Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worshipping at the alter of Anne Tyler
Written in 1991 this is vintage Anne Tyler and one of my favourites from among her many novels. It's the story of the Bledoe family from Baltimore (where else?) and in particular their son Ian. Often in her books there are some really unexpected plot twists and in this one there is a really big bombshell really early on in the story which completely changes the perceived...
Published on 1 Aug. 2008 by G. E. Harrison

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars What's the point?
Read dutifully for a book club. My description was like madeira cake - not horrible but what's the point. Many in the club did like it but for me tedious to the point that I did not finish it.
Published 6 months ago by Janet


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My all-time favourite book, 10 Sept. 2001
By 
J. Murray (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saint Maybe (Paperback)
... this book is completely absorbing, humerous and if I ever in my life read a better book, I'll be glad. I'm not going to write one of those clever reviews analysing the writing style and meaning of the book but please read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Tyler, 28 April 2013
This review is from: Saint Maybe (Paperback)
I read this book when it was first published and I had forgotten how superbly written it was. It is full believable characters . I loved the odd and quirky Bedloe family and all of their friends and neighbours.
One of my favourite books by my favourite author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anne Tyler is amazing, 24 Mar. 2013
By 
Maureen A. Jeffs "lyrical lady" (Gt. Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saint Maybe (Paperback)
Everything Anne Tyler writes grips me within a few pages; ordinary domestic lives explored but made - as we all think our lives are - to be extraordinary.
Great, swift service from the provider. Would definitely use again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars What's the point?, 18 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saint Maybe (Paperback)
Read dutifully for a book club. My description was like madeira cake - not horrible but what's the point. Many in the club did like it but for me tedious to the point that I did not finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful read., 11 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saint Maybe (Paperback)
Laugh, cry and turn the pages. This is such a wonderful and interesting story. I am biased as I am an Ann Tyler fan. If you fancy a great read give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 15 YEAR OLD STUDENT WHO LOVED IT, 27 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Saint Maybe (Paperback)
i thought that the author did a great job on this book and I found that it was a book that I couldn't put down because of the tension that unfolded in it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 4 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saint Maybe (Paperback)
Never read an Anne Tyler that I wouldn't recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful...., 31 July 2006
By 
Lisa (Essex England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Saint Maybe (Paperback)
A beautifully written sensitive book, about a family whose life is changed forever by a tragedy. Particulary Ian, whose life and personality are changed almost beyond recognition. I didn't want to finish this book and when I did I felt bereft at leaving behind the marvellouse characters created by Mary Tyler. What more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as described, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saint Maybe (Paperback)
As described, good value and arrived quickly. I do not find it helpful however to be given a minimum amount of words to review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really uninteresting..., 18 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Saint Maybe (Paperback)
What struck me most about this book was the lack of tension - dramatic or otherwise. Secondly, there was no detail, for example, I only knew it took place in 1965 because it said so on the cover. I confess I did not get to the end, it became one of those books you put down and never pick up again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saint Maybe
Saint Maybe by Anne Tyler (Paperback - 17 Sept. 1992)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews