Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and tragic...
This book begins at the end of the Romanov story, with their execution in Ekaterinburg in 1917. It is effectively about what happened afterwards: the discovery of the gravesite, the attempts to identify the bodies, the mystery over the missing bodies, the various individuals claiming over the years to be the missing Tsarevich and Anastasia, such as the famous Anna...
Published on 25 May 2012 by C. Ball

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wanted to give it more
I had bought Massie's books on Peter the Great, Catherine the Great and Nicholas & Alexandra and saw this available at a very cheap price on Kindle. I bought it 'to complete the set' and it was ok. There is a lot of very technical information about DNA that you can get lost in but it is written in a way that keeps you moving forward. I would have given it a fourth tick...
Published 8 months ago by DCheyside


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and tragic..., 25 May 2012
By 
C. Ball (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Romanovs: The Final Chapter (Paperback)
This book begins at the end of the Romanov story, with their execution in Ekaterinburg in 1917. It is effectively about what happened afterwards: the discovery of the gravesite, the attempts to identify the bodies, the mystery over the missing bodies, the various individuals claiming over the years to be the missing Tsarevich and Anastasia, such as the famous Anna Anderson, the political factions fighting for control of the bodies, the fate of the surviving Romanovs.

It's a very good read, although I recognise a lot of the material from Massie's Nicholas & Alexandra - some passages are almost identical. But I suppose authors are allowed to plagiarise themselves! I could have done with less of an in-depth look into the science of DNA testing and forensic pathology, but I understand the necessity of it.

I understand there is an updated version of this book due to be published in the autumn this year, which will obviously address one or two of the issues I had with this book, namely that a lot has happened since it was published in 1995! The mystery of the two missing bodies - the Tsarevich and one of the young Grand Duchesses - has been resolved with the discovery of two bodies in 2007, subsequently proved to be the two missing children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reads like a mystery!, 18 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you don't know the story yet, then this book reads like a mystery. Even if you do, it's worth a read. It is an excellent look into how forensic anthropology can solve some of history's greatest mysteries. Robert K. Massie's book is a little outdated, as since 2007 all 11 bodies have now been found, but the story of the discovery of the first 9 and the subsequent quest to identify them is still fascinating.

He spends a large part of the book on the mystery of Anna Anderson and the DNA tests to identify her, but since then another book has come out The Resurrection of the Romanovs: Anastasia, Anna Anderson, and the World's Greatest Royal Mystery which details this drama to a much larger degree. It may be worth it to read this book first, for an overview, and then tackle the other. However, in this book Massie also mentions some other "children of the tsar" which appeared here and there, and they are also worth reading about.

All in all, I would recommend this book, especially if the story of the Romanov's intrigues you, but it is great just as a mystery story, albeit a true one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wanted to give it more, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had bought Massie's books on Peter the Great, Catherine the Great and Nicholas & Alexandra and saw this available at a very cheap price on Kindle. I bought it 'to complete the set' and it was ok. There is a lot of very technical information about DNA that you can get lost in but it is written in a way that keeps you moving forward. I would have given it a fourth tick but because of the date of authorship a lot of the information has been superseded and a quick internet search can give you up to date information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dry, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this might be a summary of what finally happened to the Romanovs with some background, but what you get us all the infighting of the scientists and experts that examined th bones and all the cranks who claimed to have survived the executions. A book that really did not need to be written like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Macabre Tale, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A somewhat macabre tale, due to the real life tragedy. I wasn't sure after the first few chapters of the book if I could go on to finish it, such was the gruesomeness of the tale. But it became another story, a piecing together of what really happened, and the eventual use of DNA testing to establish whether or not those who purported to be survivors of this massacre were genuine or not. It does get bogged down a bit in the minutiae of DNA testing, and which camp was the most prestigious to be able to carry out the task, but in the end I was really pleased to have read it, and to learn of the mystery solved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There will never be a final chapter, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very interesting book with lots of nooks and cranny's regarding this family. It put another spin on things and goes to prove unless you were there who knows
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but..., 12 May 2014
By 
Helen (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is more for students of forensics than history, with more attention paid to body identification than anything else. I wish there had been something a little further on the (presumably) ongoing search for the two missing bodies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Readable but not as compelling as hs original work, 15 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Romanovs: The Final Chapter (Paperback)
This book should ONLY be read as a follow on to Nicholas and Alexandra. It answers alot of questions, for whch I am grateful. I do not believe the author should re-write his orginal work as it was written from the heart on what was fact at the time. I read many biographies and I judge all of them on the work of Robert K Massie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the final chapter, 5 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a very concise book about the death of the romanof family . more a student of russian history book than a ordanry reader, but the i love history and have found this book very good at explaning all the background wether the romanofs lived or died ,and also explanes about all the tsar daughters even the ones that were fakes, a bit dry but bursting with facts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful summary of the final investigation, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was helpful in summarising the finding of almost all of the Romanov corpses and detailing the incomprehensible professional rivalries around the professionals working in the area.

The information on Anna Anderson was interesting too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Romanovs: The Final Chapter
The Romanovs: The Final Chapter by Robert K. Massie (Paperback - 3 Oct. 1996)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews