Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathe the Himalayan air
I must have read this book at least a dozen times since first being given a copy at Christmas 1987. (I don't reread books much, as a whole.) Every time I come to it, there is something new to learn, to appreciate.Then there are some things that strike me EVERY time. Not least, the elegance and beauty of Matthiessen's writing-one minute he is writing of his meditative...
Published on 14 July 2004 by ILONACAT

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Interesting if tibétain customs and landscapes and adventure interest readers
Published 5 months ago by Carol F. C. Rose


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book., 21 Nov. 2014
By 
Frank Bierbrauer (Manchester, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snow Leopard (Paperback)
A wonderful book. Its not really about the snow leopard but might in fact be about the ox herding pictures of Zen. This time its the story of Matthiessen himself and his experiences on the way to finding the "footprints" of the ox. If you know a little Zen then you know what I mean. Sometimes deeply moving and at occasionally it possesses those sentences a little like Zen sayings with their ability to hit the bell in your mind, not often but sometimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it - read it on the back of a ..., 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved it - read it on the back of a very bumpy bus leaving Kathmandu.. it seemed very appropriate and fresh to be doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snow Leopard (Paperback)
Beautiful book, insightful, an incredible journey documented with great care and wonderful description. Also very thought provoking. Will definitely search out more of his books. Highly recommended for anyone who enjoys travel literature. I had if on my reading list for a few years and certainly wasn't disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snow Leopard (Hardcover)
bought as present for friends currently in Northern India looking for Snow Leapoards. They were delighted with book but had not read it prior to leaving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE BOOK THAT CHANGED MY LIFE!, 25 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snow Leopard (Paperback)
This is literally the book that changed my life. Read during a backpacking holiday in my mid twenties, I packed in the life I'd been pursuing for a quarter century, went back to university and have been on a journey of my own ever since.

It is beautifully written, thought-provoking, haunting and will stay with you for weeks after you finish it (years in my case!) Though it details the stark truth about the authors life, its wisdom lies in asking questions of the reader, so they may find out the truth about their own.

Thank you Peter Matthiessen for the gift of the book. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to trek in the Himalayas but can't - this takes you there mentally, emotionally and spiritually, 10 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snow Leopard (Paperback)
A beautifully poetic, descriptive book full of rich images, cliff-hangers, frustrations, exultations, and adventures that gives a wonderful flavour of life in this faraway land that hasn't changed much in thousands of years. On every level it embraces your being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars finally read this wonderful book, 5 May 2013
This review is from: The Snow Leopard (Paperback)
I've had a copy of the Snow Leopard for some years, but always put it aside to read 'some day' and I finally have.
This is such a beautiful book on so many levels. I had thought it was a travel book, well it is, but it's also about how we live our lives and it's about grief and joy and love and anger.........

Read it. Just read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snow Leopard (Paperback)
Although a little dated now, a powerful and provocative piece of writing. Will read more of his work as a result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 10 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snow Leopard (Paperback)
This was a present for my son's stocking and he was very pleased with it. It was high on his list of items to read and he has enjoyed reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The snow leopard, 21 April 2012
This review is from: The Snow Leopard (Hardcover)
A vivid account of a journey over the Himaylaya to the Tibetan plateau and also a compelling journey on the Buddhist path to Enlightenment. This is a beautifully written and unforgettable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Snow Leopard
The Snow Leopard by Peter Matthiessen (Paperback - 22 Jan. 1998)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews