Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seeking some skin
How many children become adults fulfilling a childhood dream by visiting remote places? Bruce Chatwin, driven by memories of his grandfather's strange artifact, takes us with him to the farthest reaches of South America. His travels in that mysterious realm result in this masterfully done account of journeys in Patagonia - southern Argentina and Chile. It's not...
Published on 5 Nov 2005 by Stephen A. Haines

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Seminal Maybe but Uninspiring
I had heard and read so many good publicity pieces about Bruce Chatwin's "In Patagonia" that when I came to read the book I had great expectations. Indeed, the opening chapter that sets the scene and triggers Chatwin's travels is lyrical and enticing. Innovative in its style? Certainly! A seminal piece of travel writing? No doubt! But with all this going for the book...
Published on 1 Jan 2012 by Herman Norford


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seeking some skin, 5 Nov 2005
By 
Stephen A. Haines (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Patagonia (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
How many children become adults fulfilling a childhood dream by visiting remote places? Bruce Chatwin, driven by memories of his grandfather's strange artifact, takes us with him to the farthest reaches of South America. His travels in that mysterious realm result in this masterfully done account of journeys in Patagonia - southern Argentina and Chile. It's not an exaggeration to praise this work as the first to supplement Darwin's. Both sought fossils, although Chatwin's pursuit is rather more specific. Both described the land, the people and events in the most captivating and readable manner. A rare treasure in travel literature, this book is a timeless treasure.
Patagonia has been a haven for many European nationalities besides the Spanish. British, Welsh, Scots and the Germans have found refuge and opportunities here. Chatwin encounters a wide spectrum of the inhabitants. By touring on foot, bus and horse, as well as obtaining the occasional lift, he is able to garner intense impressions. Lacing the account of what he observes with numerous piquant historical side notes, he imparts the place along with the spirit of the residents. The history varies as the land itself. Rising from the Atlantic across a vast plain until reaching the rising slopes of the "back" of the Andes, Patagonia offers incredible vistas and diversity. Decades of building immense rancheros and farms have been punctuated by social and political upheavals. Chatwin recounts the lives of many of the rebels and how they impacted the pampas scene. His literary capacity seems as vast as the territory. We even encounter The Ancient Mariner. There are no dull moments in this book.
Chatwin presents a more knowledgeable view in discussing aboriginal people than that of most travel writers. There's nothing patronizing in his tone as he tries to address their plight. "Tries to" because European intrusion has left so little for researchers of indigenous cultures to address. He cites the expressive terms in the Yamana language to point out how culturally inept the colonizing powers have been. We learn to use the term "primitive" with caution. Millennia of residence gained the original peoples skills the Europeans disparaged, often to
their regret. It's becoming a familiar story, made sadder at the realization the loss of cultures swept away by colonization.
At the end, his original quest brings him to a cave visited by Charley Milward, wrecked ship's captain. He cannot replace the artifact Milward left in Chatwin's grandmother's house, but there is other compensation. That the quest isn't a failure adds further lustre to an incredible journey. But what Chatwin has gained is as nothing compared to what he's given us. This book will remain a classic for years to come. [stephen a. haines - Ottawa, Canada]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Packed with interesting stories and perceptive observations, 23 Feb 2000
This review is from: In Patagonia (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
This book is not like any other travel journal I have ever read. The text does not stick rigidly to what Bruce did or what he saw, but branches off into the realms of history and culture, giving the reader so much to think about. The real beauty is that towards the end, all the various paths and routes seem to coincide to nicely tie the storyline up into one overall piece.
I would greatly recommend this book, since it is a refreshing change of style to the more modern travel experience books on the market, and so makes for very compelling reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Travels in the human psyche, 25 Feb 2004
By 
Mr. D. N. Sumption (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a fascinating book, but if you are expecting a description of the geography of the Southernmost part of South America, you are likely to be disappointed. Chatwin offers very few details of the landscape, but instead focuses on the people and their dwellings, a strange mix of natives and pioneers from, it seems, every other country in the world, living almost exclusively in miserable run-down relics of an age long gone.
The majority of the book, however, is taken up with exploring the stories these people tell. From Chatwin's search for the past of his Grandmother's cousin, Charley Milward, through his exploration of the various myths surrounding Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, Charles Darwin, various revolutionaries, 16th century explorers, and others, to delving into possible inspirations for Coleridge's Rime of the Ancient Mariner and Shakespear's Tempest; this book is about human legends and how they diverge and take on a life of their own over time.
Because of the way the book is structured and the very nature of its subject matter, it feels rather fragmented and piecemeal. But nontheless it is an astounding, enlightening achievement, and a fascinating read. Just don't expect to learn much about the Patagonian landscape from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Innovative writing for the imaginative traveller, 24 May 2004
By 
Sirin (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Patagonia (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
I was browsing the shelves of the travel section of a large bookshop recently looking for inspiration. 'In Patagonia' appealed to me for three reasons. Firstly, I am planning a long trip to South America and was interested to read any writing covering that area. Secondly, I was captivated by Paul Theroux's comment on the back cover of the Vintage edition that Bruce Chatwin had found a remote place 'like the land where the Jumblies live'. I love eccentric people and places. Thirdly, I was intrigued by the pictures in the centre of the book - a corrugated iron hut on wheels, a run down station in the middle of knowhere, a set of hand prints on a cave wall and other peculiar and whimsical images relating to the places Chatwin visited on his travels and the stories he collected on the way. I had to read it.
What emerges is an extraordinary chronicle of the nomadic wanderings of Chatwin during his 6 month trip to Patagonia (he quit his job at the Sunday Times in order to embark on this visit). He begins by describing how he was curious to find out more about a curious ancient beast, of which his grandmother had a fragment of skin, but soon becomes waylaid by a bizarre succession of people and stories that build upon each other as the book progresses like a ramshackle house of cards.
It is the stories that form the essence of the book. There is description of the geography and physical characteristics of the region but only in brief passages as a setting to another inspired piece of Patagonian folklore. Chatwin clearly has an ear for a good yarn and an almost dilletante, enquiring mind. Also, in the manner of a skilled raconteur, he is frequently economical with the truth in order to include his own even better facts. Thus the book is a curious conglomerate of part travel writing, part sociology, part history, part anthropology and part fiction.
Don't read if if you want a standard travel chronicle that will tell you where to go or what do do in this part of the world, but then there are plenty of Rough Guide and Lonley Planet books for that. If you are a budding voyager with a taste for scholarship and a penchant for bizzare tales, this book is an essential part of the travellers canon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anything but slothful, 7 Nov 2004
By 
jacr100 "jacr100" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
His interest in Patagonia first awakened by a piece of sloth skin from that region that hung in his grandmother's house, Chatwin sets out on a mazy route from Buenos Aires to Tierra del Fuego. As he makes for where the ancient sloth was discovered a century before, he glimpses into the lives of the settlers, gauchos and Indians who have spread themselves thinly across the pampas. The deep loneliness, isolation and fatalism implicit in the lives of those living at the end of the earth is conveyed starkly in Chatwin's laconic prose. Roaming between these outposts of humanity, he amuses himself in the pursuit of a series of riddles aside from the sloth mission - and as we are drawn into Chatwin's world of esoterica, where Butch Cassidy lived to a ripe old age, and revolutionaries become barbers, the lines between fact, supposition and invention become almost impossible to discern. Which is what makes this intellectual odyssey - or 'ridiculous journey', as Chatwin self-deprecatingly puts it - such fun; the recondite histories woven into the narrative only enrich Patagonia as a land of dreams and possibility. Be warned, though, that this book is thin on descriptive passages, and gives a largely impressionistic vision of Patagonia: it is more concerned with the region's idiosyncrasies and curious history than rendering a sense of what it's like to be there. Utterly unique: I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In Patagonia, 13 May 2009
By 
J. C. Russell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read Nicholas Shapespeare's biography of Bruce Chatwin, I was keen to read Chatwin's "In Patagonia", although I had no idea what his writing would be like.
I was therefore very surprised as to how readable the book was, with many insights into the people and the country, particularly of Tierra del Fuego and Cape Horn, which I had always imagined as being wild, rough and uninhabitable.
The book has been described as breaking all the rules of travel writing, but not being a "travel reader" all I can say that it is well worth reading and that I am looking forward to getting hold of his book on Wales, "Under the Black Hill".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps it's age..., 3 July 2009
By 
G. D. Busby "Cornish Graham" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Patagonia (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Many years after reading most of the Chatwin canon, I have finally read In Patagonia. Yes, it's meant to be that mixture of fact and fiction but it doesn't come across as innovative. Perhaps, it is because of what's been published since - and because this reviewer was just so 'wowed' by the likes of 'On The Black Hill', which surely was somewhat influenced by In Patagonia. For the purist, I guess it's wise to read his output in the order of publication. Pleased I've finally read it, anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vivid portraits of lost eccentrics, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Patagonia (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
An extraordinary series of scenes collected as the author wanders down the Atlantic side of Patagonia, around the bottom, and up the Pacific side. Vivid portraits of eccentrics whose ancestors were washed up on those remote shores, supported by a study of the region's colonial history, with an corrosive display of injustices, foibles and absurdities that reminds me of Ryszard Kapucinski.

Many books start well and then run out of ideas, gradually becoming less interesting as one reads. This is one of the rare road stroies that begins modestly and becomes more and more enthralling as one goes on, until one exits unwillingly from the last page.

willow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best travel book ever written., 7 Mar 2012
Chatwin takes travel book writing to another dimension. In Patagonia is without any doubt more than just a travel book and it is more than a book about a geographical location. Magnificent as Patagonia may be, this book is also a history of the place, its people, the landscape and its grandiosity. If a place this had a soul, this book finds it and brings to you its resplendence. Unforgettable. One of this books you will read more than once for the sheer pleasure of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Chatwyn Revisited, 4 Feb 2011
This review is from: In Patagonia (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
When I arrived in Welsh North eastern Patagonia (Trelew) a few weeks ago, our guide said that most of his clients carried Chatwyn's book and were keen to see what remains of Welsh culture in the towns around the region. 4000 Welsh speakers were given a land grant in 1865 and there are a few Welsh speakers who have survived the generations. There are still many Evans, Roberts and Williams around, most of whom only speak Spanish.

The guide who bore the curious name of Washington (curious that is for Argentina)) was right to point out that Bruce Chatwyn's book is an iconic introduction to the region. However, he wrote it 40 years ago when Patagonia was even more of a frontier region than it is today - although many of the places we visited still bear the marks of recent development.

I read In Patagonia on my return and it is somewhat dated. However, Chatwyn has the ability to draw some of the extraordinary characters he met on his journeys. I was somewhat disappointed that much of the book was historical and not Patagonia as he saw it. But if you want a literary introduction to the region, you could do worse than to read it. It is absolutely not a travel guide and nor was it intended to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Patagonia (Vintage Classics)
In Patagonia (Vintage Classics) by Bruce Chatwin (Paperback - 3 Dec 1998)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews