Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars croissants and angels!
I sought this book after I had watched the film, City of Angels with Nicolas Cage and Meg Ryan. If an angel was enthralled by Hemingway's Moveable Feast then I thought it must be good. He wasn't wrong! The descriptive language subsumes your imagination - a truly excellent work from a sagacious author.
Published on 27 Sept. 2003 by Polly

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting contents, terrible edition!
This is an interesting take on life in Paris in the Twenties, although how objective Hemingway is as an observer is open to question, and actually, I wanted to know a lot more than he gives the reader. However, although this is a bargain edition, it's one of the worst I've ever seen, full of typographical errors, even on the contents page.
Published on 18 Nov. 2011 by Islander


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars croissants and angels!, 27 Sept. 2003
This review is from: A Moveable Feast (Paperback)
I sought this book after I had watched the film, City of Angels with Nicolas Cage and Meg Ryan. If an angel was enthralled by Hemingway's Moveable Feast then I thought it must be good. He wasn't wrong! The descriptive language subsumes your imagination - a truly excellent work from a sagacious author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than a book - a friend., 26 April 2001
This review is from: A Moveable Feast (Mass Market Paperback)
I first read this book a few years ago and though I enjoyed it wasn't moved by it. A couple of years later on my first trip to Paris I decided to take the book with me. Somehow the book took on a new life. I could visit the locations described and appreciate the descriptions of people and events. I fell in love with Paris, Hemingway and the Lost Generation all because of this book. I now have quite a collection of books describing the 1920s and 1930s in Paris and have bought a prized first edition of this book. I strongly recommend this book to readers particularly those visiting Paris. Five Stars because there are only five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loss anchors this masterpiece in place and time., 10 May 1997
By A Customer
There are three perfect little books in 20th century English literature: The Good Soldier, by Ford, The Moviegoer, by Percy, and this sparse narrative written in Hemingway's familiar and still powerful limpid prose. There are descriptions here of many literary figures in Paris during the twenties and the famous cuts at Ford and Fitzgerald, but these are not reasons to read this book. You read this book to hear Hemingway speak to you with his guard down, as you cannot otherwise hear him except in the early Nick Adams stories. He is sitting at his typewriter in Ketchum, his great gifts chased from him by alcohol and hubris, and he remembers when he still had it, when he was poor and cold and hungry and he had Hadley, before he became Hemingway, and he types slow, each word pulled from the emptiness to become the next inevitable perfect word, and his words are the shroud over his loss, his bitterness, his grievous fault. This book was not published in Hemingway's lifetime. It was not written for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hemingway's Way, 2 Jun. 2011
By 
Gs-trentham - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The introduction makes clear that this is a collection of chapters/sketches relating to Ernest Hemingway's time in Paris between the wars. Chronology is at best variable; arranging the order seems to have been somewhat arbitary. What emerges is a multi-layered portrait of a city at an interesting period of artistic life; of a few famous people who lived there; and of a marriage that progresses from tranquil happiness to disintegration. Hadley, the author's first wife, is the victim; much of the book reads like a remorseful apology for his part in the failure.

The incidental recreation of Paris in the 1920's - the cafés, the race tracks, the apartment above the sawmill where the Hemingways lived - yields some vivid vignettes. The goatherd driving his goats through the street, pausing to milk one for a customer, calls for a readjustment of one's Parisian preconceptions.

Of the people, there are insights into Gertrud Stein, James Joyce, Ezra Pound and especially Scott Fitgerald. The boxer Larry Gains appears and, with him, the macho Hemingway, showing off what he knows about the fight game. There is also the sentimental Tatie - the dialogue that accompanies his hair-growing contest with Hadley is almost too embarrassing to read.

But through it all there is Hemingway wrestling with the business of writing, frequently returning to the conviction that what is left out reinforces what remains - a philosophy that can be seen in some of the better sketches. Of course, the book is uneven but as the long sentences unroll, held together with multiple conjunctions and a minimum of punctuation, the master's hand is apparent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and Enchanting, 27 Jun. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: A Moveable Feast (Paperback)
Hemingway was reunited with the manuscript of A MOVEABLE FEAST after a twenty-year separation; as an older man, he was amazed and amused by the writings of his younger self. Many consider his Paris period to be his most interesting -- this book suggests that's true. Its a lovely, nostalgic look back at his youth. His love for Hadley is evident -- both the young Hemingway's love and the longing of the older Papa. For anyone who is interested in the ex-pats, the lost generation, Gertrude and F. Scott, etc. -- this is a must. His wording is magical, the anecdotes priceless. Of all his books, this is my favorite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intimate legacy, 18 Mar. 2010
By 
Mr. P. G. Mccarthy (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Moveable Feast (Mass Market Paperback)
Memory can be unreliable, and it would be too fussy to criticize Hem's memoirs over little inaccuracies. This book is in fact a brutally honest legacy and incredibly intimate. It is amazing to think that almost forty years elapsed between the events described and their being written. The real impact of the book is that it makes you feel you've made a close friendship with the author. It creates longings in you; we would love to have lived in Paris at that time and to have encountered all those artists (Joyce, Pound, Pascin). The attention to detail brings it to life; you feel that you can hear the woodpigeons and smell the pastries.

Hemingway operates at the level of `feeling'. He says much about his likes and dislikes, his addiction to gambling, his lack of confidence and his efforts to like even the most unlike-able characters (most especially Ford Maddox Ford). Hemingway has left the world a genuinely valuable legacy with these snapshots of 1920s Paris life and it is a book you'll want to read again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moveable fFeast, 30 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is so much better than 'The Sun Also Rises' which I found irritating and self centred/indulgent. Hemmingway is not my favourite character and the 'set' he belonged to are revolting, but in this book he actually comes across as reasonably human. I don't actually think he was a brilliant writer; he repeats himself frequently and has a tendency to ramble on, but I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to understand, or know more about, Hemmingway himself. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two orders of Cafe Creme in Paris with Hemingway, 6 Dec. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: A Moveable Feast (Paperback)
SIMPLY BEAUTIFUL. After this novel, I would do anything to be able to have a coffee with Hemingway and his expatriates at the Closerie de Lillas cafe. The most astounding part is that this novel is TRUTH, maybe colored with nostalgia but are amazingly touching portraits of some of the greatest literary giants of the century. When I put the novel down, I felt like I KNEW Hemingway. There were so many times he would make me laugh out loud or sigh with regret! I've read a great deal of his more reknown novels, but this novel is tied for my favorite novel of his along with Farewell to Arms. It's inconcievable that such extraordinarily talented people collected in a few Parisian cafes in a few years, and they were all acquaintences. What an idea! His stories of F.Scott Fitzgerald were especially illuminating and hilarious, but my favorites were: Ford Madox Ford & the Devil's Disciple, Birth of a New School ( especially funny ), With Pascin at the Dome, & Ezra Pound and the Bel Esprit. Hemingway's wit and sarcasm are so real, they leap off the pages and he seems to be engaging you in conversation. This novel really opened up my eyes to my perspective of Hemingway, most of his novels are stories that are semi-autobiographical so we have to decipher truth from plot. There is no need to figure out what is Hemingway--because it is ALL Hemingway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tasty First Course, 31 Dec. 2014
This review is from: A Moveable Feast (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first of 8 reviews of Hemingway's works - a birthday present. I had read Hemingway so long ago, I suggested the present and duly received it. I gobbled up this short book of memories from his early Paris days in no time flat.

Hemingway wrote these just before he died, so it is a bit the beginning and the end in one short volume. The trademark style is there - all straight as an arrow prose, full of gaps, but also full of insight. What strikes me most is his judgement of people. Gertrude Stein - well, you'd expect the macho Hemingway not to like or listen to her much - but you would be dead wrong. He and Hadley, his first wife, love the attention and intelligence of the eccentric Lesbian couple, (Alice B. Toklas is unnamed but present, mainly to entertain the women). F. Scott Fitzgerald is a tragic figure, cut down to size by the beautiful but jealous and unpleasant Zelda. Hemingway and he were close friends for a few years. Hemingway is mystified by the pair, given Scott's great talent, and cannot comprehend how Zelda tortures him.

Hemingway describes his struggle to write like Cezanne paints - leaving out everything that is not essential. It is a tough struggle, with all the ornamental writing of the time, so lauded. At the very end, he briefly describes how he split with Hadley through his own infidelity. The pattern was this - a pretty young girl befriends the wife of the man she is after, then conspires to take him away. The young Hemingway fell for it - in his mind, years later, only to regret his choice in this volume. Of course, the conventional view would be to blame him for his roving eye, but the great man is having none of that. But who is to argue? I mean, it was his life after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reflections of the past, 25 April 2012
This review is from: A Moveable Feast (Paperback)
4.5 stars. It's difficult to not give anything by Hemingway 5 stars, but the reason I am doing it is not so much that there is anything wrong with this book as that I can't help comparing it with other things he has written. The story is completely autobiographical (even though I think most of his books are for the most part), and there are even a few pictures towards the end of him and his acquaintances at that time. It is as well-written as pretty much everything else he has done, and I think that people interested in Paris especially and some of the writers he was acquainted with will appreciate this very much. I think that writers will also appreciate it, as he practically explains the whole formula of how he wrote and gives many useful to tips that a lot of writers could benefit from. I don't really understand why he was friends with any of the writers he talks about, as almost every one of them seemed, if not quite idiotic, at least very eccentric, and he seemed like such a simple person with reasonable, healthy tastes and pursuits. I didn't really like the way he and his (first) wife spoke to each other, but it seems, if memory serves me right, that it was the same form of speech that most of his women spoke in his other books. I think, despite the simplicity with which he spoke and with the way he wrote (and what I just wrote about him), that he was a fairly complicated person, and even though he seems frank and honest throughout this book, I didn't feel like I got to know him very well. I believe he wrote this shortly before he killed himself, which increases the feeling that everything was not quite as it seemed, although he was writing about events that happened forty years previously, of course. There are a lot of memorable lines in this book, and very interesting first and lasting impressions of other famous people. I didn't really care for Paris, and this book doesn't make me want to go back, but despite this I think he did a good job of making it seem like a cozy and exciting place to be - at least in the period in question. Overall I liked this book, but I like most of the other things he wrote better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Moveable Feast
A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway (Mass Market Paperback - 3 Nov. 1994)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews