Customer Reviews


1,114 Reviews
5 star:
 (825)
4 star:
 (211)
3 star:
 (56)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


163 of 169 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A harrowing though ultimately uplifting account.
This account of the author's experiences as a Japanese prisoner of war is, as you'd expect, a fairly harrowing one. But what lifts this remarkable tale is the book's humanity and compassion, and the tenderness of its narrative.
Whether Eric Lomax is re-living his childhood fascination with steam locomotives and trams, or describing the horrendous, inhuman acts of...
Published on 21 April 2004 by A. B. Pearl

versus
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Story
Very well written account of the SE Asia theatre of WW2.
'Into the Valley of Death rode the 600' has not much on the 50,000 into the Jungle railroad of Burma.
For me historically informative as indeed a Signals Officer is well placed to be.
Puts a completely different perspective on 'The Bridge over the River Kwai'. Authors comment on the film,...
Published 10 months ago by Declan Gray


‹ Previous | 1 2112 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

163 of 169 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A harrowing though ultimately uplifting account., 21 April 2004
By 
A. B. Pearl "A Pearl" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Railway Man (Paperback)
This account of the author's experiences as a Japanese prisoner of war is, as you'd expect, a fairly harrowing one. But what lifts this remarkable tale is the book's humanity and compassion, and the tenderness of its narrative.
Whether Eric Lomax is re-living his childhood fascination with steam locomotives and trams, or describing the horrendous, inhuman acts of torture, the prose are consistently imbued with an almost poetic and innocent sense of wonder.
The details, observations and character sketches are authentically andvividly drawn. But it is the final passages of this book which document the author's determination to come face to face with one of his torturers, that make this extaordinary book so moving, compelling and ultimately uplifting.
Alex Pearl, author of 'Sleeping with the Blackbirds'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant story of courage and reconciliation, 1 Jun 2005
By 
Timothy De Ferrars (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Railway Man (Paperback)
Eric Lomax, like many young men of his generation, had a love for steam railways that bordered on an obsession. It was ironic then that he ended up as a prisoner of war on the notorious Burma Railroad, enduring torture and experiencing dreadful war crimes perpetrated against Allied prisoners.
This poignant book plays with the reader's emotions, first stoking up outrage at the appalling treatment meted out to this gentle man by his Japanese captors, then unexpectedly flipping its perpective to deliver a brilliant and unexpected climax.
The result is a literary gem, but it is Lomax's honesty rather than his cleverness as a writer that ensures that this book succeeds. I recommend it strongly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful book, 14 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Railway Man (Paperback)
I can't recommend this book too highly. Probably the best book I've ever read about the Second World War and mans inhumanity to man. Yet it still leaves you with a belief in mans essential goodness. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and impressive, 2 Aug 2010
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Railway Man (Paperback)
In February 1942, the city of Singapore, defended by 80,000 British and Commonwealth troops, surrenders to the Japanese. The loss of Singapore, coupled with the preceding loss of the British warships Repulse and Prince of Wales, is described by Churchill as the darkest British moments of the Second World War, whilst the capitulation of Singapore becomes the British Army's greatest defeat.

Amongst the tens of thousands of British soldiers rounded up and taken into captivity is Lt. Eric Lomax, a Royal Signals officer. Initially, the vast mass of British POWs hugely outnumbers their Japanese captors, leading to a relaxed atmosphere where the British prisoners mostly police themselves. Overconfident, many of the British prisoners began building home-made radios to keep a closer eye on the course of the war. However, as time passes the POWs begin to be dispersed, many being sent to be worked to death on the River Kwae railway as it slowly makes its way across Thailand and into Burma. In these smaller camps, much more aggressively policed by Japanese guards, the prisoners find their confidence and expectation of good treatment rapidly disabused. Lomax's involvement in the construction of clandestine radios leads him to being imprisoned, humiliated, tortured and condemned to a number of horrific prisons in and around Bangkok.

Eventually the war ends and Lomax returns home, but finds that his torture continues. His experiences lead to the breakdown of his first marriage, an estrangement from his father and decades of nightmares and broken sleep patterns. Only in the early 1990s does Lomax finally receive the counselling and psychiatric help he has needed, a process which eventually leads him back to Thailand and a meeting with one of his Japanese tormentors, an interpreter who rejected his nation's barbarous methods of torture and militarism and has spent the decades since working to ensure that the Japanese do not forget what they did in the war. In this meeting Lomax eventually finds a kind of peace, fifty years after the war ends.

The Railway Man is a memoir of one man's experiences in the Second World War. It opens with a summary of Lomax's childhood and background, his experiences as a railway and engineering enthusiast, his decision to enlist before WWII even starts and his eventual involvement in the debacle of Singapore's fall (the city's monstrous defences were oriented seaward, allowing the Japanese to simply walk in from the rear and take it almost completely unopposed). This is followed by the largest part of the book, as Lomax recalls his experiences in various POW camps and later prisons, in which he recounts his treatment at the hands of the Japanese. These sections are definitely not for those with weak stomachs. The cruelty of the Japanese to those who surrendered to them is well-documented, but even so the sheer, inhuman horror they inflicted on Lomax is shocking. However, even more startling is the lack of counselling or treatment Lomax received upon his eventual release, and the mild mistreatment inflicted on the former POWs by their liberators (such as former POWs, in many cases malnourished and weakened by four years of captivity, being expected to do the work of fully-healthy, fresh recruits on the return voyage to Britain).

The book ends with Lomax's experiences as a much older man, meeting one of his former tormentors face-to-face in Thailand, revisiting his old prison camp and then visiting Japan. This section of the book is the most powerful, as Lomax's utter hatred and loathing of the Japanese comes through the text vividly. He has no interest in forgiveness or reconciliation until he meets his former adversary and discovers the extreme lengths he has gone to to make amends for his actions in the war, including directly challenging Japan's culture of denial and disinterest in the war crimes committed by its soldiers during the war.

The Railway Man is one of the most powerful experiences of life in wartime I have ever read. Lomax illuminates the so-called 'forgotten war' by showing the rank foolishness that led to Singapore's capture, the overconfidence of the British POWs whose initial freedoms led them into a false sense of security, and the horrors of torture, in which no punches are pulled. Lomax describes his own mistreatment in a somewhat dispassionate tone for the most part, but occasionally his fury and anger at his mistreatment comes through, undimmed by fifty years of peace (the book was originally published in 1995). Lomax refuses to consider himself a hero, citing many of his fellow soldiers whose feats were more impressive (such as the Scottish officer who grabbed a rifle off a startled Japanese guard to put a bullet through one of his own men dying from cholera after the Japanese proved unable to shoot him accurately), but, as with many old soldiers, Lomax dismisses his own achievements too easily. Lomax refuses to give out any names or compromise the network that led to the construction of the radios, despite being put through treatments almost too horrendous to contemplate (including the Japanese practice of repeated waterboarding), saving the lives of his colleagues. The final section, dealing with the reconciliation, is quietly hopeful, with the reader left hoping that the author has indeed exorcised his demons through the process of the meeting and the writing of this book.

The Railway Man (*****) is a remarkable story, powerful, moving and intense, and again confirming that people can endure incredible hardships under extraordinary circumstances when the need is greatest. It is a book that everyone with an interest in the Second World War should read. It is available now in the UK and USA.
Bookmark and Share
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A personal account; a window into history, 21 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Paperback)
Mr Lomax's harrowing account of his imprisonment during WWII is a window on a part of history that we should all learn from. Much of Mr Lomax's story is similar to thousands of POWs during this time, but, by his own admission, many are unable to speak of their experiences, much less share them in writing. This makes his story all the more compelling and important to understand.

It was with increasing admiration that I read each page, not least the subsequent years after the war, coming to terms with what he had experienced; suffering in silence during much of this time before finally confronting his past.

I feel it a matter of due respect that I refer to the author formally as Mr Lomax and recommend highly that this book be read and reread for generations. Importantly, the account is well told and events described in such detail that I was able to imagine the environment and the people with startling clarity.

Frightening, uplifting and inspirational; an honour to have been a witness through the eyes of Mr Lomax and I owe him thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING!, 31 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Railway Man (Paperback)
I have never read a book so fast in all my life! A real 'page-turner', a riveting story. Its incredible that anyone could survive the experiences described in this book. I think that this book is crying out to be made into a film. It has everything that would make a truly great film :- a time of turmoil, an exotic location, a mild-mannered character drawn into a horrifying set of circumstances and surviving against staggering odds, humanity displayed at its best and at its worst, the backdrop of a world war, and ultimate reconciliation and forgiveness - the solution of an inner torment that could be solved in no other way.

I hope to see this on the big-screen one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Story, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Kindle Edition)
Very well written account of the SE Asia theatre of WW2.
'Into the Valley of Death rode the 600' has not much on the 50,000 into the Jungle railroad of Burma.
For me historically informative as indeed a Signals Officer is well placed to be.
Puts a completely different perspective on 'The Bridge over the River Kwai'. Authors comment on the film,
'.....the best fed POWs I have ever seen....'
Clash of cultures Western and Japanese clear in the narrative.
The lasting effects on the survivors and the author and to some extent both sides points up starkly the unsung heroes
that war veterans can be. Reminds us that the same was true of WW1 combatants.
The reconciliation, almost incredible, shows how confronting the anger can bring closure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Remarkable Testimony, 25 Oct 2005
By 
C. Tait "Cat man" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Paperback)
Eric Lomax's book is a remarkable tale of courage, endurance and forgiveness. I bought the book whilst on holiday in Singapore and thought it superb from beginning till end.
I have a great love of literature but sadly there isn't much on the bookstore shelves to get excited about. Nowadays, it seems that there are way too many "authors" who have never really lived and the superficiality of their prose is clearly that of the untried apprentice. On the other hand, Eric Lomax may not be a famous author but the beautiful simplicity and humility of his brutal tale make it worthy of fame. It is clear from the outset that his his voice is one of genuine authority: the authority of a man who has earned his right to authorship through an immense suffering.
I recommend this book as a classic of its kind and as one of particular value to anybody who has suffered in circumstances not of their own making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb read, 9 July 2007
By 
D. Johnson "oldplayer" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Railway Man (Paperback)
Not being an avid reader of books I picked up this one after being recommended by John Gaunt on Talksport.
Though I'd give it a go... and it blew me away. There are two parts in particular that literally reduced me to tears.
But as i said I don't normally read books however this is a masterpiece and has sparked off a whole new passion for reading within me.
I have subsequently bought 3 more books on the subject and having read the Railway man I can't wait to start the next.
If you don't have this book in your collection you must be mad!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Kindle Edition)
This book gives such food for thought. I could not wait to see how the story would develop. If forgiveness can be found after such atrocities surely we could practice this in our daily lives and live more peacefully together. Never before has a book had such a profound effect on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2112 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Railway Man
The Railway Man by Eric Lomax (Paperback - 2 Jan 2014)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews