Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waylander is 'ard!!!
Waylander is by far Gemmels best character. In the first book he is a ruthless assassin, who after unwittingly plunging his country into war, begins to doubt his morals.
In the sequel he is a father and has settled down to lead a quiet life in the hills. But echoes of his past return to haunt him.
This book sets a fast pace, incorperating a doomed journey, the...
Published on 8 Feb. 2002

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Awful transfer to digital
I really, really like this story. I like David Gemmell and Waylander is one of my favourite characters of his.

However, I'm disgusted at the poor quality of the transfer from book to e-book. It seems like they just ran it through some OCR software and then didn't read it before publishing. Many words are incorrect and opening and closing speech marks are...
Published on 28 Aug. 2012 by Steve Kaye


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waylander is 'ard!!!, 8 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
Waylander is by far Gemmels best character. In the first book he is a ruthless assassin, who after unwittingly plunging his country into war, begins to doubt his morals.
In the sequel he is a father and has settled down to lead a quiet life in the hills. But echoes of his past return to haunt him.
This book sets a fast pace, incorperating a doomed journey, the defense of a homeland, and target that simple must be assassinated - no matter what the cost.
The action is gripping and well timed, yet even if this book had not one action scene in it, it would still be a classic because of the superb cast of characters. Not only has Gemmel made several stunning characterisations, but he makes their personalities clash so you are always interested in what they have to say to one another.
YOU CAN'T CALL YOURSELF A FANTASY LOVER UNTIL YOU
INVEST IN A COPY OF THIS BOOK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch heroic fantasy., 8 Nov. 2014
By 
FallenGrace (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is probably my favorite book by David Gemmell after his debut Legend. The fifth book in the Drenai series (though second book chronologically up to this point) focuses as you would expect from the title once again on Waylander, an infamous, though retired assassin. When trained killers hired from the guild track him down in his remote mountain home he begins a journey to find out exactly who hired them and why.

My favorite part of this book isn't actually Waylander, nor is it the action or the battles but the relationship between him and his adopted daughter, and also his dog. It's the little touches between the action with some of the side characters that I remember most fondly and which give Waylander a greater depth and humanity to his character.

That being said the action is nothing to shy away from either, it's both brutal as well as imaginitive really making Waylander out to be the ultimate assassin and bad ass.

For people reading through the series it's a must, for newcomers both Waylander books can be read seperately though references to the overall Drenai series would be missed. I recommend them regardless.

(Kindle edition has weird typos, often with 1 replacing speech marks. I believe it's down to the way they were scanned in digital format and never proof read. Still easily readable and not that common but an annoyance anyway.)

+ Waylander is a great character.
+ Some lovely touches with secondary characters.
+ Action and pacing is fantastic.

- Some kindle typos here and there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fantasy, 14 Jun. 2007
By 
SonicQuack (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Set ten years after the original Waylander, this tale is best read in sequence of the Drenai novels to best understand the history of the warring nations. That said, Waylander II is a self-contained novel, and delivers in all aspects. What starts off looking like a straightforward assassination of our (anti)hero soon spirals in to an epic tale, packed full of love, deceit, magic, sieges and sharp, well written characters, with outstanding dialogue. Gemmell has created another masterpiece with Waylander II, and should definitely be amongst the collection of all fantasy readers. It's inspiring, clever, bold and an unrelenting page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DON'T MESS WITH THE BOSS!!!!!!!!!, 1 Jan. 2015
By 
Greggorio! (Amazing Australia) - See all my reviews
This book makes an immediate contrast with it’s prequel, in that Waylander appears as a mortal enemy to the man whose life he saved at the beginning to book one. Yes, that’s right. The priest, Dardalion. Of course, with a Drenai novel (or any David Gemmell book for that matter!) absolutely NOTHING is what it seems so I will leave that particular conversational thread to unwind itself, and move on.

The book simply reeks atmosphere. It opens with an intriguing prologue where the reader is introduced to a character interestingly called “Angel” who is an old acquaintance of Waylander and moves on to the isolated mountaintop retreat that Dakeyras and his daughter call home. But not for much longer. With a 10,000 gold currency placed on his head, Dakeyras is fully able to see the wood for the trees, even though his daughter Muriel has not woken up to see fate staring her (or her father) in the face. By the start of chapter four, Angel has been employed by Waylander to train his daughter so that she can defend herself against potential assassins and Dakeyras has set himself a bundle of side quests including information gathering, friend (and enemy) collections, and of course, maximising the entertainment factor for the reader.

I am loving this book. The plot is more complex than book one and the antagonism between characters that used to be friends adds a huge amount of fun and interest to the reading experience. The world building is excellent and of course since this is book five, you would expect to have a certain degree of pre-existing civilisation already embedded in your consciousness. And it is.

David Gemmell is a wonder. The Drenai saga books are (pun intended) legendary and are destined to be regarded as all time classics. Pick them up now, read them, saviour them, and pass them on to your kids.

Hugely recommended from me and fully deserving of a five star ranking.

BFN Greggorio!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless, 13 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
A brilliant book. Everything Waylander 1 was and more. I nearly failed a Chemistry mock A-Level because I started reading this book 5 minutes before the exam, but it was worth it. Waylander has got to be one of the best written characters in the science fiction and fantasy genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Gemmell master piece, 9 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ever since reading David Gemmell's 'Troy' series of books I have been hooked on Gemmell as an author. I have since begun to read all of his books and the Drenai books are simply wonderful reads.

I was originally unsure about whether to read the Drenai books as I've never been a huge fan of heroic fantasy - however given just how much I enjoyed the Troy books and the wonderful writing style of David Genmmell I decided to try them. I am so pleased that I did and I have now read nearly all of Gemmell's books and urge anyone considering the books to do it, you will not be disappointed.

All of the books are great and can be read as stand alone books or in order. The characters are wonderfully bought to life, there's love, romance, humour, twists & turns, betrayal, revenge, heroes, villains, sorcery, savagery, battles, noble deeds and you will simply fall into the world the Gemmell creates for you. These books deserve to be read and its a an absolute tragedy that Gemmell is no longer with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 April 2011
This is another excellent novel by David Gemmell, its written wonderfully with in depth characters which really brings the drenai world to life, you can almost believe its real.

This novel (as the title suggests) is a continuation of the story of waylander, basically waylander has settled down until he recieves word that there is a price on his head so he returns to the life of an assasin. Without giving to much away; we see the return of the thirty, Karnak and waylanders 'Daughters'. It also gives quite nice insights into the nadir race, sorcery and the 'ancients'.

However I dont believe this novel is as strong as the first one simply because I dont think the sense of history is there, it doesnt link, in my opinion, to the rest of the series except in one small part which is obviously stated throughout (I will leave you to find out).

All in all tho this is excellent reading and I would advise whole heartedly advise it but only if you have read waylander and Legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I've read, 3 July 2013
By 
Justin Guiney (Lisburn, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A absolutely brilliant book, well written with a complicated but understandable storyline following the fate of a entire race in the hands of a assassin. You won't want to put it down. David Gemell is a brilliant writer of Medieval fiction and if you haven't already you should definitely try out his books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Waylander II = Brilliance, 11 Aug. 2010
David Gemmell delivers once more in this truly spectacular sequel. Waylander is ten years older and living a peaceful life in the hills with his family but, being an assassin and all, things quickly take a turn for the worst.

This book goes beyond expectations and takes you on another journey through Gemmells well crafted universe and brings along a band of brilliantly written characters for the ride.

If you are a fan of other Drenai Novels "Legend" and "The King beyond the Gate" then this is a must read! It links into these two books brilliantly, expanding on earlier characters and their ancestry.

This book left me demanding more and luckily I had the third Waylander installment on hand; Hero in the Shadows which I began reading instantly.

All in all, this is one of the best books in the Drenai series, written by one of the best heroic fantasy writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 4 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for the kindle..Most compelling read...If you have never tried heroic fantasy, then this is a great place to start...Little bit of escapism, which helps me deal with the complexities of day to day living and deadlines in 2013...I can truly recommend this read to anyone...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Waylander II: In The Realm of the Wolf
Waylander II: In The Realm of the Wolf by David Gemmell (Paperback - 7 Oct. 1993)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews