Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Years in An Open Necked Shirt (Paperback)
Great stuff from a great Poet! Never too far from reach. I will be coming back to this book for sure.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for all John Cooper Clarke fans, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Years in An Open Necked Shirt (Paperback)
Great to have a written record of the poems included here. Good art work too. John Cooper Clarke is still gigging, so go see him whilst you have the chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab., 14 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs. B. Carter "BridgetCat" (Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Years in An Open Necked Shirt (Paperback)
John Cooper Clarke is a complete and utter genius and he totally shows this in this lovely, well-illustrated book yah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic reissue!, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Years in An Open Necked Shirt (Paperback)
A simple reissue here folks i have the original copy but decided to give this a try and see oif there was any updated extras alas there was NONE! and the reprint is pretty poor to be honest on very cheap paper too(recycled job) but a good price for some great poetry and as the originals sell for 25+ its well worth the asking price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 2 Jun 2013
By 
D. Beasley "David" (Biggleswade Beds UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Years in An Open Necked Shirt (Paperback)
Cooper Clark is Very moving, funny and thought provoking. Saw him on Have I got news for you on BBC1. very IMPRESSES
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jolly good!, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Years in An Open Necked Shirt (Paperback)
Does what it says on the tin. Book of J.C.Clarke's poems. Well worth a read. Includes poem "Tw*t",under diff name,& does contain other colourful languange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars national treasure, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Years in An Open Necked Shirt (Paperback)
I bought, then lost, the first issue of this book when I was living in Manchester. I never saw JCC then, I saw him perform this year and it was worth the wait. This reprint is a chance to see what a technically fine poet he is, that he is funny was never in doubt.
Buy it people, the man deserves your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Long overdue re-release from the Bard of Salford, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Years in An Open Necked Shirt (Paperback)
I bought this book during it's initial release in 1983 and loved all of the poems. Then, after a number of changes of address, I lost my copy and have been looking for another copy ever since. The search proved fruitless until now that "Ten Years in an Open Necked Shirt" has been re-released.

This is a collection of John Cooper Clarke's idiomatic poetry. JCC was the foremost poet of the original Punk movement of the late 70s.

This is nothing like the poetry that you were forced to read in school, if schools taught these poems more people would love poetry, but be warned, these poems are not suitable for a younger audience.

Clarke covers many different subjects and moods, ranging from the delightfully silly "you never see a nipple in the daily express" to the bleak "beazley street" and covers many diverse subjects such as: racism, poverty, capital punishment, love, hate, sex, exercise, etc.

With this book you also get the totally fictitious autobiography of the Bard of Salford.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best !, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Years in An Open Necked Shirt (Paperback)
The incredible words of JCC with accompanying illustrations by Steve Maguire; witty and clever. It will always be a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 2 Nov 2012
This review is from: Ten Years in An Open Necked Shirt (Paperback)
Back in print at last! Been looking for this book for ages.... The best 5.99 you will EVER spend. If you get the opportunity go and see him live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ten Years in An Open Necked Shirt
Ten Years in An Open Necked Shirt by John Cooper Clarke (Paperback - 20 Sep 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews