Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars butchers is a good choice of words
You may get lost off with the regular use of MR.A, Mr.B etc to describe people unable to be identified but this book gives a good description of what went on during the troubles of the late 1970's.
You pick up the basic meaning of why the troubles were there and your heart bleeds for the innocent bystanders who got caught up in them.
From an outsider it seems...
Published on 16 Feb 2009 by James A. Craik

versus
6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Author being very one sided on some issues
As someone who lives very near the location of the gruesome butcher murders, i have a very particular interest in this book. The book goes into details about the terrible murders done by these Loyalist paramilitary figures against completey innocent (i should note, non-IRA related) Catholics. The book also goes into detail about the Ring-Leader of the Shankill Butchers,...
Published on 1 Jun 2012 by Ryan


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars butchers is a good choice of words, 16 Feb 2009
By 
James A. Craik "bronzedgod" (north east UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shankill Butchers: A Case Study of Mass Murder (Paperback)
You may get lost off with the regular use of MR.A, Mr.B etc to describe people unable to be identified but this book gives a good description of what went on during the troubles of the late 1970's.
You pick up the basic meaning of why the troubles were there and your heart bleeds for the innocent bystanders who got caught up in them.
From an outsider it seems simple to say, why not sit down together and sort these things out, but it does not work like that and the book is informative that it you can understand how things got out of hand between the catholics and protestants.
Try not to read this book too quickly and digest the facts and you will enjoy it more, its well written and will lead me to read more from this author. He appears unbiased, I dont know if this is true or not but he comes across as sympathising with both sides of the fight.
These were hard times and even the roughest of civilised people will wretch in horror at what man is capable of doing to fellow man in the name of politics or religion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will not be able to put this book down!!!, 23 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This is an awesome read!! I read this book in one day and have read it 3 times altogether, I could not put it down, and keep returning to it because it is just so shocking!!
I currently live in Belfast and have done my whole life. I am 26 yrs old and have NEVER experienced or been mixed up in any part of the troubles, or with any paramilitary groups. Anyone from outside of N. Ireland has serious misconceptions about what goes on here, particularly in Belfast. Essentially in Belfast, there are areas you know well to stay out of, and really you wont find trouble unless you go looking for it!
Martin Dillon is an excellent writer and his research and attention to detail is second to none, although I have been told of more atrocities which are not recorded in this book, but how accurate the information is, I cannot say for sure.
I would recommend this book to anyone (with a strong stomach, as descriptions are very graphic). And would also ask prospective readers to bear in mind that this features only a certain area of Belfast, and not Belfast as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars engrossing but stomach churning, 2 Dec 2001
By 
jt (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Shankill Butchers: A Case Study of Mass Murder (Paperback)
The Troubles in Northern Ireland have provided the unique conditions to turn otherwise ordinary people into killers. However that is not what Lenny Murphy and his gang were by any stretch of the imagination, suggests Dillon....The book is utterly absorbing as it chronicles the way in which the gang not only acted but thought too. If there is one flaw, it is Dillon's urge to record everything in massive detail. What sometimes happens is that peripheral information takes presidence over the central investigation. At one point I was worried he might run out of letters in the alphabet for naming all those who police could not pin involvement on for the crimes (Mr A, Mr B and Mr C etc. Sentences can turn into a scrabble game!) Having said that, there is nothing wrong with being meticulous, but that must be balanced by keeping the reader's attention and focus. Neverthelss this book provides a chilling insight into what makes killers "tick".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for those interested in the troubles, 19 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Shankill Butchers: A Case Study of Mass Murder (Paperback)
Dillon's account of the 'Shankhill Butchers' offers an important and detailed account of the truly shocking and appalling actions of the 'Brown Bear unit', a small, splinter faction of the UVF operating in Belfast through the mid to late 70's.
I read about them in Peter Taylor's 'Loyalists' book. This, itself, is an exceptional read but, as the title suggests, does not always offer detailed information on all of the subjects it covers. It did, however, give enough information for me to want to know more and I'm very pleased I bought the book.
Dillon's writing kept me hooked and I completed the book inside two days (some feat for me!).
It may be that the unforgiving detail of the brutal actions of the 'Butchers' keep you going as opposed to a deep interest in the 'Troubles', but either way it's a well written, detailed and fascinating read...get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing book, 4 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shankill Butchers: A Case Study of Mass Murder (Paperback)
I have relatives who lived through the 'troubles' and told about some of the attrocities perpetrated by some individuals. This book detailed events that happened in and around the area within which my relatives lived. It is a shocking book that details the activities of a sadistic group of people during the 'troubles'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Butchers Review, 7 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Shankill Butchers: A Case Study of Mass Murder (Paperback)
A fantastic insight into some of the brutality and slaying that went on in Northern Ireland in the 1970's, by one paramilitary gang.

A true story about a gang of ruthless madmen who terrorized a city by the horrors they inflicted on their innocent victims. These men were 'Jack the Ripper' multiplied into a unit of one the the most bloodthirsty band of psychopaths ever to cruise the streets of Belfast, Northern Ireland.

All of these terrors went on, and yet mainland Britain knew virtually nothing of of the killings and mutilations, or had even heard of this gang of crazed assassins.

This is one story that MUST be read and MUST be told!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly Brilliant 5 *****, 7 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: The Shankill Butchers: A Case Study of Mass Murder (Paperback)
A brilliant read that goes into detail about the deranged phsycopath Lenny Murphy. Lenny Murphy was tortured mercilessly at school many believeing he was a catholic because of his surname(a sign of the times) ,which was mentioned in another Martin Dillon book as an important reason of many, which helped him develop inhis younger years a bitter hatred towards catholics. Excellently written book by a gifted author and if you have an interest in the troubles, then it is one not to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scary stuff, 5 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Shankill Butchers: A Case Study of Mass Murder (Paperback)
This book goes into fine detail on each killing, and it shows that Lenny Murphy killed as much of his own community as he killed Catholics, the difference is he tortured Catholics before killing them. After reading it, I was terrified of a black taxi pulling up along side me, half expecting to see someone jump out wielding a wheel brace!!! Very gruesome and sickening but worth the read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Shankill Butchers: A Case Study of Mass Murder (Paperback)
An essential backround for anyone interested in The Troubles. Well written and meticulously documented, this book provides a stark and bloody insight into a period of Northern Ireland's history which many would prefer to forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: The Shankill Butchers: A Case Study of Mass Murder (Paperback)
This book is quite simply the best researched and best written book that I have ever read. Truely horrifying but was unable to put it down. A must read for anyone interested in Northern Ireland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shankill Butchers: A Case Study of Mass Murder
The Shankill Butchers: A Case Study of Mass Murder by Martin Dillon (Paperback - 7 Nov 1991)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews