Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars947
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 June 2013
Life is good in the silo. The people are friendly, food is plentiful, healthcare is readily available when needed. Those in charge are democratically elected and take their office on the top floor. A skilled IT department keeps channels of communication open throughout. And the whole silo is kept ticking over by the engineers in Mechanical, deep in the belly of the Earth. Just one look at the screens projecting video images of the bleak, uninhabitable landscape outside, and the inhabitants of the silo know how good they've got it. There are always some crazy folk who question this from time to time. How did the silo get here? What exactly is out there, out of view of the lens? These ungrateful dissenters are punished by being cast out with a woolen cloth to clean the cameras so that everyone else can continue to enjoy the view - fated to certain death. But one day sheriff Holston, the sensible and much-respected warden of the silo, joins the dissident ranks and chooses to go outside. This sets in motion a chain of events that shake the foundations of the entire community.

Wool is actually an omnibus of five short stories that were originally published separately but you can barely see the joins. I can see how books one and two worked as standalone novellas, but by the time you hit book three everything merges seamlessly. And it's a good job, too, because had I been reading this at the time of publication I don't think I would have been able to bear sitting on the edge of my seat waiting to find out what happens in the next installment! He spins a hell of a yarn.

Howey has created such a unique and intricate setting in the silo. It's fascinating to have the whole world condensed into one single underground warren. He clearly has a good understanding of sociology and politics, and deftly illustrates both the physical and social hierarchies that exist between the different cliques of inhabitants.

I also particularly appreciated the effort put into characterisation. Howey flits between different points of view but each individual is so well-developed that I was reluctant to leave them behind when it came to the next chapter. So many favourites - Holston, heartbroken after the death of his wife. The wise Mayor Jahns. Feisty mechanic Juliette. Old Walker, the reclusive electrician who's a secret genius.

I'm so glad I picked this up as it's a really satisying tale to get tangled up in. I certainly feel that Wool deserves the great reviews it has received and would be enjoyed by many readers, even those who aren't usually attracted to sci-fi/dystopian fiction.
0Comment|111 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 10 January 2014
I try to only give 5 to books I really feel are original, powerful, hard to put down, with well-written characters.

And yes, Wool is all of these things. I love the title, which takes on more than one meaning as the layers of the story are uncovered. I loved the gradual reveal of the truth of the lives the characters are living and the way I can picture the silo and the long, long walk from one end to the other. I love the way characters you were feeling strongly sympathetic towards were suddenly and brutally despatched.

But most of all, the story. Something has happened to our world. It must have done. A group of people are living in a 160-floor silo under the ground, have never left, work and rest and live within its confines. Segregated into sections within their own society, this group has classes - those closest to the top being the white collar classes, the mechanics keeping it all together being the 'working stiffs' in the depths.

Order must be maintained. And so every few years a dissenter/rule breaker is found guilty and sent out to 'clean' - clean the camera lenses that act as the only window on the world the silo inhabitants possess.

It is only after one such cleaning, of the silo's much respected widower Sheriff, that repressed feelings begin to bubble to the surface as a mechanic from the depths, Juliette, is offered the vacant post.

Very cinematic, you can picture the setting, the characters, clearly. It's a wonderful dystopian fiction that is frightening in the realism it contains: how this really COULD happen to us.

Juliette is a wonderful female role, an Ellen Ripley / Katniss Everdeen heroine, surrounded by a full complement of society's inhabitants. The book is long, but once you see more of the overall picture of Howey's, it's a story you relish will take 500 pages. And of course. It's a series, and ends on a note that leads you to want to follow the story further.

Don't be put off by the length, Wool is worth getting tangled up in.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
"Silo" by Hugh Howey was originally written as Wool Omnibus that consist of five shorter stories and introduce reader to a different world after apocalyptic events happened caused by humans.

The remained human survivors live in great underground Silo that is a sort of prison due to people inability to exit to the outer world that is toxic, ruined and impossible to live in.

To be able to view outside world, cameras were installed and whenever they get dirty someone needs to clean them.
Due to toxic air, for this unpleasant task condemned criminals are those who are sacrificed to clean them.

For many years, the Silo was good home for remained people but slowly conflict will arise between daring young woman named Juliette unafraid of discovering Silo secrets and Sheriff Holston who has his reasons to keep things as they were for long time.

And with that conflict, future will be on stake, whether is the safety provided for long time more important to the survived people or they are in greater need of truth that can cause big problems...

This SF dystopian novel is a well-written and exciting read that is a real page turner.
Its action gradually develops and draws the reader deeper into the well designed bleak future world of humans.
Some (like me) can be disappointed with its ending given that it occurs too suddenly but that's the matter of liking.

Due to gradual development of the story, as it was originally written in five parts, one of two main characters Juliette will come a bit late in the novel, but she will soon steal the stage.
As character she has no problem becoming a central figure due to her personality traits and skills because of which reader can easily identify with her.
The same can be said for other main character, Sheriff Holston, who is also believable and multidimensional character.

"Silo" is an enjoyable read that can be recommended especially for fans of post apocalyptic literature and science fiction.

Due to that I can suggest you to read it together with its sequels, although this first part is certainly the best one in the series.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"If the lies don't kill you, the truth will."

I'm not sure how to approach writing a review of this book. Too much information would give away clues to the story; or it could make it sound like a strange and odd experience. So, here goes: a society which has, for generation upon generation lived in a silo environment, driven deep down into the ground, with just the top part above ground. Here, they have lived, created, and managed for how many years? And this is the way of life they fight to preserve. Those who think there may be more to life must hide these thoughts, or risk being sent `outside'.

The silo environment is massive; over one hundred and forty levels, from government and political at the top, down through IT, the nurseries, to the agricultural levels, to manufacturing and mechanical, down, down, down to the mining levels. All food, water, electricity, resources, are all created and renewed inside this environment, where population is managed, and where those who die are given back to the cycle of life in the growing environments. But maybe, just maybe, every so often there is a current of unrest amongst some of the inhabitants, and this unrest is quashed and all evidence removed. Could that be possible? And could there be room for change in this existence?

I love the way this story builds, from introspection, to consideration, to snippets of revelation, to action. This is great stuff; can't wait for the next instalment in this series. Totally recommended for anyone who wants to read a great sci-fi/apocalyptic novel, with real characters, real depth and real emotion.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
As a huge fan of dystopian and post-apocalyptic literature, I came to Wool by Hugh Howey with high hopes. The book has been lavished with praise since it's episodic release as a self-published e-book and has garnered massive numbers of positive reviews across the net. I am saddened to report that the hype sucked me in and I was expecting much more than what I got. Although I have tried to keep them to a minimum, his review may contain minor spoilers, so read with caution.

Set in an underground silo hundreds of years in the future, the story follows a number of main characters. A huge concrete tube has been burrowed into the earth and inside it thousands of survivors subsist in relative comfort. They have numerous different levels in which to live, specialising in farming, mechanical, bazaars, child-care and many more. The story follows the unravelling of the silo community as a number of dark secrets are slowly revealed to its residents.

As already mentioned, the book was originally released in episodes via Amazon's Kindle Direct Publishing. This is evident during the first two chapters of the book which are quite different in tone and approach to the main chunk of the story. First we follow the sheriff, Holston, as he voluntarily sacrifices his life in order to brave the toxic 'up top' atmosphere in order to ensure the silo continues to maintain a live feed of the desolate outside landscape. Upon Holston succumbing (with a twist) to the hazardous toxins outside, we briefly trek the silo with the aged mayor Jahns and her old flame as she searches for a suitable replacement. Until she dies as well. The majority of the book thereafter follows the newly elected sheriff, Juliette, as she acclimatises herself with her new role, finds her self in trouble and is then cast out of the silo to die. She doesn't, though, and much action and revelation follows.

I think the book's episodic nature shines through despite the amalgamation into one full tome and found this jarring, especially at the start of the book with the rapid turnover of characters. I think the short story that starts the book was originally meant as a standalone short with no further progression until the book's success convinced the author to expand it into a full-length novel. The author has since made a shedload of cash from his story and even sold the film rights to Ridley Scott, the former sci-fi master who more recently sullied the Alien franchise with the release of Prometheus. I, personally, however, feel that the promising foundation of the book did not have the scope to fill a full-length novel, never mind a trilogy - a word that sends shivers down my spine when associated with modern literature. There is a short peak in the middle of the book, around the time of the big reveal involving Lukas and Juliette's first steps in the outside world, that grab your attention and force you onwards, but unfortunately they are drowned out by uninteresting filler. Soon after these riveting scenes the book descends into a pretty poor action segment as the uprising begins, for me at least, at the drop of a hat.

Howey has a tendency to overwrite much of his narrative. This leads to overly long and repetitive descriptions of mundane actions such as climbing or descending the silo's stairs, pains in the thighs from these ascents/descents, in-depth mechanical explanations, and even a huge paragraphs about air bubbles in an underwater scene near the end of the book. One thing that grated on me is how Howey regularly uses more than one metaphor/analogy to describe a single item, action or object. A flooded staircase, for example, is described thusly: 'that tall column of water, that flooded straw, that sunken stairway' which to me is needlessly wordy. A more choosy editor could likely have shortened this effort dramatically and made the delivery far more punchy. Another thing I found grating was Howey's insistence on using mechanical terms in metaphors/analogies. I can see why he did this, what with most of the characters being mechanics, but most of his choices often seemed amateur and weak. A dog wagging its tail is lengthily likened to an air-filled hose flopping around the floor having been dropped - the wagging of the dog's tail is inconsequential, why go into such detail about it in the first place?

I had other problems with what I was reading that weren't related to the author's choice of language. Your suspension of disbelief will be tested to its limits. The love interest that a large portion of the story hinges on is unbelievable love-at-first-sight guff reminiscent of a pulpy Mills and Boons style tale. The residents of the silo, despite having spent hundreds of years underground, deprived of much of the knowledge and literature we currently possess, acted as normally as any sane aboveground person living today. Surely, given the fact that the residents of the silo believe elephants to be imaginary beasts, they would act and behave far differently to present day people and be far more ignorant in many, many ways? Not so. In one moment, reminding me of the roundly slated film Battlefield Earth, a mechanic fathoms an unfamiliar piece of complicated radio tech he has never seen before in a matter of days, in the process coming to a very astute and inexplicable observation regarding the waves they pick up. The biggest clanger Howey drops, however, is the notion that the lower levels of the silo would be much colder than the higher levels. This completely overlooks geothermal gradiation which dictates that the farther one burrows into the earth, the higher the temperature becomes. The silo is described as an impossibly huge structure; the bottom layers would likely be a number of miles underground and have to face problems with crippling heat not debilitating cold. This anomaly renders one important scene towards the end of the book embarrassingly inaccurate. As the book can be found in the hard science category on Amazon, I doubt I am the only person to be irked by this mishap.

Although the novel wasn't god-awful, I was expecting much, much more from it. I can't quite understand the rave reviews the book has received. I myself have little inclination to read the other parts of the trilogy. Did the Wool story really need to be spread out over three books? Could some of the filler have been shaved from this tome and the ideas of the other two novels condensed into one large book in the vein of King's IT, for example? I struggle to see where the story could go from here that could warrant a further two releases and, if I'm honest, I'm not likely to find out, either. Unfortunately, Wool was just not to my tastes.
33 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 February 2013
Review

Wool has been an amazing experience, the book started out for me as one mans emotional turmoil in a desolate world. It then led me to see and then feel the inner workings of the power structure of the Silo. All of this was engaging as a story, but it wasnt until the screen was peeled back that you began to see and experience the true 1984 style control surrounding the lives of everyone in the silo.

The Silo is one huge air tight world, an organism that functions only as long as every part functions properly, as long as there is a back up ready to take its place or to fix a problem. Disease cannot be allowed to fester and ideas are a disease. This is a world of do your job, live your life and don't question the world at large. This is how the end of the world looks and it's a scary sight.

This story is high tension, high stress and a bloody scary look at humanity in a confined space. It's not a book I can say I loved, but its a book I can say made me think and think and think, its a book you experience as much as you read it. I would highly recommend this book to all readers

(Parm)
0Comment|72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Wool is set in an apocalyptic future. In a world smothered in toxic fumes we are introduced to the inhabitants of a silo which extends over a hundred storeys down into the earth. A world where people are divided into castes according to their occupations. A world where survival is dependent upon rigidly enforced discipline, where transgression is punished by being forced into the hostile external environment and a swift death.

Wool started life as a series of self published novellas, and it origins show in the episodic feel of the early chapters where we are introduced first to Sheriff Holston, and then to mayor Jahns, who strut and fret their hours upon the stage and then are heard no more. After their departures the rest of the book is given over to Juliette, a mechanical engineer in a world run by IT, and her literally star-crossed lover, Lukas.

As the novel progresses,the true nature of the world is slowly revealed as Juliette goes through a series of physical trials before finally confronting her blandly evil nemesis, the terrifyingly named........ Bernard.

There is much to be admired about Wool. It is an original concept (putting aside thoughts of HG Wells' molochs) and a well realised world. However, for me it somehow didn't really work. I think I can work out why it doesn't from one of the positive reviews. The Daily Express is quoted as saying that it is one of dystopian fiction's masterpieces alongside the likes of 1984 and Brave New World. Therein lies the problem. Those works were, like all great speculative fiction, like Philip K Dick, allegorical, using a world of fantasy to comment on contemporary society, or on some facet of human nature.

Wool doesn't do that. It is purely a work of world building, and as such, needs to stand on its own. Seen through that lens, the holes start to appear. The physical environment is 130 storeys deep. Lets say what,12ft a tier, thats 1560ft. Why does its take days to walk up or down ? Why just one staircase? Why are the farms so far from the surface? Why are there no lifts? The closer one looks, the less coherent the narrative becomes, and above all, one question, everybody ejected for crimes dutifully cleans the sensors which enable the inhabitants to see outside, before dying. WHY? The explanation given doesn't make any sense. Which is problematic for something so central to the plot.

The writing style didn't engage me either. First it needs a damn good editor, there is just too much mundane detail. Secondly the narrative switches between different observers, with virtually every one ending on a cliffhanger. Eventually that destroys rather than creating tension. Thirdly Juliette's adventures get repetitive. She does something dangerous. Initially all goes well. Then something goes wrong. Then by superhuman effort she gets out of it. Finally, the slow reveal of what is going on didn't create any tension for me. I just found myself thinking, "Oh for goodness sake explain your scenario, then get on with the story.

So, its ok. It's not a light read, it's fairly grim, there are some interesting ideas, but it could do with being more coherent, and with moving more quickly. In the end its a bit of a shaggy dog story, a lot of repetitive detail, but not quite worth the pay off in the end. It's definitely not 1984 or Brave New World, more like Logans Run written with vague memories of having read Lord of the Flies at school.
1111 comments|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
Hugh howey is an amazingly gifted storyteller. His Silo series is quite possibly the most stunning story I have ever read. I expect it to be translated into Danish one day, and when it does, it will be my gift of choice to every friend and relative of mine regardless of age, reading preferences and actual wishlists.

I picked Wool, as something extra along with some books off my wishlist on Amazon. That in itself is something I rarely do - choose a book randomly, just because there might be something about it. I received it, noticed the size of it and left it on the shelf for more than a year, before randomly deciding to give it a try regardless of it being a rather lengthy read.

I loved Wool instantly although at first I had no idea where it was heading. I also placed an immediate order for the rest of the series, to make sure I would be able to continue reading the rest of the story without having to wait while the next books was being shipped.

I love the way the characters were introduced individually and how well-developed they are. I liked Juliette the best, she is a wonderful choice for a heroine, in parts because she is courageous, smart, tough and very likeable, but even more so, because she is an awesome character, who happens to be female.

I love the world building, and while I wouldn't want to live in it, I found the world to be both original and very believable.

I loved the pacing. This story is just so perfectly balanced and nothing in it seems left to chance. Where too much slow pacing would usually annoy me, Howey seems to use the slower pace as a means to graciously make room for the world to develop and for the characters to grow. In combination with a very gripping plot and a grim take on our not so distant future this makes for an amazing and very much unput-downable story, regardless of the story been slow-paced at times, or maybe even more so because of the brilliant change in pacing throughout the story.

It has been 6 months, since I read this series, and even though I have read a lot of books since then, I can't quite forget about this one. I keep comparing other books to this series, expecting to like them as much. And I do sometimes find books that I like a lot, some very much so, just not for the same reasons. That is, of course, the great thing about reading, that there are in fact plenty of great books to choose from, and plenty of oppotunities to find new favorites. It's just that in a way I wish I were only just now entering the world of Wool for the first time, still unaware of what a precious book I had just opened. Because the series is that good!

Obviously I recommend this book - as well as the rest of the series - to anyone, especially those who appreciate great storytelling!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
I have now finished the whole trilogy. Wool was found in a charity shop and from almost the first page I was hooked and couldn't put the book down. it is an imperative read for sci fi and dystopian fans.

In a post apocalyptic world , mankind has had to live underground as the outside world has become too toxic to support life,you will have to read the 3 books in order to find out how and why this has come about.. Home is an immense silo, with many levels and a huge winding staircase being the only access to each of them; there are no lifts! Ordinary people go about their lives as we would here on the surface; there are people who live and work "up top" in the "mids" or the "down deep". A visit to "Mechanical" in the "Down Deep" for example from the Cafeteria at the top would take more than a day to accomplish to give you an idea of how big this silo is.

These rather simplistic descriptions conjure up a real picture in the mind of the reader as to what it must be like to live and work in such a place. what is rather more sinister is the rules that these people live by, the Order and the Pact, and there are some who would question this and start to probe a little deeper into the silo's history.

It becomes clear to Jules, our Protagonist, that all is not what it seems, especially the mysterious "cleanings" that take place once in a while, and from which nobody ever returns. It is when the Silo's Sherriff Holston, is sent out to clean and Jules is called upon by the Mayor to fill his role and move up to the "up top" from her role in "Mechanical" that matters start to take a very sinister turn indeed.

I am not going to reveal any more of the plot, save to say that all the characters you will meet in this novel and very well drawn and thought out. There are truly poignant parts and plenty of suspense to keep you turning the pages, keeping you up well into the small hours and ensuring you will buy the next 2 books before you finish this one. I had no hesitation in rushing out to buy Shift and Dust new and read all three straight off.

I can quite honestly say that this is the best trilogy I have ever read, I can find nothing negative to say about any of it and it simply HAS to be on everyone's bucket list! I felt quite lost and bereft after I had finished it.

You MUST buy these books, and read them in order, Wool, Shift, Dust. Simply brilliant.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
Wool is a post-apocalyptic/dystopian tale set sometime in the future, when the remnants of humanity have been living for generations in a gigantic, self-contained underground complex (the Silo). Their only view of the outside world is a viewing screen on the top floor, showing a blasted and barren world, where the air is so poisonous that the people sent outside to clean the viewing cameras die within a matter of minutes. Being sent to cleaning is therefore the highest form of punishment for the worst criminals – including anyone who questions the status quo.

Wool was originally released as a series of e-novellas, and the paperback version is really an omnibus of these stories. I was unaware of this when I picked up the book, and while it does read as a novel rather than a collection, it does explain the somewhat disjointed feel of the book.

The book starts really strongly, with the first half introducing the world of the Silo, and some interesting characters and situations. There are plenty of twists and turns, some quite obvious, others which I really didn’t see coming! However, I did find some of the more interesting characters were killed off quite early on, while I found it hard to connect with the protagonist Juliette.

The fast pace of the first half does help to disguise the fact that there seem to be a lot of inconsistencies with the plot (some of which are explained in the subsequent novels, others – like the fact it takes two days to walk down the length of the Silo – seem to be more down to poor writing). Unfortunately, the action in the second half drags somewhat, and the shortcomings are more evident.

Still, I enjoyed Wool, I thought it was a great idea, and although the pacing and characters could have been improved, there was still plenty there to keep me intrigued. I would rate it as a 3 ½ star read, but have rounded it down as there were too many issues for it to merit 4 stars.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.