Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A guide to two worlds: inner as well as outer
Sara Wheeler got a first glimpse of Antarctica when she completed her north-to-south journey through Chile ["Travels In A Thin Country"] by visiting the Chilean base on the Antarctic peninsula. She wrote the title of this book on a new notebook as she flew north again from the Chilean base. It took her two years to arrange to return. For the reader, this account of her...
Published on 18 Aug. 2007 by C. Nation

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea.
Sarah Wheeler's 'Terra Incognita' is the account of the writer's relatively recent travels in Antarctica.

I decided to read the book because I was so impressed by Ms wheeler's biography 'Cherry' - an account of the life of Apsley Cherry-Garrard. (see my review) However, I have to say I was rather disappointed with this book which was written in a quite...
Published on 10 Nov. 2012 by John Brain


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of "Terra Incognita" by Sara Wheeler, 28 Jun. 2009
By 
J. J. James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Terra Incognita: Travels in Antarctica (Paperback)
A really excellent novel, beautifully written, gripping and very personal. I would recommend it to anyone, more especially a woman perhaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great condition, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reading this book for part of my module in Travel Writing. I would recommend you read it if you like this sort of this thing?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Antarctica revealed, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terra Incognita: Travels in Antarctica (Paperback)
Sara Wheeler writes extremely well, you feel as though you are there with her, such is her understanding of human responses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 13 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Terra Incognita: Travels in Antarctica (Paperback)
A good critique of the adventures of an Antarctic explorer! A definite for the curious mind or for the brave soles who want to embark on Antarctic travel. An enjoyable contrast between the past (Scott and Shackleton) and the present. A great insight into how the British can have a good booze up and be party animals even on the cold, sublime South Atlantic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any Antarctic enthusiast, 10 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terra Incognita: Travels in Antarctica (Paperback)
Sarah Wheelers travels through the Antarctic are told in a highly readable style with many knowledgeable references to the Polar heroes of the 'heroic age of exploration' and astute and amusing observation on the eccentricities of the modern denizens of that region today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Over rated and hugely disappointing, 30 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Terra Incognita: Travels in Antarctica (Paperback)
I read this before going to Antarctica in the late 90's and even then felt that I was either missing something or that it was very over rated by most reviewers. The book feels more like a book about Sara Wheeler than a book about Antarctica and her opinions on the British base at Rothera do not match my own memories of that base and the reception she received may well say more about her own attitude than the attitudes of those on the base. I recently read it again to see if time would soften my views and let me share the positive experience of others who have read the book but was still very disappointed. The book is very well written but is a good example of style and literary ability not being enough in themselves to compensate for a lack of substance in a travel book and the lasting impression I had is of a rather self centered writer failing to make a connection with me on any level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terra Incognita: Travels in Anarctica by Sara Wheeler, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found it a most exciting books. I had no idea what is going on in Antarctica and Sara Wheeler 's prose was easy to read and informative.
I enjoyed it so much and I have given copies to my son and son-in-law!
Jessica De Michel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My absolute favourite travel book of all time, 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My absolute favourite travel book of all time - Sara Wheeler's writing drove me to realise a long held dram of visiting Antarctica. It's spellblindingly beautiful writing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terra Incognita: Travels in Antarctica (Paperback)
I loved reading about the various areas in Antarctica and the difficulties encountered when living there. Very well written too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 July 2007
This review is from: Terra Incognita: Travels in Antarctica (Paperback)
The author mixes an account of her visit to Antartica with a potted history of exploration around that region. She makes the science interesting and even the daily routines of the people who work on the bases, fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Terra Incognita: Travels in Antarctica
Terra Incognita: Travels in Antarctica by Sara Wheeler (Paperback - 4 Sept. 1997)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews