Customer Reviews


314 Reviews
5 star:
 (188)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Crafted Masterpiece
There are enough good reviews here, which leaves me little to add except that this book figures in my top ten favourite reads of all time. I've read it on and off since I was twelve or thirteen (I'm now thirty-seven), and it still never fails to capture the imagination and pull you right into the story. It's a beautifully crafted masterpiece suitable for all ages. Great...
Published on 10 Jan 2012 by CLINT McGAVIN

versus
23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle only - Unreadable layout
The font and layout are completely messed up on a standard sized Kindle. I tried to read it for 20 pages, but eventually I gave up and got a refund. As an example, the title looked like:
T
HE
O
LD
M
AN
AND THE
S
EA
Published on 30 Oct 2011 by Font


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Crafted Masterpiece, 10 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Old Man and the Sea (Paperback)
There are enough good reviews here, which leaves me little to add except that this book figures in my top ten favourite reads of all time. I've read it on and off since I was twelve or thirteen (I'm now thirty-seven), and it still never fails to capture the imagination and pull you right into the story. It's a beautifully crafted masterpiece suitable for all ages. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A master at work, 7 May 2011
This isn't the exact copy I have, but it is the closest so it will have to do. If you have never read anything by Hemingway, this might be the best place to start. It is short, simple, and without any of the brutality or serious depressive atmosphere of most of his other books, but it still has the same masterful prose style as everything else he wrote. This has never been one of my favourites of his, but it is wonderful to read, and I think I enjoyed it more this time than any other. Hemingway was one of the very few people in history who really knew how to write. He wrote about what he knew well, and he was able to transfer what he perceived with his keen senses onto the page in such a way that someone completely ignorant of the subject could still see and feel what he was describing. And not only could he describe things so clearly and distinctly, but also so beautifully that through his words there always flows emotion - usually melancholy in nature, it's true, but nonetheless pure, poignant emotion. Most writers would give their right arms to be able to conjure up emotion in such a deceptively simple way, but most will never be able to do it. Cormac McCarthy, I have noticed, tries to write more and more like Hemingway, and does fairly well at it, but he will never surpass the master, and most writers who admire him never even attempt to copy his style. Because what seems so simple is anything but, and another one of his many admirable qualities is that he knew what to leave out as well, which is something almost every author needs to learn better. I think most writers would think that this book needed to be longer, and would have tried to fill it out with non-essential material (more characters, side story, back story, lost love, etc.), which would have taken something away from it rather than adding to it, as he well knew. But enough gushing - simply put, if you haven't read this, you should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great reading of a great book, 13 July 2010
By 
Patricia Anne Karlstad "P1" (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Old Man and the Sea (Audio CD)
It is a real pleasure when you get a reader who understands the subtleties, symbolisms and themes within a text and conveys these to the reader. Donald Sutherland is Santiago and Manolin both. Thanks to him, I was with Santiago as he first waited, then landed the marlin, then fought a losing battle with the sharks. fantastic reading- exhausting and exhilarating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect book, 13 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Old Man and the Sea (Paperback)
I'm going to keep this review directly proportional to the size of this book. The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway is wonderful, brilliant, moving, profound, riveting and noble. It's 100 pages of beautiful, robust writing, where every word counts.

From reading an epic like War and Peace (still ongoing) this was a revelation as an exercise in how to convey so much emotion and meaning with so very few words.

I've read it five times, and it never loses any of it's charm or magic. Hemingway has written some amazing novels; full of powerful, hardy and noble characters, but none for me come close to Santiago the fisherman and his struggle against nature in this lyrical and poetic little book.

I'll say no more. Read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subtelty used at Hemingway's staggering best, 22 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Old Man and the Sea (Paperback)
This novella is not one for the lazy reader. For them it is a story about a man trying to catch a fish off the Cuban coast. However for the thinking reader this book is second to very few I have experienced. Hemingway's theory that "the grace of movement of an iceberg is due to only one eighth of it being above water" has never been more relevant than to this text.
Above the surface an old fisherman, Santiago, befriended by a young bog, Manolin, sets off as usual and catches a Marlin, resulting in a lengthy battle to reel it in. However below the surface is a commentary on masculinity, a common Hemingway theme, and the tragic tale of a man whose once considerable powers have now deserted him, leaving him hungry and alone apart from his apprentice. It doesn't take long to read this book, but it does take a long time to fully appreciate it, and I would advise re-reading it a few times to make sure you get absolutely everything from this tale. Not that this will be a problem, however, I read it three times and each time uncovered some new twist, such is the beauty and subtlety of Hemingway's craft.
The reader gets out of this book what they put it, but if you put in the time you will be left with a truly memorable read that you will definitely want to return to in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lyrical. You'll be glad you read it, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a beautifully written tale, so fresh and clean. Read it in one sitting if you can - it's not very long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy read with deep undertones about life, religion or what have you!, 7 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Old Man and the Sea (Paperback)
My first book of Hemingway and I came in with high expectations given Hemingway's recognised literary prowess. The book did not disappoint at all. The simplicity of its writing prompts, and even forces the reader to search for the deeper hidden messaging which starts to become apparent mid-way through this gripping story about a fisherman one of his trips out at sea fishing. The powerful writing style keeps you drawing parallels with a number of life lessons. All in all - a quick read, gripping and emotive throughout, and provokes serious thought.

PS: There is also a nice essay about the book - "Confiteor Hominem: Ernest Hemingway's Religion of Man" that I recommend once you have finished reading the book and taking it in through your own lenses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Read, 21 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Old Man and the Sea (Paperback)
This is a stripped down novel: not many characters, simple thoughts and dialogue, an education in the matters of the sea. It is beautiful in its simplicity. It's a short read, so those wanting to experiment with reading one of the greats, Ernest Hemmingway, it's a good title to start with. It's made me want to go on and read more widely. Next, 'For whom The Bell Tolls,' and 'Moby Dick.'

The Old Man and the Sea

The Old Man and the Sea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go and buy it and see it for yourself !, 13 Sep 2011
By 
S. MOHAMADI (London,SW) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was my first encounter with Hemingway. It led me to read his other masterpieces too and I am for ever one of his fans now. I have recommended it to a number of friends and they found it fascinating and extraordinary too. The descriptions are extremely beautiful and the characters are so real that you would want to go there and see them in flash. This small book would have more impact on you than some lengthy ones you have came across before. Go and buy it and see it for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You really root for the main character, 14 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Old Man and the Sea (Paperback)
My first Hemingway. Fell in love with his economical writing style. The story is touching and, though short, the writing allows you to feel for the old man and to sympathise with his fears and aspirations. 'A man may be destroyed but not defeated.' Inspiring, the story is a metaphor for life itself. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Old Man and the Sea
The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway (Paperback - 18 Aug 1994)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews