Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful don't miss this book
this book rates as one of my son's favourite books - and we have a great selection here- it is ideal for 3-6 year olds even if they are not mad about trains
it tells the story of an eventful journey this little steam train takes to bring relief to a snowbound village
the illustrations are wonderful - witty, colourful and exciting and vividly bring to life an era...
Published on 7 Feb 2001

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Needed rescuing
This was a poor copy. I didn't expect this. Front pages have been stuck together and ripped apart again. Not impressed. This has put me off buying used books in future. This was my first attempt. I will stick to new from now on. I threw it in the bin as I didn't want to give it to my son.
Published 14 months ago by Jo Hobbs


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful don't miss this book, 7 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Little Red Train: To The Rescue (Paperback)
this book rates as one of my son's favourite books - and we have a great selection here- it is ideal for 3-6 year olds even if they are not mad about trains
it tells the story of an eventful journey this little steam train takes to bring relief to a snowbound village
the illustrations are wonderful - witty, colourful and exciting and vividly bring to life an era of country living which has almost gone and is totally unfamiliar to the vast majority of town born children
as the mother of 4 children who all love books i cannot rate this one highly enough
buy it
the text is lyrical, funny with just the right amount of repetitive train sounds ideal for a child to join in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars friendly and stimulating, 15 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Little Red Train: To The Rescue (Paperback)
The story is very simple and the illustrations are very detailed allowing children to dicover something new all the time.
The story repeats itself and the very young children will enjoy pretending to read it.
It stimulates discussion between the adult and the child.
A great book for pre-school children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Red train, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Red Train: To The Rescue (Paperback)
These excellent books are adored by small children. Apart from the interesting stories, the wonderfully detailed illustrations give an opportunity to expand a child's powers of observation and increases their knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Red Train To the Rescue, 19 Feb 2013
By 
N. Morris "MojoMoza" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Red Train: To The Rescue (Paperback)
These Little Red Train books are lovely, and my boy adores them. A good story for a preschool book, but its the pictures that set them apart. Beautifully detailed - always something new to spot and talk about with my son, who has to read one each night (and I mean I have to read one EVERY night!). We have the whole set and they are standing the test of time.

This is probably my favorite of them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sweet book for train mad young children, 13 Oct 2011
By 
Emma W (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Little Red Train: To The Rescue (Paperback)
This is a story about the little red train and his driver, Duffy, going on a journey. They encounter lots of bad weather and problems on the line as they go, but each time, Duffy and the little red train solve the problem, helping the passengers finally get to their destination. There is lots of repetition (including some good steam train noises!) and the illustrations are very detailed so there is lots to look at. A great bed time book and a hit with my 3 year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jack and Duffy!, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Red Train: To The Rescue (Paperback)
Just the same as always,
Jack, Duffy and the cat, save the day!
My grandson loves it, and so do I!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars all fine, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Red Train: To The Rescue (Paperback)
my boy loves these stories, thank you for a speedy delivery.
good quality as were used...overall happy with the service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for car journeys, 1 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We have had this for few months, and our children (5 and 2) are still not bored of this. Pictures in all the books of this series are excellent, lots to look at, lots to find and added bonus of audio CD was a good choice. CD last aproximately 20 mins. Story is first read normally and then is followed by second track which prompts chidren to turn pages. With sounds effects of trains, but i must say those are little bit louder than the read word which i find unncessary, but boys are happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely illustrations, 12 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Little Red Train: To The Rescue (Paperback)
My son requests re-reads of this story all the time. The illustrations are just wonderful, you see new things all the time. After reading the story my son often lies in bed just poring over the pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 7 Jan 2011
Another lovely book from the Little Red Train series. Lots of detail and keeps my son entertained for hours. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb21a00cc)

This product

The Little Red Train: To The Rescue
The Little Red Train: To The Rescue by Benedict Blathwayt (Paperback - 4 Jun 1998)
5.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews