Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and shocking
This book is an absolute eye-opener for those who are keen on learning more about colonial Africa. To read how the upper class settlers behaved and lived some 60 years ago is definitely stunning in it's vulgarity. This you do not usually read about! But wait, there's even more: it's also a first class detective story. Not the usual John Grisham kind, but factional. Deep...
Published on 10 Sep 2003 by Emile Gregoire

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book But Not Quite The Last Word
While this is a very good read, after reading around the 'Happy Valley Set' (ie 'The Bolter' 'The Temptress') and watching the film, I really was convinced for a while that the jealousy/love/hate angle was the motive behind the killing of Lord Errol. But, after reading an excellent book published in 2000 and available on Amazon, I am now convinced that nobody in the Happy...
Published 3 months ago by Dr Bookworm


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lust and Love in Happy Valley!, 22 Jan 2012
This review is from: White Mischief (Paperback)
The book was enjoyable, but the film was even better. Both illustrated the good life in Happy Valley while the world was at war. But who really killed Lord Erroll? This theme is taken a step further in "The Life & Death of Lord Erroll" by Errol Trzebinski (2000). It contends that it was arranged by a plot in Whitehall!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting obsessed by Happy Valley!, 11 Jun 2009
This review is from: White Mischief (Paperback)
Having just read and enjoyed the Bolter by Frances Osbourne, this is a great book to follow up to put some more meat on the bones of an intriguing and haunting story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Imperial Arrogance, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. E. W. Palmer (York UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Mischief (Paperback)
This is a story have known for some time. I find that the same kind of arrogance is prevalent yoday. Everybody seems to need some kind of recognition but we cannot accept that we are all just people and should simply get on with each other. I do not argue with people who try to tell me what to do in my everyday life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dated of course., 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Mischief (Kindle Edition)
more of a reference book than a good read. More interesting if you know about one of the families, or something about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars how the rich enjoyed life, 3 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Mischief (Paperback)
good insite into the going ons in happy valley
its a book that can be followed up with lots of others that give info and stories of the people of happy vally
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Happy Valley crowd, 22 Nov 2013
By 
S. Kite (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Mischief (Paperback)
The English abroad. Many from the aristocracy. They enjoyed themselves to the full in early days in Kenya and left many scandalous stories behind them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History brought to life, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Mischief (Paperback)
Brilliantly written book that my mother can't put down. She has the video also but loves very engrossed in this very well written book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great pastiche, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Mischief (Kindle Edition)
A very evocative movie, true-ish to the book. I remember watching this when it first came out and being blown away, and now, nearly 30 years later, although it does have wobbly credits, the essence of the time is well delivered showing hedonistic selfish individuals as the people they are. Beautiful costumes, scenery, and does Kenya proud. Sit down with a large G&T, and plan your trip to Africa!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars White Mischief, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Mischief (Paperback)
I found it quite interesting,perhaps a little difficult to follow as there are so many characters/people's lives involved;overall I found it a little boring !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Us and Them, 31 Dec 2007
This review is from: White Mischief (Paperback)
An incredible and compelling read with a powerful insight into the high and low aristocracy. A week later, I find myself wandering back to the events.
Even today, it appears a second generation happy valley Lord to be, will escape with his second barefaced murder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Mischief
White Mischief by James Fox (Paperback - 5 Feb 1998)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews