Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smart, Sophisticated Thriller
My word, what a superb and versatile writer Mr Winslow is! I read the magnificent 'The Power of the Dog' around a month ago, then tackled 'The Dawn Patrol' last week. Impossible to tell they were written by the same author as they are so different in theme and style. This is also the case with 'Isle of Joy' - one of his earlier books.

It's 1958 and Walter...
Published on 16 July 2009 by G. J. Oxley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very good but a bit slow
I enjoyed this earlier work but thought it was a bit slow getting to the nub of the matter. Notwithstanding this the author holds your attention throughout so you are never tempted to skim and are rewarded for your patience with a well told credible story.
Don Winslow's writing is terrific but if you are new to him I'd maybe start with The Power of the Dog or...
Published on 28 Oct. 2012 by I. B. Pitbladdo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smart, Sophisticated Thriller, 16 July 2009
By 
G. J. Oxley "Gaz" (Tyne & Wear, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Isle Of Joy (Paperback)
My word, what a superb and versatile writer Mr Winslow is! I read the magnificent 'The Power of the Dog' around a month ago, then tackled 'The Dawn Patrol' last week. Impossible to tell they were written by the same author as they are so different in theme and style. This is also the case with 'Isle of Joy' - one of his earlier books.

It's 1958 and Walter Withers is a CIA agent who operates in Sweden. He's a sort of 'whoremaster' - setting-up honey traps in order to implicate the people he's after. Unfortunately he outstays his welcome and is sent back to his home city of New York where he lives with his woman, Anne Blanchard - a notable jazz singer. Walter is ostensibly employed by Forbes & Forbes, an investigative agency, when he's asked to mind a senator's wife - Madelaine Kenneally - at a major shindig in New York. It turns out to be a far from ordinary 'gig' however...

I don't want to give anything of the complex plot away, because I think you should read it yourself to see just how good this marvelous writer is. It begins fairly slowly, then builds and builds as all the various elements of the storyline coalesce. It's also fun spotting the obvious similarities between Madelaine's husband Joe and a certain future US President who was assassinated in 1963.

Winslow brilliantly captures the sophisticated, and sometimes not so sophisticated, jazzy night life of the Big Apple. It's a stylish and ultra clever slice of noir that has at least two or three surprising twists at the end that had me grinning appreciatively: the author tied up EVERY loose end to my intense satisfaction. Walter is a brilliantly drawn character - a very clever man who manages to keep half a dozen plates spinning at the same time and who always has a sophisticated wisecrack at hand to talk his way INTO trouble.

I am now hungry for more Don Winslow and intend seeking out everything else he has written; he's the best "new" author I've discovered in the past two years.

The book's title by the way comes from the lyrics of the old standard 'Manhattan' by Rodgers and Hart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling and entertaining, 21 Mar. 2009
By 
Niels Holst "Scorpion" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Isle Of Joy (Paperback)
Don Winslow is a marvellous writer, until now I have not read a dull book from him - the same I can say about this title - One can understand that the writer has make some intensive researches on the subject before he wrote the book - when you have startet reading the book it is hard to stop before you are through the book and I think thats what make a book really enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a fine read, 7 Aug. 2012
By 
Rob Kitchin - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Isle Of Joy (Paperback)
Winslow is one of those rare writers that is relatively sparse with prose and yet fully visualises a scene in the mind of the reader. His characters are fully formed, complex, engaging, and have emotional depth. The dialogue is realistic and pitch perfect. The balance between story and back story is just right. And the historical context of McCarthy/Hoover era 1958 is well judged. The Keneallys - the womanising Joe, the protective Jimmy, and the beautiful Madeline, are well realised mimics of the Jack, Bob and Jackie Kennedy, which gives most of the story its seeming authenticity. I loved everything about this book except for the end, which spiralled to the farcical. Winslow tries to take every character in the book and weave them into a sequence which was largely unnecessary except as a narrative device and became more and more improbable. For me this was a shame, as Winslow is undoubtedly a very fine writer and the Isle of Joy was for the main a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book of Joy, 15 Dec. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isle Of Joy (Paperback)
When an author has their back catalogue republished it is not always a good thing. On some occasions the older books are ones that the author wishes to forget as they are yet to mature as a writer. However, in the case of Don Winslow his reissued books prove that he is one of the best contemporary crime authors around.

`Isle of Joy' is another slice of noir masterwork from Winslow. Unlike his most recent books, which have had modern settings, `Joy' is set in 1958 and it invokes imagery of Capote, Jazz and the Cold War. As is the norm for the author `Joy' is a book that takes its time to rise to the boil. However, Winslow is so effective at creating wonderful sights, sounds and experiences that you wish that even the slowest sections would last forever. Apart from a blip in the overlong American Football section this book is near faultless. With its period setting and lack of extreme action it's not the type of book I would have thought I would have enjoyed. However, Winslow is surly a genius when it comes to crime and he has fast become my all time favourite author.

Do yourself a favour and read this book - or the sublime `Power of the Dog'.

Sammy recommendation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pacey historical-ish thriller, 15 Jun. 2008
By 
Nick (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Isle Of Joy (Paperback)
A fun mix of thinly veiled historical characters (a priapic young Democractic presidential hopeful whose name starts with the letters K E N E... anyone?)and Cold War betrayals, this is yet another unputdownable read from the always hugely enjoyable Don Winslow. It's not his best book, but once you've read the others (and try not to mistake him for the other Don Winslow, who writes erotica...), come back and give this a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very good but a bit slow, 28 Oct. 2012
By 
I. B. Pitbladdo "jacandian" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isle Of Joy (Paperback)
I enjoyed this earlier work but thought it was a bit slow getting to the nub of the matter. Notwithstanding this the author holds your attention throughout so you are never tempted to skim and are rewarded for your patience with a well told credible story.
Don Winslow's writing is terrific but if you are new to him I'd maybe start with The Power of the Dog or California Fire and Life, both excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An unusual storyline, 6 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Isle Of Joy (Paperback)
So far Don Winslow is my favourite read. This book was very different fron the others I've read but a great read. He is a consumate writer & follows no patterns. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isle Of Joy (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mmmmm..., 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isle Of Joy (Paperback)
Not a typical Winslow novel.
This is very different from other books and a very slow burner. Not finished yet as can't sty awake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Isle Of Joy
Isle Of Joy by Don Winslow (Paperback - 1 Feb. 1996)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews