Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book
Bought this while travelling, and didn't really appreciate how good it was until I returned home. Matthiesson's expedition with Schaller is excellently retold, and his linking of the essences of both spirituality and nature makes this book inspire a sense of calm, yet also sadness at the nature of our supposedly 'modern' society. I don't recall...
Published on 19 Jan 2006 by Andy Davies

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Interesting if tibétain customs and landscapes and adventure interest readers
Published 3 days ago by Carol F. C. Rose


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 19 Jan 2006
By 
Andy Davies (Liverpool, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Snow Leopard (Paperback)
Bought this while travelling, and didn't really appreciate how good it was until I returned home. Matthiesson's expedition with Schaller is excellently retold, and his linking of the essences of both spirituality and nature makes this book inspire a sense of calm, yet also sadness at the nature of our supposedly 'modern' society. I don't recall him beating any sherpa's as another reviewer has mentioned - he is (or was)a buddhist practitioner, and this would seem to be against his overriding principle - that we are all one with nature. This book is excellent as both a form of escapism, and for those who wish to read an informed and enlightened travel journal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathe the Himalayan air, 14 July 2004
By 
ILONACAT (WIRRAL, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Snow Leopard (Paperback)
I must have read this book at least a dozen times since first being given a copy at Christmas 1987. (I don't reread books much, as a whole.) Every time I come to it, there is something new to learn, to appreciate.Then there are some things that strike me EVERY time. Not least, the elegance and beauty of Matthiessen's writing-one minute he is writing of his meditative practice(he had been a Zen practitioner for several years when he made this Himalayan journey in the autumn of 1973), the next minute he's describing the very practical difficulties encountered on such an expedition (snow-drifts, altitude sickness,) and the NEXT minute he's describing-informatively, beautifully-the animals and plants. He's also very deep into Buddhist philosophy-as one might expect, of course-and knows a good few things about Buddhist iconography as well(whatever he modestly claims to the contrary).The book is not only an examination (and, ultimately, a celebration) of the snow leopard, or the Himalayan blue sheep, but also of the Himalayan way of life. I share some of his delight when, after many weeks of trials and tribulations, he finds himself standing in a remote gompa( a sort of Buddhist chapel or oratory), a place subtly gleaming with brass statues, prayer-wheels, etc. and lit only by candles.
It's an infectious book. And a powerful one. I'd also recommend Matthiessen's TIGERS IN THE SNOW, his study of the Amur( Siberian) tiger.If you're remotely interested in the big cats, you could do worse than treat yourself to both these gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book of great depth and exploration, 4 Jan 2002
This review is from: The Snow Leopard (Paperback)
This book is a story of two journeys of exploration. On one hand it is an account of an expedition by the world famous field biologist Georges Schaller to remote North Western Nepal in search of the fabled Snow Leopard.
The second journey is Matthiessen's personal journey of spiritual discovery amongst the Himalayan gompas of both Buddhism and the ancient Bon religion.
Combining a remarkable eye for detail in the flora and fauna of the journey with a deeply moving account of his personal spiritual discoveries, this book is a "must read" for anyone with even the slightest interest in what lies beyond the mundane day to day world.
It is also a detailed account of a world which was at the time of the expedition untouched by Western technology or values. A world which largely no longer exists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The snow Leopard, 3 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Snow Leopard (Paperback)
Matthiessen’s book, written in beautiful, otherworldly prose, is a masterpiece.
The book describes the physical and spiritual journey the author undertakes to the far North-West of Nepal with the renowned naturalist George Schaller.
Mathiessen undertook this trek shortly after the death of his first wife - and whilst wrestling with the loss of a loved one, the shackles of modern western life and Mathiessen own spiritual exploration of Buddhist philosophies – the words drip off the pages like honey.
The pace of the narrative and the nuggets of spiritual and philosophical truth found within these pages echo in the readers mind and far outlive the reading of the book.
The people, the culture and the landscape come together and thrust the reader into a forgotten land at the time untouched by western influence. One of those classic reads you’ll be sure to tell friends and loved ones about and probably force them to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thought provoking & spiritual book, 9 Nov 2011
By 
Sally Walker (Eastbourne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Snow Leopard (Paperback)
This is a deep book that gets you thinking, chiefly about the absurdity of the wealth seeking, greedy, `because I'm worth it' western culture. This book, almost subliminally, has had a gentle but something approaching profound effect upon me. It has removed the scales from my eyes and shown me what really matters.

Matthiessen wrote this book following his accompanying Dr George Schaller into the Himalayas reaching close to the Tibetan border. Schaller was a zoologist who wanted to study the rut of the blue sheep, a rare form. He wanted to assess through field observations whether this animal was more goat than sheep or vice versa. (It never ceases to amaze me the way in which some people earn their living). Both hoped to see the elusive snow leopard, hence the title of the book. I shall not spoil the book for future readers by revealing whether their hopes were realised.

This book is many layered: an account of the author's arduous trek on foot through the Himalayas of Nepal to the Crystal Mountain and Shey Gompa, the Crystal Monastry and back again; of his coming to terms with the recent death of his wife, and their relationship before her diagnosis of having cancer; a vivid and beautiful description of the landscape, wildlife, flora and people that he saw and on his long and often arduous journey; of his deepening understanding of Buddhism and his continued attachment to things corporeal. The author is very candid and honest with himself when looking within at his own spiritual path on this journey and as he sees it lack of spiritual growth.

In short this is a spiritual and thought provoking book that we in the west could all do with reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life changing, 24 May 2014
This review is from: The Snow Leopard (Paperback)
by Peter Matthiessen
26116517
Lynn Matheson's review May 24, 14 edit
5 of 5 stars
bookshelves: travel-writing, spirituality
Read from April 07 to 14, 2014

I think this book may just have changed my life! I found the paperback by chance in a second hand bookshop on the Suffolk coast. I wasn't really looking for a book to read as I already have so many unread at home. It seemed to be fate. As soon as I started reading it I was hooked. The writing is exquisitely beautiful with descriptions of nature intertwined with the author's attempts at deepening his Buddhist practice as he travels in the mountainous arras of Nepal and Tibet accompanying an academic studying snow leopards and blue sheep. I found the details of the journey fascinating and the author is very open and honest about his personal life and his feelings about it. The book touched me and inspired me. I have now began to meditate more and to find out about Buddhism. I recommend this to anyone interested in spirituality and travel writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vertigo with heart, 16 Nov 2006
By 
Sarakani (Harrow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Snow Leopard (Paperback)
As a present from a dear friend, this was a marvellous read.

The author heads for the Himalayan heights to seek out the elusive and precious mountain cat with the eminent mammalogist Schaller. Matthiessen writes of the mountains there and the grand hospitality from Nepal and hermits on their mountain retreats and the book harks back to elements of his wife's death and explorations of what life involves. He analyses the lives and manners of the people he encounters and describes the ruggedness of mountain climbing marrying together endurance with views, storms and tales of blue sheep and the mythical Yeti. This is for a discerning reader wishing to pause from the rat race to really take in a big picture and to weep silently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful story, poor quality publication, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snow Leopard (Paperback)
This is a truly inspiring story, very well written & completely fascinating BUT having already read it, I ordered more copies to give as presents and was most disappointed not to get the copy as illustrated (with the snow leopard picture on the cover) and to find that the overall quality of paper & print was poor.
In conclusion, the illustration next to the book offered for sale did not match the version I received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snow Leopard, 30 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Snow Leopard (Paperback)
This is not a book for everyone, but if you like reading about adventures in mountains in the cold and snow, (while you are warm and cosy indoors!) If you have an interest in wild rivers, Bhuddism, wild life, plants. If the ordinary lives of the people who live in Tibet.

If so, this is a fantastic book! The quality of Peter Matthiesson writing and descriptive powers are superb. I read on average 70 books per year and it is the first time I have read such an incredible book. I will be reading my way through the extensive list of books written by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a story of a journey that follows you, 6 Nov 2007
By 
Helen J. McLachlan (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snow Leopard (Paperback)
I bought the book for its travel and nature writing perspective. It's very enjoyable on those fronts, but what really strikes deep into your thoughts and heart is the thread of zen buddhism running throughout, from the people he meets along the way, to the prayer stones, walls, and flags, the lamas and their spoken wisdom and Matthiessen's own inner trials and quest towards the sacred. I was in the habit of turning down a page of interest for further pondering when I came across it, but I had to give up when every other page was getting folded.... it will have to be read, and read again, to let the deep quiet meaning of the book seep in. Even after the book is finished, half of my mind is still in the Himalaya whilst washing up- it takes you there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Snow Leopard
The Snow Leopard by Peter Matthiessen (Paperback - 22 Jan 1998)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews