Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A FASCINATING NEW INSIGHT INTO THE HISTORY OF THE FREEMASONS
This is one of the great key-stone books of the popular history/religion genre.
The Hiram Key combines an interesting review of the history with some compelling theories, fascinating new ideas, and informed speculation.
The book is essentially a review of the mysterious history of freemasonry in the light of information from ancient Egypt and Christian...
Published on 4 Oct 2001 by Tim Acheson

versus
15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "It's stories I'm telling you"
Like one of the previous reviewers I have come to realise that this book has it's pitfalls. Poorly squared conclusions, leaps of imagination and to an extent an agenda that drives the narrative. But to those who attack it's content with all the vigour of the inquisition I would say this, "what are you so scared of?"

It is obvious to the discerning reader, as...
Published on 28 Sep 2006 by ark


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A FASCINATING NEW INSIGHT INTO THE HISTORY OF THE FREEMASONS, 4 Oct 2001
By 
Tim Acheson (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hiram Key: Pharoahs,Freemasons and the Discovery of the Secret Scrolls of Christ (Paperback)
This is one of the great key-stone books of the popular history/religion genre.
The Hiram Key combines an interesting review of the history with some compelling theories, fascinating new ideas, and informed speculation.
The book is essentially a review of the mysterious history of freemasonry in the light of information from ancient Egypt and Christian scripture. A revised version of historical events is proposed, and some intriguing solutions offered to some unanswered questions.
The authors argue their points so confidently that the less sceptical reader might be convinced by everything they read. The purpose of this text is to present a new theory, rather than consider the opposing arguments. The reader should explore other sources for additional evidence to balance the author's arguments.
I strongly recommend this book to anyone interested in secret societies, history, or religion - especially freemasonry, ancient Egypt, Christianity, or the knights templar.
You'll enjoy reading this fascinating book and perhaps learn a little bit of history too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ, 17 Nov 2003
By 
N Simner "Mark" (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hiram Key: Pharoahs,Freemasons and the Discovery of the Secret Scrolls of Christ (Paperback)
This is the first of a series of 4 books co-authored by Lomas and Knight. As with all their books it is very well written and extremely well researched. It is also controversial to say the least but with their arguements so well made and backed up with so much evidence you will end up being convinced of their theories.
Although this book started out as a look into the history of Freemasonary it actually turns into a close look at the bible and makes you totally re-evauluate your views on Christianity. Jesus may not be who we think he is.
One word of warning though, you need to be open minded! If you are a staunch Christian you may find it a difficult read. On the other hand if you enjoy it you will want to read their other books which continue their research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind-altering book, 22 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hiram Key: Pharoahs,Freemasons and the Discovery of the Secret Scrolls of Christ (Paperback)
Other reviews convey the sense of astonishment I felt when I first read this book. It really is shattering and can change the whole way you look at life, history and Christianity. However, to me the book has a fatal flaw. Each step in their argument (from modern freemasonry back to the king-making ceremonies of Ancient Egypt) seems reasonable in itself, but there is a lack of hard evidence to link the whole series of suppositions into a convincing theory. What is stated as a possible or even likely supposition on one page becomes an undisputed fact on the next, and stages of the argument are built up in this way. This is not good scholarship, even if it makes a very readable and exciting book. All the way through reading it, I wanted to shout "how do you know that?" or "prove it!" I think there is a lot of truth in what the authors say, and I think they have stumbled on a very interesting line of enquiry, but I am not yet 100% convinced. Having said all that, it's still a fantastic book that will change your life, and I recommend it to every thinking person. Freemasons especially will find the book of interest, as Grand Lodge seems to discourage this kind of research for people genuinely interested in the history of the Craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT! A BREAKTHROUGH BOOK!, 8 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hiram Key: Pharoahs,Freemasons and the Discovery of the Secret Scrolls of Christ (Paperback)
The Hiram Key sets you off in freethinking mode. It challenges the scared beliefs of Christendom and tells of the secret king making rituals of the Egyptians.
It's amazing to find that the origins of the Freemasons stem back to almost the beginning of civilisation itself.
The book covers many things from Christianity, Freemasonry and Rites and Rituals of Freemasonry to the knig making rituals of the Egyptians.
I gave this book 4 stars instead of five because a few of the chapters are quite boring for the reader to read and also because the book is presented in a slighly different context to what I am used to.
The authors talk about one subject, then go back in time in later chapters to find answers to their questions. Then they come back to their original time period. This can be annoying because the reader might forget some vital information about this question, which was covered in the first chapters of the book.
I also found the first Appendix quite tedious, but on the whole the book is rather good.
I found it rather informative and mostly easy to follow, although I do not agree with some of the authors findings. This book is a must for people who are interested in History,Judaism, Freemasonry, Christainity or occult in general.
I would also not recommend this book to any Christians, unless they are freethinkers of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dispite the holes, a great read!, 9 May 2001
By 
Matt Davis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hiram Key: Pharoahs,Freemasons and the Discovery of the Secret Scrolls of Christ (Paperback)
The problem that the authors have is that their research, whilst passionate, extensive and (to a certain degree) well grounded, does not follow traditional scientific methods. It merely leaps from one hypothesis to another with balletic grace. The trouble is that, to the layman, it all makes perfect sense.
The best route is to read it, then go out and search for the dis-proof of its hypothesis. There are some errors, some howlers, but it's very hard to rubbish any of the underlying messages.
Worth a thorough read, whatever your point of view. Who knows - they may be right! <g>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some here, some there, 13 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hiram Key: Pharoahs,Freemasons and the Discovery of the Secret Scrolls of Christ (Paperback)
I have read all the writings of these authors, as well as a great deal of background history for over 15 years dealing with all the current related subjects. I wish to say that those overly critical of The Hiram Key are forgetting that the authors clearly qualify the work as one of theory. Merely picking out weaker points of the aurguments to dismiss the more reliable parts is disingenuous and probably the product of a threatened Christian mind, as I have personally found to be the usual case. If one goes on to read the authors subsequent work, the reader will find an increasingly scholarly aproach with input provided, often voluntarily, by recognized authorities. The bibliography also increases in subsequent publications. Readers who dismiss the whole because of weak passages strike me as habitual hook-line-and-sinker thinkers; they swallow it all, or none at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Mind-blowing, 16 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hiram Key: Pharoahs,Freemasons and the Discovery of the Secret Scrolls of Christ (Paperback)
I read this book with an open mind,and if the authors are correct I can only hope that the Truth is made known to the world. You will never look at Christianity in the same way again. A fascinating, very well researched and put together book, but one which begs 2 questions - where is the solid proof to make the jump from hypothesis to fact, and how can this Truth be made known to all?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Challenge to Christianity, but sensible, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a replacement for an earlier, well worn and read, copy! Recommended to all who have questioning minds. The research and conclusions will not suit or please everyone, but its honest opinions and good reasoning behind the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A truly fascinating and well researched book about ancient history and its survival through the ages.

I have read several books on Gnostic knowledge but this is by far the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great product, good price and very fast delivery.Value for money and accurately described.
would recommend to others. Chose rating as satisfaction value to myself and others I have purchased for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hiram Key: Pharoahs,Freemasons and the Discovery of the Secret Scrolls of Christ
6.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews