Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining, romantic, comical read xXx
I have loved Allie Spencer's previous books and her new release Save The Date is yet another enjoyable and entertaining read by this wonderful author. With my Wedding plans sizzling my brain at the moment it was time to take a break and see how traumatic other Weddings are!

What a perfect setting for a family wedding, beautiful Italy. But just because the...
Published 18 months ago by realovesbooks

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars How on earth did this book get published?
This book is badly written and poorly edited ("me and my best friend....slithered home" - since when was "me" the subject of a verb in English?). I found the characters to be completely lifeless and unattractive (except for the dog) and the "humour" left me cold, as it seemed very contrived and laborious. Other reviews are very enthusiastic so...
Published 6 months ago by Minty


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining, romantic, comical read xXx, 20 Jun 2013
By 
realovesbooks (South east London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Save the Date (Paperback)
I have loved Allie Spencer's previous books and her new release Save The Date is yet another enjoyable and entertaining read by this wonderful author. With my Wedding plans sizzling my brain at the moment it was time to take a break and see how traumatic other Weddings are!

What a perfect setting for a family wedding, beautiful Italy. But just because the setting is picturesque doesn't mean everything else will be perfect in fact it seems with Alicia's cousins wedding that everything is a drama, and if there are not enough problems with the wedding then try adding to the drama the unexpected arrival of Nick, Alicia's partner whom she had only walked out on a few months before. This looks like it will be a wedding to remember!

After finishing this book I actually feel quite calm now about my big day! This was an exciting and enjoyable read that I devoured easily in one sitting. The book flowed at a fast pace and there seemed to be more and more drama as the book progressed.

There are a great mix of characters in this book some such as Jess and Alicia who I loved from the start, then others who I was a little wary of such as Kitty and Charles, and of course a lovable but mischievous little canine friend who was a lovely addition to the two legged characters!

Romance fans will love this book as there are relationships aplenty in this book but what I loved was the light hearted feel to the book and the humour, I felt like I had a constant grin on my face the whole way through reading this book. Every time I thought nothing else could possibly go wrong with this disastrous family wedding something else happened to top it all!

The first thing that comes to mind when Allie Spencer is mentioned is glorious destinations, her descriptive writing when it comes to setting the scene always makes you want to jet off to the destination in her books and this was the same with Save The Date, I feel as though Italy is calling me now. If the descriptions are not tantalising enough then I am sure the beautiful cover will sway you, I think this is one of the best covers of 2013 so far.

Allie Spencer has given us another sizzler of a read. If you want humour, romance, a gorgeous location and not forgetting drama, drama, drama then make this your next read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She does it again!, 24 Sep 2013
This review is from: Save the Date (Paperback)
People who follow me on Twitter will know how excited I have been to read this book.

Having thoroughly enjoyed Summer Loving and Summer Nights, I couldn't wait to submerge myself in the writings of Allie Spencer once again.

And I am happy to say that Save The Date lived up to my expectations and more.

Set in the beautiful Tuscan hills you can almost feel the heat on your back, as you pay privy to what's set to the be the wedding of the year, well if you're a Westfield that is!
Watching events unfold and meeting Ailsa's wonderful furry friend Arthur, who brings something extra special to the book.

With such wonderful characters I found myself instantly liking Ailsa and Jess, I loved the relationship between Ailsa and Arthur and I found Jess to be kooky and genuinely lovely.
There were a few characters that made my blood boil, like Charlie, Kitty and Roberto but its characters like them, that make you root for Ailsa and Jess even more.

As always Allie Spencer captured my imagination and pulled me in for what was a wonderful journey.
Along with the characters, I laughed, smiled, got angry and fell in love. I experienced all of this whilst in the picturesque setting of Italy.
The best part of all, it wasn't a plane ride away, but all within the wonderful pages of Save The Date!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect summer read, 28 Jun 2013
This review is from: Save the Date (Paperback)
This book was a total breath of fresh air for my ongoing reading slump situation. I had been reading pretty serious books but didn't realise it until I found myself chuckling at the opening chapter of Save The Date.

This chick-lit novel falls firmly in the humour range and while there is plenty of romance and yes even a bit of 'action' this is a light funny story which crams a lot into it's pages. I mean it never lets the pace down one little bit, never mind Ailsa needing a holiday by the end of it I felt like I needed a break at the end.

The basic premise is Ailsa is recovering from a bad breakup and when she receives an invitation for an all expenses paid trip to Italy for her cousin's wedding she goes (after a bit of persuading). Every character is so ridiculous they are completely believable! You do get a pompous uncle, a hysterical-bride-to-be, the sleazy best man and even the ex that makes you think twice. For me this made the novel more enjoyable. Usually I don't like cringeworthy-humour and often find in chick-lit novels that the heroine is painfully self-deprecating but it wasn't the case here, I thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish.

I'd recommend this as the ideal summer read whether you are heading off on holiday, going away for a family wedding or just dodging the rain at home (as I was). I'll definitely read more by Allie Spencer and I'm hoping that this book has set me up for a great summer of reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best summer reads for this year, 22 July 2014
This review is from: Save the Date (Kindle Edition)
When I first looked at Save The Date, I was instantly drawn to the cover design it is so beautiful and the tagline of the front of the book was want made me excited about this book. The tagline simply reads "You are invited to the wedding of the year." I could tell from that line that this book is going to be funny yet a really good romance story as well. After reading the plot of the book I could tell it was going to be one of the best summer reads for this year.

The story revolves around Ailsa Stuart and the wedding of her cousin Jessica's wedding which is being held in Tuscany. From the first chapter you can see things are not going great in Ailsa's life, so when her roommate and best friend Emma talks her into going to the wedding she is determined to relax from her stressful life. Going to Tuscany and forgetting everything to do with Nick, the man she walked out on just three weeks previous.

Hoping for a lovely getaway soon turns to the worse holiday ever when the peaceful time she planned took a turn for the worst. Soon the guests are making this the holiday from hell, the bride and groom auguring about everything and seeing the man that she walked away from not long ago.

From the very first chapters in this book, I could clearly see that this book would be very funny but it would also have a very serious element to it as well. As the story progressed on you couldn't help but being to love Ailsa and her crazy friends and family. They may be annoying and crazy but you can see that they really do care for each other, Ailsa must make a choice that will either change her life completely or the choice will hurt someone she care very deeply for. Though which one does she choose, with the crazy family members and no time to relax can she make up her mind before the week is out.

This book is a must read for this summer, with the romance, craziness and wedding fever it will be perfect the read for that summer feeling. I would recommended this book to fans of Jenny Colgan and Lucy Dillon.

It I had to sum this book up in a sentence it would be- "A wedding that will never be forgotten with secrets, lies, romance, crazy relatives and a unmissable story about love and how to fight for the one you love even when you want nothing better than to walk away".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summer of love, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Save the Date (Kindle Edition)
Save the Date is the second Allie Spencer book I've read. It's a gorgeous summery read with sharp, funny writing and engaging characters. The story is set, not surprsingly, around a family wedding which offers a great source of fun. It focuses on Ailsa, who I warmed to immediately - also Jess, who turns out to be not what you think from first impressions and there's a brilliant dog character too. One for fans of Katie Fforde, Christina Jones. Paige Toon and Jill Mansell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Save the Date (Paperback)
Great holiday or weekend read. Allie Spencer has you engrossed from the beginning. I would highly recommend this book, fab read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Save the Date (Kindle Edition)
This book is fun, good read that takes you on a journey that makes you smile, cringe, laugh out loud and keep you entertained. It is meant to be an easy read and it is one of the best "easy reads" I have read in many years. Thank you Allie Spencer for putting a smile on my face - please keep them coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lovely summer read, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Save the Date (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book it was easy reading although it was a bit predictable I loved it.I like a book that makes me feel I'm there and this book did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 14 Aug 2013
By 
Elizabeth Jane Conway (Bognor Regis, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Save the Date (Kindle Edition)
A lovely light read, but the story kept me hooked til the end, really enjoyable and amusing. Would recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comical, lighthearted, holiday read., 12 Aug 2013
This review is from: Save the Date (Paperback)
This is the first book I have read by Allie Spencer, and I have to say I found it a comical, lighthearted, holiday read.

Ailsa has had an invite for a family wedding in Italy, the problem is she is reluctant to go and hasn't RSVPed yet. It has been sitting in her kitchen for months and the date is nearing. One night after she has been out with her friend and has returned home, she receives an email. She is not sure who it is from, however she gets more and more insisting on her being somewhere. It all becomes clear that it is her cousin Jess, and she wants Allie to attend her wedding in Italy, to put family issues behind them.

Ailsa has problems of her own and feels that actually it may do her good to get away and accepts the invite and whisks herself off to Italy. Allie is nursing a broken heart with her husband Nick, they weren't married too long but it was a whirlwind romance that got them to the place they are at today.

The book is written through the eyes of Ailsa, she is a likable and humorous character, it is very easy to get sucked into this book and you feel you are one of Ailsa's friends with her in Italy, willing things to go her way.

While in Italy all is not plain sailing, there are many family wedding dramas between Jess, her parents and the wedding planner. Ailsa also has her fair share of problems with her ex, Nick and a new canine friend... Arthur.

There was so much going on in this story that kept it well paced and was not confusing. I enjoyed this a lot, I read it exceptionally quickly and was sad when it ended. Allie Spencer has the right balance between romance and humour. I loved that Arthur had his own personality and ended up getting into mischief and even though Ailsa is `not a dog person' ends up forming a relationship with the pup and ends up taking responsibility for him.

The cover is stunning and I must say this was what had me hooked before I even read the blurb. It just screams SUMMER READ to you across the book shop! It makes you want to be away on holiday and you begin to dream about the setting.

One thing I would say is the blurb didn't encourage me to read this book, I felt that the humour in the novel doesn't come across through it and I think that's something that's important. To be able to write humour with romance I think is a skill in itself and I feel that this shouldn't have gone unnoticed on the blurb.

The story has a good plot with strong characters, it is rammed with action, drama, romance and heartbreak. This is a perfect summer read for the beach. And if you are not away while reading it, by the end you will wish you were, with it set in a stunning location you will wish you were sipping cocktails and drinking champagne along with the other wedding guests.

For this review and more please visit:
Mrsbbooks2011.blogspot.co.uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Save the Date
Save the Date by Allie Spencer (Paperback - 20 Jun 2013)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews