Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Modernist Writing
Mrs Dalloway is critically regarded as one of the quintessential exemplars of both stream-of-consciousness writing and the ethos of the Modernist era. Stylistically stunning, the innovative narrative follows a day in the life of protagonist Clarissa Dalloway, an aristocratic socialite struggling to find meaning and contentment in post-war London. Juxtaposed with her,...
Published on 1 Feb 2009 by F. Hendry

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unsure...
Having finished `Mrs Dalloway', I was left unsure whether I actually enjoyed the book. I can clearly see why it has received so much praise as Woolf's excellent use of language truly envelopes you in the psyche of Clarissa Dalloway and the thought processes of her other dramatic devices, particularly the visionary Septimus. However I was, as I am sure Woolf intended,...
Published on 12 July 2008 by H.J.P.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not finished reading yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply the best of Woolf's books, great to read, delicatesse, 25 Sep 2001
By A Customer
The book brings you into another reality. Very calming, esoteric, brilliantly shows the life of last century in London. I loved the book. If you look for some action, this is not the book to read. Take a cup of good coffee and enjoy the wanderful way how sentences run and words play. Great book, incradible value of the literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars really rather irritating, 28 Feb 2004
By 
M. L. York "Grammarian" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
My teacher's decision to study Mrs Dalloway for A Level was met with a great deal of frustration. Some had tried to read it, some had merely watched the film, but most of us knew it as the book our mothers love. I read it before lessons began (as one should with literature which always loses something if looked at through A Level eyes...), and found myself stuck. The writing style is of course innovative and interesting - stream of consciousness, very little dialogue - but I felt Woolf forgot to actually invent a plot along the way.
I am probably too young really to understand the feelings of a 53 year old woman. It was unfortunate to be in the mind of a woman who considers her life to be finished, just at the point of setting out for university - I don't recommend this to teenagers. I don't think a book entirely devoted to revealing the normality of someone's brain patterns is really very interesting. As it is, it seems to me that Woolf was too consumed with her clever narrative style, and neglected to offer any memorable plot. In fact the sub-plot of Septimus Warren Smith was the only element I found to keep me reading to the end - he is overall a more vivid, detailed and emotive character, and I found myself flicking on to find the next passage about him and his interesting wife Luzrezia. Clarissa, in comparison, bored me, and the excuse that she is not supposed to be defined ('never say of someone they are this or they are that') just seemed to me an excuse.
I would not recommend this to a young woman excited by life and the future - Clarissa's melancholy manages to instil negativity in almost everything, even her own daughter. Yes, Clarissa appreciates the life going on around her (eg, the bees buzzing, ducks waddling...) but she is so infuriatingly detached that her little comments about the joys of living mean nothing.
I've since looked at Woolf's Orlando and have found it to be much wittier and more interesting, and entirely different. Might it be that the world has mistaken Mrs Dalloway for a literary materpiece when all it actually represents is an experiment in narrative, during a time of depression in Woolf's life?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Writing very small
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs. Dalloway (Kindle Edition)
Interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Challenging but ultimately rewarding, 20 Mar 2006
By 
Greg Farefield-Rose (Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Stream of consciousness novel about a day in the life of the benevolent, middle-aged socialite Clarissa Dalloway and her inner circle of colleagues and friends.
During the day Clarissa’s first love Peter Walsh returns after five years in India as a rather disillusioned middle-aged man and she prepares for a party at her house that evening. This one chapter novel explores their (sub)conscious feelings and, though the stream of consciousness style is pretentious, some passages are excellent and it’s rewarding to read a challenging book written in a different style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Aug 2014
By 
Brinley Platts (Chislehurst) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Dalloway (Kindle Edition)
Classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic in a great kindle edition, 15 Oct 2013
This review is from: Mrs. Dalloway (Kindle Edition)
"Mrs Dalloway" details a day in the life of Clarissa Dalloway, a fictional high-society woman in post-World War I England. It is an example of stream of consciousness storytelling: every scene closely tracks the momentary thoughts of a particular character. It is one of Woolf's best-known novels and I enjoyed reading it in this great Kindle edition: Mrs. Dalloway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mrs. Dalloway
Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf (Paperback - 16 Jan 1992)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews