Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hemingway at his best!
This novel touches on many issues; war, romantic love(without resorting to nauseating sentiment), culture and mortality. Each one is subtley explored with the incisive touch of Hemingway's pen.
Wherever Henry is, whether he is in an Italian ambulance at the front line, canoodling in a hospital bed, or standing in the rain in a deserted street, the reader always...
Published on 9 Jun 2002 by Andrew J. Keir

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Did not enjoy
I was very disappointed by Farewell to Arms - how did he win Nobel prize for literature? I know it's a sparse style but the vocabulary was so limited that it would suit someone who had difficulty reading. If the only way to describe anything is to say it was "fine" - meals, drink, life - then the reader does not actually learn anything from the adjective. I...
Published 2 months ago by S. M. M. Donaghy


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Farewell to Arms, 2 Nov 2012
By 
P. A. Cunningham "Penny" (N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really can't say I enjoyed this book. I couldn't connect with the main character at all, I found his writing style very disjointed and old fashioned.
And couldn't really find anything great about it.
Catherine seemed a bit nutty to me, darling this and that, with totally inane comments throughout. The ending was sad, but that was about it for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Farewell To Arms (Mass Market Paperback)
A must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great book, 15 April 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: A Farewell to Arms (Paperback)
I just read this book for the first time in my college Humanities class and I loved the mix of humor and seriousness that Hemingway mixes so well. My favorite line was, "I was blown up...eating cheese."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sad farewell to youth, idealism, and love, 4 Jan 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: A Farewell to Arms (Paperback)
The tragic and doomed love of two people hurt by life and the world, but not as good as The sun Also Rises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Farewell To Arms (Mass Market Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon gives away ending to great book., 12 Aug 1999
By A Customer
Re: The MW Encyc. of Lit. synopsis.
Brilliant move. Thanks a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Farewell to Arms- a fantastic and dramatic book, 12 April 1997
By A Customer
Need I say more than, "...in the rain."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pedestrian, 19 Feb 2012
By 
Dr John N Sutherland (Skelmorlie, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
It ever comes as a disappointment when a book long mooted with the usual epithets of 'wonderful', 'ground-breaking', etc. proves to be dull and poorly written. This is that book.

I speak only as an ordinary book-reader who likes reading classic texts. Perhaps the cognoscenti can mumble, harrumph and nod at this as a truly outstanding tome, but to me it came across as tedious.

The written English is, perhaps deliberately, but certainly, poor. It reads like a poor translation into English by a non-native speaker. The tale itself is OK, hence 2 stars, but it meanders and ends up in the ditch at the end. Indeed, the book has less of an end and more of a well-that'll-do-for-me from the author where everyone except the narrator dies. Hamlet for our day.

I only finished it to justify writing this review. I don't think I'll get over the deliberately terse, who-is-speaking-now, why-is-it-all-in-that-odd-tense English. Poor stuff and one to avoid, imho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't enjoy this book, 10 July 2011
This review is from: A Farewell To Arms (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was an effort to get through. However, there were some bits of it that I did find somewhat interesting. I found the character of Catherine ridiculously annoying and to be honest was just glad to get to the end of the book. Nothing about it stood out for me at all. Plot and characters left a lot to be desired.

Would definitely NOT recommend!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 25 July 2010
This review is from: A Farewell To Arms (Mass Market Paperback)
\\|along with the Great Gatsby, probably the best book ever written. Emotional in the extreme. Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Farewell To Arms
A Farewell To Arms by Ernest Hemingway (Mass Market Paperback - 18 Aug 1994)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews