Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An easy to use reference book for writing assessment reports, 30 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Children's Needs, Parenting Capacity: The Impact of Parental Mental Illness, Problem Alcohol and Drug Use and Domestic Violence on Children's Development (Paperback)
What is different about this book, is its layout and that its dead easy to read.
Too often when you are working through an assessment report, you find yourself unsuccessfully hunting through various books to relate research to a child or young person's experience of a specific domain of their development, that you feel has been adversely affected.
You are aware as a practitioner that the impact of mental health, parental substance use and domestic violence can be quite dramatic on a young person's development. But you would like something concrete to back it up.
Well here's the very book. This book lays out what the research has shown, and what the interaction between these three issues being present may have on a child's development.
It lays out sections by age group as well as subsections that cover the various developmental areas such as language and cognitive development, social identity etc etc.
It has been really useful not only for myself, but also for others in the team and the team is now buying additional copies.
I would definitely recommend this for all child-care workers as it gives you an overview and cuts the myths away from the reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for evidence based reports, 12 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Children's Needs, Parenting Capacity: The Impact of Parental Mental Illness, Problem Alcohol and Drug Use and Domestic Violence on Children's Development (Paperback)
This book is a must have for any Social work team. It has been so usefull to me in relation to risk assessment of parents with Mental Health difficulties. Several sections of the book give research which indecates predictors for risk. Thier are also some research findings which give guidance on likley outcomes of treatement sucess as well as predictors for the outcomes for children, of living with parents whos capacity is affected by substance abuse or mental health.
This is to some degree a small book with potential to have a big impact on not only assessment reports but support programes as well. This book also has the potential to help the client group that it speaks about, in family support we have used this inmformation to give clarity and purpose to focused short term work with parents. The information seems to enable some to accept our concerns with out seeing us as the people pointing the finger. The open and clear layout of the book the lack of jargaon also helps in this process.
Great book, how about one on the affects of borderline personality disorder and parents lack of empathic understanding on parenting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for evidence based reports, 12 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Children's Needs, Parenting Capacity: The Impact of Parental Mental Illness, Problem Alcohol and Drug Use and Domestic Violence on Children's Development (Paperback)
This book is a must have for any Social work team. It has been so usefull to me in relation to risk assessment of parents with Mental Health difficulties. Several sections of the book give research which indecates predictors for risk. Thier are also some research findings which give guidance on likley outcomes of treatement sucess as well as predictors for the outcomes for children, of living with parents whos capacity is affected by substance abuse or mental health.
This is to some degree a small book with potential to have a big impact on not only assessment reports but support programes as well. This book also has the potential to help the client group that it speaks about, in family support we have used this inmformation to give clarity and purpose to focused short term work with parents. The information seems to enable some to accept our concerns with out seeing us as the people pointing the finger. The open and clear layout of the book the lack of jargaon also helps in this process.
Great book, how about one on the affects of borderline personality disorder and parents lack of empathic understanding on parenting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential workbook for Children & Families assessments, 7 Mar 2010
By 
Denise Perry (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Children's Needs, Parenting Capacity: The Impact of Parental Mental Illness, Problem Alcohol and Drug Use and Domestic Violence on Children's Development (Paperback)
I have owned this book for some years and highly recommend it to all my experienced SW colleagues and to students on placement.

It is a comprehensively researched based book that is extremely readable (not "dry" like some academic resources). It breaks down the impact of parental mental health problems, domestic violence and substance misuse upon the parents' ability to care for their child/ren. The book then presents sections of different ages and stages of development for the children, from pre-birth to teenage years, from what would be "normal" and expected development if parenting is of adequate and good quality, then compares it to the impact upon the emotional and behavioural development of children when there are the previously mentioned parental difficulties. These sections are presented in detailed format, following the DoH framework for assessment for each child's needs - ie social, emotional, educational, physical etc - then presents a table summary of each section.

Writing academic assignments is very different than writing reports for the Children's Hearing System or the Courts. This book can be used for both. I cannot emphasise adequately how much of a valuable resource this book is - other than to say I think it should be a mandatory manual in every SW office!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Working with children, 18 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Children's Needs, Parenting Capacity: The Impact of Parental Mental Illness, Problem Alcohol and Drug Use and Domestic Violence on Children's Development (Paperback)
This is an excellent, easy to read companion to understand the dilemma of the child in a situation where parents are unable to solve their own problems. A useful source of information in completing Core Assessments and for legal case discussions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful resource., 4 April 2010
This review is from: Children's Needs, Parenting Capacity: The Impact of Parental Mental Illness, Problem Alcohol and Drug Use and Domestic Violence on Children's Development (Paperback)
This book provides a nicely structured and systematic layout that is based in the research literature. It discusses children's typical expected development and the ways that these developmental lines may be impacted due to parental issues. I like it as a practitioner, it has provided me with a useful structure and framework to consider assessment information that I have gained. I think it is a useful resource for practitioners working with children and families in the consideration of safeguarding and mental health. [[ASIN:0113222785 Children's Needs, Parenting Capacity: The Impact of Parental Mental Illness, Problem Alcohol and Drug Use and Domestic Violence on Children's Development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book I always recommend to colleagues and it is ..., 15 July 2014
By 
L. Johnson (Plymouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's Needs, Parenting Capacity: The Impact of Parental Mental Illness, Problem Alcohol and Drug Use and Domestic Violence on Children's Development (Paperback)
Fantastic book I always recommend to colleagues and it is usually being hunted for in my office (all social workers). Buy it! !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars some thing to think about, before you buy.its reasonable value but you may get some thing better. look at other products too., 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's Needs, Parenting Capacity: The Impact of Parental Mental Illness, Problem Alcohol and Drug Use and Domestic Violence on Children's Development (Paperback)
some thing to think about, before you buy.its reasonable value but you may get some thing better. look at other products too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars use this book a lot, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's Needs, Parenting Capacity: The Impact of Parental Mental Illness, Problem Alcohol and Drug Use and Domestic Violence on Children's Development (Paperback)
have used this a lot in my work - very useful although it's a relatively old book, still useful for assessments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for NQSW, 26 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's Needs, Parenting Capacity: The Impact of Parental Mental Illness, Problem Alcohol and Drug Use and Domestic Violence on Children's Development (Paperback)
Great for NQSW in child and families and mental health. I find it very useful when carrying out Core Assessments and writing court reports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews