out this book to be an aide-memoire or a quick reference manual to practitioners of Prince2: it will also be useful for anyone who needs to talk shop with someone using the Prince2 framework and/or for anyone who wants to get a very high level view of the thought process behind Prince2.

You won't get all of the detail behind the method, which includes some usefull diagrams, due to the book's condensed format but you do get a brief oversight of the following:

The 8 Prince2 Project Management Processes
* Directing a Project
* Starting up a Project
* Initiating a Project
* Controlling a Stage
* Managing Product Delivery
* Managing Stage Boundaries
* Closing a Project
* Planning

The 8 Prince2 Processes:
* Business Case
* Organisation
* Plans
* Controls
* Management of Risk
* Quality in a Project Environment
* Configuration Management
* Change Control

Also, at the end of the book is a decent glossary of Prince2 terms, invaluable if you're working with someone who `speaks a lot of Prince'.

Final Thought - If you are going to do either the foundation or practitioner exams you will need access to a more detailed reference book than this but, once you've done the exams and you've carried around the full-sized text book, you'll certainly appreciate this slim-line version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant little Prince2 primer, 1 May 2008
By 
Karl Grocock (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PRINCE2 Pocketbook (Paperback)
Go for this first - see my review of the official manual. This pocket book is easy to read and covers all the ground at a decent but superficial level - will never get you through the examinations but will give you a great understanding of the basics - highly recommended for busy Project Executives to get their heads aronud their position and responsibilities within the Prince2 framework. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wrong, wrong, wrong, 14 Oct 2011
By 
Michael May "mikemayuk" (Worksop, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PRINCE2 pocketbook [single copy] (Paperback)
This ought to condense the salient points of the big grey book into a slim reference volume but doesn't. It spends far too long telling us about stuff we don't really need in any detail and completely omits the much-needed set of seven diagrams of the Processes and their constituent sub-processes. I just need something to refer to as an aide-memoire for the stuff that dribbles out of my head because it isn't used every day and isn't glaringly obvious - this isn't it.

Contents:

Intro (PRINCE2, projects, PMs, structure, benefits, etc): pp5-14
Principles: p15 (pretty good single page, to be honest, but a list would suffice)
Themes: pp16-33 (several paragraphs and diagrams for each)
Processes: pp34-37 (single paragraph each, plus the overview process structure diagram)
The Project Environment: p38-39 (tailoring vs. embedding)
Appendix A - PRINCE2's Management Products: pp40-48 (paragraph each, although a simple list would suffice)
Appendix C - Roles & Responsibilities: pp49-52 (paragraph each but you should know all this already)
Further Information: pp53-57 (more OGC stuff you can buy)
Glossary: pp58-81 (actually pretty good, this)

That's right - Appendix B is absent. I wonder what it was? Only Appendix A and the Glossary are really worth anything in this book, and if you want my advice, it would be to photocopy relevant stuff from the big grey book and create your own personal pocketbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Companion Product, 18 Jan 2011
By 
Robert J. Burton (Woking UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PRINCE2 pocketbook [single copy] (Paperback)
This is a great companion product for any PRINCE2 qualified person, fits nicely in your pocket, and provides a great ready reference for the definitions etc. In my view should be handed out as part of the course material by providers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful summary of the PRINCE2 method, 20 Dec 2008
By 
Paul Atkin "PRINCE2 Approved Trainer" (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PRINCE2 Pocketbook (Paperback)
Often described as an aide-memoire for the experienced PRINCE2 Practitioner, this book is equally good as a quick and inexpensive introduction for anyone new to the PRINCE2 methodology. It is small, short and cheap - you can't go wrong with this! My only criticism is that half the book is filled with a complete glossary of PRINCE2 terms: they are helpful but, at this level, I would have preferred a shorter glosssary and a couple more chapters about the methodology
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Of little use to me, 6 April 2010
By 
J. Potter (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this pack for me and work colleagues thinking it would be useful to carry around as a reference rather than lug around the full manual. The hope was that it would contain an abbreviated version of the detailed information, but it is more of a high level summary and includes a glossary that forms almost a third of the book. It may be useful to those with little knowledge of PRINCE2 but beyond that I can see it being of little use. It doesn't meet my need, so I will look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for a Prince2 practitioner, 25 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PRINCE2 pocketbook [single copy] (Paperback)
It maybe small but it has all the content needed to refresh your memory if its been a while since you passed Prince2. Not a book for someone studying for Prince2 but a great pocket book to refer to when a quick recap is required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good little book, 24 Aug 2011
This review is from: PRINCE2 pocketbook [single copy] (Paperback)
Having just read the first chapter it has already refreshed my memory on the main aspects of PRINCE2. I am a recently qualified Practitioner between projects and this book is going to help me keep on top of the subject. It fits in your back pocket, it's concise and contains the glossary as well.

As well as being invaluable for PRINCE2 people of all levels, I would say it would provide a pretty good introduction for those who are wondering if taking the course and qualifications is for them, and who would not want to spend the money on the larger texts to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 9 Jan 2009
By 
Colin Gibbard (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PRINCE2 Pocketbook (Paperback)
If you just want to use or understand the method this is an excellent reference book. Obviously, if you want certification you will need more material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prince2 Pocketbook, 15 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PRINCE2 pocketbook [single copy] (Paperback)
Great Prince 2 pocket book to read on my way to work and refresh the keypoints of the main Prince 2 manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PRINCE2 pocketbook [single copy]
PRINCE2 pocketbook [single copy] by Office of Government Commerce (Paperback - 1 Jun 2009)
Used & New from: 3,798.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews