Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply Bizarre!
This is msot definitly a book to make you think. Though it is blessed with Winterson's always spectacular writing, the style is very different. If you are looking for a basic structured novel simple telling a story, then this is not for you.
Sexing The Cherry is an unusual book, filled with numerous little tales that all add to the brilliance of the book...
Published on 10 Sept. 2007 by S. Rankin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the greatest, not the worst
Sexing The Cherry is just one of those books you probably have to read twice to start appreciating its style. Somewhat similar to Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit, Sexing the Cherry often engages with controversial material, but manages to make it its strenght.
Published on 26 Jun. 2012 by Epu


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 3 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sexing The Cherry (Paperback)
Great book, love the very abstract feel of the story although it can be a little confusing at times. Would recommend it for a short trip, and the length is short and sweet but gives the reader much food for thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful surprise, 4 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Sexing The Cherry (Paperback)
I was unsure what this title would offer but it was like nothing I have read before.

Filled with unbridled imagination, crammed with imagery and colour, this book is charming, surreal, innocent, adult, insipring and magical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sexing The Cherry (Paperback)
Excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for what i needed it for university., 23 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sexing The Cherry (Paperback)
Very good to study. Not always easy to understand. Once i understand the book was about time travel that helped.
Needed to read and study it as part of my course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny and histoical look at life which we can all relate to., 18 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sexing The Cherry (Paperback)
this has to be one of the best books i have ever read. i am studying it for as-level eng lit and we were asked to write an imitation. i then realised how hard it must have been to write a book as fantastic as this. you have to keep your head while reading it and focus on the book but you really can let your imagination run wild. Amuseing and touchig characters are superb points for reflection and amazing scene settings allow you to walk london or exotic islands with the dog women and jordan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the hype, 28 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: Sexing The Cherry (Paperback)
After reading Jeanette Wintersons 'Sexing The Cherry' I have to say I wasn't impressed! I couldn't help but form the impression that the author was using the medium to serve as a platform for their embittered opinions of the male sex. In short, the book came across as an unashamedly vicious sexist attack and the fragmented narrative seems to be employed primarily to facilitate this extended attack, allowing the author to jump from one debauched scenario to another without the annoying hassle of having to develop any character beyond caricature or any plot beyond man is evil and Woman is his superior.

This book could be used as the flagship example of feminism gone very very wrong! Just two examples - Dog woman (the heroine), decapitates a man. the narrative describes the men of the surrounding areas as flocking to the scene like rabid animals to rape the corpse and decapitated head! (the author portrays ALL the male characters as morally corrupt). The author sometimes trys to veil these attacks with a flacid attempt at humour, at one point having her main character bite a dirty little mans penis off, I wondered at this point if anyone in literary circles would have dared describe the passage as humerous if it had been making reference to some slut having her genitalia mutilated?

The author seems to be seeking to illicit a sense that ALL men are embued with an evil depraved nature and she utilizes narrative techniques such as analepsis and prolepsis to illustrate regurgitated concepts of the fluidity of time and space, borne from more forward-thinking minds than her own to (supposedly) lend her rantings some credibility.

I fail to see how the author can be lauded as some kind of literary genius, if this book had been written by a man, the male characters were to be made female and the heroine to be renamed dog-man, the writer would have been branded a sadistic misogynist.

Discussing this book with female classmates has proved a revelation as I was repeatedly told how it had not even occurred to them that this book might prove to be highly offensive to the men in the class, there had been no consideration of it WHATSOEVER!

It is shocking that in an era of supposed sexual revolution and enlightenment that this authors bitter diatrabe should not only go unchallenged but should be so lauded by so many, My advice, avoid this book like you would avoid a BNP party political broadcast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A glittering eye -opener that embarks upon the true woman!, 24 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sexing The Cherry (Paperback)
I thought it was an intrinsically detailed assesment of the female psyce that looks at the female in an honest intensily humorus outlook.
Well worth reading just to reflect on ones self.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars OMG, the worst book I have ever read...., 16 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Sexing The Cherry (Paperback)
If I could give 0 stars I would... This book was set as a book club read and, to be frank, that was the only reason I completed it! Unless I am missing something deep and meaningful i found this the weirdest, most confusing and ridiculous book I have ever had the misfortune to open. Read at your peril....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS OFFENSIVE TO ME AND I AM NOT MALE, 27 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Sexing The Cherry (Paperback)
This book sexing the cherry is so offensive . I cannot understand why it is a set book on my course. Have we not moved on to an age where men and women are equal ?
Well apparently all men are worthless betrayers according to Jeanette Winterson. This is sexist twaddle in a format that is childish and unreadable. We have had many GREAT books to read on our course. This book does not fit in. I am lost for words now sorry... this book was a shock to my system. The best book Ive read on the course is The secret agent by Joseph Conrad this is a brilliant brilliant book. Dont get in lost the hype of Jeanette Winterson please !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sexing the Cherry, 8 Dec. 2011
By 
K Magee - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sexing The Cherry (Paperback)
This was a present for my wife - the content did not appeal to me personally. I must say though, it was a much shorter book than I was expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sexing The Cherry
Sexing The Cherry by Jeanette Winterson (Paperback - 6 Sept. 1990)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews