Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars1,369
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2014
History can be cruel and sadistic. When witten by the person for whom it was a reality, I am not sure there are relevant adjectives. I only hope that future generations learn from people like Eric Lomax. Thank you Eric.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
Got swept away with this story. Very well written and it picks you up and sweeps you back in time. Will go see the film now, but can't imagine they can possibly capture the essence of the book in under 2 hour film. These stories are getting less and less as the heroes are all passing away.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2014
Surprisingly good read. I say surprisingly because much of the earlier part of the book concerns Eric's upbringing and his love of the steam locomotive. Though i am old enough to remember them, i have very little interest in them but the story is told in such a way as to enable you to understand his feelings for them. Once he becomes a P.O.W. there are some very disturbing passages in the book that had me using a few expletives! On the whole, i would certainly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
Better than I imagined, a very moving and compelling read. I am a post war baby and still learning a lot about what happened at that time, this is a very interesting and sometimes painfully detailed book, with touches of black humour. Appalling lack of humanity is hard to imagine.. Read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
How the film differs from the horror of truth! This book should be a compulsory. Being of similar age, I met two Japanese prisoner of war camp victims during my life and there is nothing to be said - read the book - they couldn't write!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
What an excellent book. Unlike the film, it gives a full background of Eric from his younger days in Edinburgh., his reasons for joining up and being sent to Singapore. It then continues with his horrendous years in captivity and the sometimes degrading and brutal torture he withstood. I asked myself many times during this period if I would have had the capacity to withstand what he went through. It continues after the war with his attempts to come to terms with his situation and memories and ends in a delightful forgiveness to the one man he had hated for so long. A truly tremendous piece of work well written and full of pain, degradation and at times humour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
I have given this 5 stars, unfortunately there are not enough stars in the galaxy to put against this man. What he went through was dreadful, we should never forget what men, and women of that time endured.

I note a film has been made of this mans life starring Colin Firth(?) I hope they do him justice.
This should be compulsory reading in schools, it might make many think before complaining about being hard done by.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
Great story of reality, and great example of forgiveness shown by Eric Lomax. Especially when he found out that the Japanese interpreter felt the same and strived to appease his conscience. How do government leaders deal with it as they are the ones that send " our Hero's " into battle?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2012
It was very interesting to read about the difficulties and adversity faced by prisoners of war. He recounts his experiences in a vivid clear way and it is hard to beleive that humans would do such things to other humans, but of course it all happened and more. A good read and will look forward to the film starring Colin Firth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
I bought this book to read long before it was released as a film, I have many books on the subject of the plight and largely forgotten plight of the Japanese POW's. A family member was tortured on the "railway"
This book is a remarkable, honest and harrowing account of one man's experience and how he tried to come to terms with it in the following years. A book we should all read and then look in the mirror and question ourselves.
If you "enjoyed" the book you would also appreciate "The prisoner list" by Richard Kandler.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)