Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars1,369
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2014
How the film differs from the horror of truth! This book should be a compulsory. Being of similar age, I met two Japanese prisoner of war camp victims during my life and there is nothing to be said - read the book - they couldn't write!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
I have given this 5 stars, unfortunately there are not enough stars in the galaxy to put against this man. What he went through was dreadful, we should never forget what men, and women of that time endured.

I note a film has been made of this mans life starring Colin Firth(?) I hope they do him justice.
This should be compulsory reading in schools, it might make many think before complaining about being hard done by.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
Great story of reality, and great example of forgiveness shown by Eric Lomax. Especially when he found out that the Japanese interpreter felt the same and strived to appease his conscience. How do government leaders deal with it as they are the ones that send " our Hero's " into battle?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2012
It was very interesting to read about the difficulties and adversity faced by prisoners of war. He recounts his experiences in a vivid clear way and it is hard to beleive that humans would do such things to other humans, but of course it all happened and more. A good read and will look forward to the film starring Colin Firth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
I bought this book to read long before it was released as a film, I have many books on the subject of the plight and largely forgotten plight of the Japanese POW's. A family member was tortured on the "railway"
This book is a remarkable, honest and harrowing account of one man's experience and how he tried to come to terms with it in the following years. A book we should all read and then look in the mirror and question ourselves.
If you "enjoyed" the book you would also appreciate "The prisoner list" by Richard Kandler.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
I was worried about seeing this at the cinema in case it was too brutal so am really pleased to have read his account of the horrors of that campaign and how his boyhood interests ended up getting him into a truly terrible situation .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
A very informative, gripping true life story written by a POW and his dreadful experiences in the brutal hands of the Japanese in Thailand during the Second World War. His narrative is compelling and I couldn't put it down. A wonderful tribute, really, to these incredibly brave men.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
After the rather ordinary start which gives Erics Scottish background and early life, this book progresses to his disturbing war experiences in Malaya and Thailand as a Japanese prisoner of war, and becomes unputdownable. The final part of the book completes the story with his search for retribution, but finds him getting peace of mind from an unexpected source. A very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
once past the first chapter (unless you are a railways buff) the book is an astonishing and riveting account of the cruelty man is capable of inflicting on his fellows.The compassionate conclusion restores faith in humanity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
I recently worked on the movie with Colin Firth and I was compelled to read the original book by Eric Lomax, who during World War 2 was captured and sent to a Japanese prisoner of war camp to be put to work on the Burma railway. Lomax was a communications and radio engineer and whilst in captivity he and his comrades managed to build a radio receiver to help them learn about the status of the war around them. However, the Japanese became suspicious that they were actually transmitting messages to the Thai's to help arrange an escape and tortured and inprisoned Lomax and his friends making them suffer violent beatings and conditions.

This book is an autobiographical look at Lomax's incarceration, his life prior to the War and how he dealt with his situation after the Wars conclusion. This includes meeting a Japanese interpreter present at his torture and how they help each other to overcome some of their bitter emotions.

This is a real insight into how the prisoners were treated and the conditions they were subjected to and although I felt I knew about these horrors it really brought the reality home to me of what they suffered.

makes it hard to watch the likes of The Bridge Over The River Kwai knowing how horrible it really got.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)