Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting
Mini treasures are excellent! They fit in a pocket and can be left at the bottom of a handbag for emergencies - as essential as a dummy! This one in particular has become an instant hit. The gentle story is easily read, and the pictures are simple but effective. I may need to buy the bigger version of this book now!
Published on 10 Feb. 2005

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad science
I agree with other reviewers that this tale of hedgehog adventure gives children an insight into why parents sometimes restrict their freedom for their own good. The pictures are beautiful.

But I was disappointed by the book as I was looking for a story which would explain hibernation. The reasons for hibernation are explained a bit here, but then the little...
Published on 8 Nov. 2011 by Emily


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 10 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Winter Hedgehog (Mini Treasure) (Paperback)
Mini treasures are excellent! They fit in a pocket and can be left at the bottom of a handbag for emergencies - as essential as a dummy! This one in particular has become an instant hit. The gentle story is easily read, and the pictures are simple but effective. I may need to buy the bigger version of this book now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Bad science, 8 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winter Hedgehog (Mini Treasure) (Paperback)
I agree with other reviewers that this tale of hedgehog adventure gives children an insight into why parents sometimes restrict their freedom for their own good. The pictures are beautiful.

But I was disappointed by the book as I was looking for a story which would explain hibernation. The reasons for hibernation are explained a bit here, but then the little hedgehog manages to survive a whole winter out and about on his own. Finally he is reunited with his family and then goes to sleep ... but hibernation is not about being tired. In real life the young hedgehog would have died from cold or starvation or predation.

I like a bit of fantasy but I found this book annoying because it seemed to try to explain hibernation but then had a totally unrealistic ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book about self-exploration and soul searching, 11 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Winter Hedgehog (Mini Treasure) (Paperback)
This small, pocket-sized book is not lacking anything due to its size. It contains a story that takes you on a rollercoaster of emotion: hope, fear, anxiety, happiness and many more.
On the surface it is merely a story of a young hodgeheg who decides not to hibernate this winter and his adventures during this period. Between the lines however, one can discern a clear theme of following your own path, doing what feels right for you, regardless of peer pressure. A crucial message indeed.
I was disappointed at the ending, as I felt that it would have been better for the hodgeheg to have found a diffenent answer than what is presented but I suppose the conclusion of a person's self-exploration is the responsibility of the person (or hodgeheg) involved.
What matters most though is that this book exists - a book for children (and adult fans!) that encourages them to do what they wish to, to dream and hope and teaches that sometimes the only way to learn is to go against what is expected and to follow where your heart leads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely, 11 Dec. 2010
By 
M. Garth "Mighty Tree" (Spalding, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winter Hedgehog (Mini Treasure) (Paperback)
Bought for someone who loves childrens illustration and hedgehogs.

A lovely story, and a lovely little book. Good illustrations too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly charming little tale, 19 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Winter Hedgehog (Mini Treasure) (Paperback)
I absolutely adored this book as a child; it was my second favourite book (My first being a book called `Witches Four' by Marc Brown) which I reread over and over. The Winter Hedgehog is a charming little story/animal fable about a rebellious little hedgehog who defies his natural instinct of hibernation and ventures on a journey to `find winter'. This is a definite must read for anyone looking to buy stories to entertain their children and teach them applicable morals for human behavious at the same time. It's also teaches them that despite their anxiousness to go out and experience life for themselves, not to discard the advice of a mother for she usually knows best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very cute, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winter Hedgehog (Mini Treasure) (Paperback)
Very sweet little book, pretty illustrations. Nice for little readers to hold, easy to slip into a pocket or bag for a journey or night away.
Just wondered since when hares lived in burrows though....!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely little book, 15 Feb. 2013
By 
T. LLewellyn "mrsllew" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winter Hedgehog (Mini Treasure) (Paperback)
Bought for my 5 year old. She loved the illustrations and the story of the little hedgehog who wouldn't go to sleep for the winter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Winter Hedgehog (Mini Treasure)
Winter Hedgehog (Mini Treasure) by Ann Cartwright (Paperback - 3 Oct. 1996)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews