Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner by Cathy Woodman xXx
After reading Cathy Woodman’s short story The Three of Us which is about the characters in Follow Me Home I couldn’t wait to get started.

The village midwife Zara has recently divorced from her husband and life just seems to be on a low. Having been afraid of dogs for so long the last thing Zara expected to change her life would be her new dog...
Published 7 months ago by realovesbooks

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not her finest work...
I was disappointed with this one. I am a huge fan, and to be fair, it would have been good enough coming from any old chick lit author, but it didn't do Cathy justice. Too much smouldering and not quite but nearly onstage sex (I've shared all the others with my daughter but won't be sharing this one) and oblique references to Fifty Shades of Grey, plus endless stuff about...
Published 5 months ago by Jackie Bridgen


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner by Cathy Woodman xXx, 26 April 2014
By 
realovesbooks (South east London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
After reading Cathy Woodman’s short story The Three of Us which is about the characters in Follow Me Home I couldn’t wait to get started.

The village midwife Zara has recently divorced from her husband and life just seems to be on a low. Having been afraid of dogs for so long the last thing Zara expected to change her life would be her new dog Frosty who she found abandoned. Frosty proves to be a handful but help is at hand in the form of her sisters Shepherd Lewis but it is quite clear that Lewis has an ulterior motive to helping with Frosty but has Zara been burned for life?

Zara was such a warm friendly character who I instantly adored which I often find with Cathy Woodmans female leads she manages to create such normal but loving ladies that you can’t help but warm to. I loved seeing a variety of characters from past Talyton St George books, it gave the book a familiar feel and it was great to be able to see what has been happening to the characters. I loved Poppy in this book she is struggling to adjust with having a baby sister and some of the things she does and comments she makes were quite comical.

The storyline was a joy to read and was easy to follow, it does cover some realistic topics to do with pregnancies such as infertility and teenage pregnancies as well as coping with dementia too which were all covered really well but didn’t make the book a deep read it was still a light cosy read. Although I am not a big animal lover I can’t help but love all of Cathy Woodman’s books she always manages to bring the animals into the storyline but yet still make the storylines completely different so they don’t feel repetitive.

I loved this book just as much as the authors previous books I hope that Cathy Woodman continues to create more stories for us in the village of Talyton St George.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not her finest work..., 12 July 2014
I was disappointed with this one. I am a huge fan, and to be fair, it would have been good enough coming from any old chick lit author, but it didn't do Cathy justice. Too much smouldering and not quite but nearly onstage sex (I've shared all the others with my daughter but won't be sharing this one) and oblique references to Fifty Shades of Grey, plus endless stuff about rippling muscles made it all feel a bit menopausal and steamy.
I shall still be pre-ordering the next one, as I'm confident she'll get over it, but not her finest hour, this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Warm-hearted, enjoyable and simply irresistible!, 19 Aug 2014
Midwife Zara has got a lot on her plate at the moment. Not only does she have the rigours and demands of her job as a community midwife to contend with, but she’s also helping her Gran look after the village newsagent and is getting over the breakdown of her marriage to Paul. Further complications are the last things Zara needs at the moment – especially as her twin sister has just given birth and her Gran is getting increasingly forgetful. Romance is definitely not on the agenda for Zara, but the amiable midwife cannot help but be attracted to her brother in law’s newest employee, Lewis. The sexy shepherd is nothing like her ex. Lewis is kind, caring, drop dead gorgeous – and 23 years old! Zara is well aware that a relationship with Lewis is out of the question, but what’s the harm in indulging in a bit of harmless flirtation?

Nobody is more shocked than Zara when Lewis tells her that he’s attracted to her as well. After splitting up with her husband, Zara’s confidence was at all time low, but a no strings affair with the sexy shepherd soon puts the spring back in her step. The more time Zara spends with Lewis, the more she finds herself falling madly in love with him. But with old insecurities and never healed wounds still weighing her down, is she ready to let go of the past and embrace her future?

When Lewis had come to Talyton St. George for a spot of casual work, he never imagined that he would not only find a place to finally call home, but that he would find himself falling head over heels in love with the local midwife! Zara is nothing like the women he usually goes for. Not only is she smart and intelligent, but she’s got a heart of gold and a generous spirit that has completely and utterly enraptured him. Lewis might only be twenty-three years old, but he cannot imagine being with anybody else but Zara. Yet, despite telling her how much he loves her, Zara cannot seem to shake off this feeling that they are completely wrong for each other!

Will Lewis be able to prove to Zara that age is just a number and that the only thing that matters to him is her happiness? Will his love heal Zara’s bruised heart? Or will she continue to let past fears condemn her to a lifetime of loneliness?

Follow Me Home is an engaging, engrossing and wonderfully compelling tale about putting your heart on the line, taking a chance on love and the magic of unexpected romance that will keep you spellbound from beginning to end. Cathy Woodman writes with such joy, verve and panache about the gorgeous village of Talyton St George that you feel as if you are a part of this splendid community.

Follow Me Home has at its heart a tender and poignant love story that will touch your heart and tickle your funny bone. Zara is a wonderfully believable heroine women everywhere will relate to and Lewis is a gorgeous hero you cannot help but swoon over! The book also has several intriguing sub-plots about the residents of Talyton St George that will keep you on the edge of your seat wondering what’s going to happen next.

Whether this is your first visit to Talyton St George or your eighth, one thing is for certain: once you begin one of Cathy Woodman’s books, you will not be able to stop yourself from succumbing to the magic of the most enchanting village in England!

This review was originally posted on Single Titles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not her best. Lewis has just left and I think I ..., 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Follow Me Home: (Talyton St George) (Talyton St George 8) (Paperback)
Not her best . Lewis has just left and I think I am going to throw the book away and not finish it . The male lead is a 24 yr old who got drunk, "burped a beery burp"? and ate a flower at the restaurant ? Unbelievable characters .The premise of the grandmother with dementia was also distracting and not believable. References to Fifty Shades of Grey were not necessary. Am really disappointed. Cathy's books normally feel "warm", but this was cold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like tea and cake with friends., 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Cathy Woodman’s books and the most recent, Follow Me Home, does not disappoint. It is a heart-warming story featuring Zara, a midwife, as the central character along with the usual assortment of vets, farmers and animals.

Once again set in the fictional village of Talyton St George, several familiar characters make an appearance giving regular readers an opportunity to catch up with favourites from previous novels. Fab read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Couldn't wait for this new title to arrive!!! So sad I've finished
It already great to meet some new people in this book but also catch up on the progress of some from the previous
books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written, 5 Nov 2014
This review is from: Follow Me Home: (Talyton St George) (Talyton St George 8) (Paperback)
I don't like leaving negative views of books and don't mean to be unkind but I thought this was a very poorly written book. I am honestly very surprised at all these glowing reviews and wondering if some of them are even fake? I gave the book to my mum to get her opinion thinking perhaps I was being too harsh but she described it as 'very poorly written with no feeling' and like me wasn't able to finish it. We both felt like the characters were somewhat robotic and their behaviour seemed odd and not in line with their character. At times it's also hard to tell who is saying what during sections of dialogue between characters. Perhaps Cathy Woodman's other books are better but unfortunately this one is going to the charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars there are more new people in each book which i ..., 26 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
there are more new people in each book which i understand though it was enjoyable maz and alex seem to have been forgotten and alex perminante assistant seems to of been forgotten. for a small village they do have a lot of vets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cows in Devon, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always enjoy Cathy's books and the interesting bit here was a new animal- looking after cows. I must admit they are not my favourite beast being somewhat dominating on walks however this story was fascinating about the problems of running a local farm in deepest Devon with little help. I found the male romantic lead a little anonymous but the female farmer was someone most people would warm to easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Follows on nicely from the other Talyton St George books., 19 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Follow Me Home: (Talyton St George) (Talyton St George 8) (Paperback)
I have read all the Talyton St George books and this one was just as pleasing. Believable characters but the plot is one that you can almost know how it will end. Trouble is if it didn't end like that you could be disappointed. I feel as if I know all the occupants of the Devon village now, and loving the real Devon itself as I do, you can imagine the back ground to the story well. Good light read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Follow Me Home: (Talyton St George) (Talyton St George 8)
Follow Me Home: (Talyton St George) (Talyton St George 8) by Cathy Woodman (Paperback - 31 July 2014)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews