Customer Reviews


410 Reviews
5 star:
 (126)
4 star:
 (116)
3 star:
 (99)
2 star:
 (40)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 86 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever
I wasn't convinced by McEwan's attempt at humour in Solar and this is very much a return to what I think he is good at. The story of Serena Frome (rhymes with plume!) and narrated by her, it tells of her progression from studying maths at Cambridge (whilst nurturing her real passion for literature) to her recruitment by MI5 in the early 70s. MI5 at that time is very much...
Published 22 months ago by John Tierney

versus
46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like an ice sculpture: perfectly carved but rather cold
McEwan's latest novel charts the progress of Serena Frome from the seat of her father's bishopric, via a mathematics degree at Cambridge, to a junior role in MI5 during the 1970s. Much of the novel is taken up with her romantic engagements, professional disappointments and love of literature until all of them become bound together in a single operation, Sweet Tooth...
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Present, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Tooth (Hardcover)
Again, another book I bought to give as a Christmas present. As for Ian McEwan, I like some of his books, not all. So I am curious to the feedback I might get on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than one story, 10 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. E. A. Hulse (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sweet Tooth (Kindle Edition)
While I was reading this I thought, "How clever, this book has included a number of short stories as well." The end was unexpected, although slighly contrived. The book is well written, and the style reminded me of Margaret Drabble. Mr McEwan you have earned the right to play a little. Thanks for sharing the game with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 6 Dec 2012
By 
MrB (Newmarket, Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Tooth (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book. The author seems to be having his usual multi dimensional academic fun, but without boring us, as I was with eg Enduring Love. What I mean is that he is still up to his tricks, but manages to make this one commercially compelling.

I thought the girl's descriptions of sex sounded like a man's: ooh, that's enough spoiling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very well written book, 11 Nov 2012
By 
P BORG-BARTOLO (BIRMINGHAM, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Tooth (Kindle Edition)
Ian McEwan presents a very real scenario with imaginary work of the Secret services. A well written and 'pacey' read which kept me reading on, despite being a reluctant reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book. Please read., 5 Nov 2012
By 
Mrs. M. C. Burrows (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Tooth (Kindle Edition)
All that I need to say is in the title. Beautifully written and exceptionally subtle. A really good read.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A not so sweet tale, 26 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Tooth (Kindle Edition)
Took awhile to get into the story but it builds into an intriguing tale including a smattering of social and political history along the way. I was surprised by the ending which is very cleverly thought out. Overall a good read demonstrating the versatility of Ian McEwen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever if a little on the dry side, 25 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Tooth (Hardcover)
Smart read with a great twist at the end. Some exceptional prose and observational history of the early 70's too. Extremely glad I bought this one. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars McEwan is a clever clogs!, 20 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Tooth (Kindle Edition)
I liked this! Very clever plot and lots of levels as a neat metaphor about spies and identity so you think you're reading a rather silly novel about a clever girl who gets to be a spy but really ...

The only slight problem is that you think why is this bloke writing this dross until you're nearly finished and you're thinking it is a big mistake for an old novelist to try to get inside a young girl as it doesn't ring quite true and drifts into old duffer fantasy land, flicked blonde hair, up for it, nubile etc but of course it is cleverer than that and has lots of levels like a double agent or even a treble agent so the lesson is who are we and what is a character construct if you're doing an MA at UEA but the rest of us could just be confused.

Don't be out off. It's a good read and very clever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Elegant, Suspenseful Literary Thriller from Ian McEwan, 15 Oct 2012
By 
John Kwok (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sweet Tooth (Hardcover)
Ian McEwan has conjured a most riveting blend of literary fiction, historical fiction and espionage thriller in his latest novel, "Sweet Truth", which is as much a celebration of early 1970s Anglo-American literature as well as a spellbinding espionage thriller of the kind readers might expect from John Le Carre or Ken Follet. Drawn upon a relatively little known aspect of British espionage history, McEwan's new novel is a riveting tale of love and betrayal, espionage and one's own identity. A young Cambridge University student, the literary minded and mathematically inclined Serena Frome, is recruited by MI5 - Great Britain's equivalent of the American FBI - in identifying potential writers who could work on behalf of the Conservative British government on a public disinformation campaign against Britain's left-wing opposition. She soon identifies a likely prospect, the young writer Tom Healy, becoming both his muse, and eventually, his lover, sharing his passion for superb contemporary Anglo-American literature as he writes a potential award-winning dystopian fiction debut novel. Narrated in first-person by Frome years after the events chronicled in "Sweet Tooth", readers are treated to a rapidly spiraling web of deceit as Frome struggles to keep her secret identity as a MI5 agent from Healy, as she retains an intensely intellectual and sexual-charged relationship with him. Much to my amazement, McEwan also treats readers to the best fictional depiction of the Monty Hall problem in probability theory I have encountered, and one especially memorable for its revealing insights pertaining to Frome's behavior. Without question, McEwan's compellingly readable new novel should be viewed as among this year's best and one probably destined for consideration for many of the major awards bestowed upon contemporary Anglo-American literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good yarn, well written., 29 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Tooth (Kindle Edition)
This is probably not the best book Ian McEwan has written.
It does, as critics have said, re-use some of his previous themes and vehicles for a story. But I think it stands up on its own as a good book and enjoyable read.
However, I am still looking forward to a future blockbuster from Ian McEwan which really satisfies my expectations of this author who, at his best, is inventive, amusing, and makes exceptional use of our language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sweet Tooth
Sweet Tooth by Ian McEwan (Paperback - 9 May 2013)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews