Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of Ian Fleming's Best
Thunderball was the 9th James Bond book by Ian Fleming and it is one ofhis best 007 books.
The story sees secret agent James Bond 007 being sent to try and recovertwo atomic bombs that have been hijacked by the terrorist organisationSPECTRE, lead by their ruthless leader Ernst Stavro Blofeld, who has giventhe UK government 7 days to pay SPECTRE a ransom of...
Published on 28 April 2004 by Mr. C. Watson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't leave me shaken OR stirred
The ninth of the classic James Bond novels, I was looking forward to this one after being completely gripped by 'Moonraker' and 'Live and Let Die' when I read them a few years ago. This one... wasn't so good. It was interesting and detailed, and it had a well thought-out plot and some well-timed humour. It had all the utter chauvinism one expects of 007, all simpering...
Published on 2 Feb. 2010 by Miss E. Potten


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of Ian Fleming's Best, 28 April 2004
By 
Mr. C. Watson (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Thunderball was the 9th James Bond book by Ian Fleming and it is one ofhis best 007 books.
The story sees secret agent James Bond 007 being sent to try and recovertwo atomic bombs that have been hijacked by the terrorist organisationSPECTRE, lead by their ruthless leader Ernst Stavro Blofeld, who has giventhe UK government 7 days to pay SPECTRE a ransom of £100,000,000 or thebombs will be detonated in two unspecified but high profile locations inthe US or UK. Whilst investigating in the Bahamas 007 meets Domino Petachia girl who is the lover of a millionaire explorer Emilio Largo who is inthe Bahamas with a group of businessmen with the intention of treasurehunting from his luxury yacht the Disco Volante. Bond becomes suspiciousof Largo and is convinced that Largo has stolen the bombs and is stowingthem on board his yacht and is using the treasure hunt as a cover to avoidarousing suspicion, but trying to convince the government and 007's boss"M" that there is a case for action proves difficult so Bond and CIA agentFelix Leiter must use their own with and recover the bombs before timeruns out.
This book sets a very fast pace early on and is a very engaging novelwhich leaves you wanting to turn to the next page quickly and it is a verysharp piece of work by one of the best thriller writers in history.
If, like me, you have seen the 1967 film version of this book it will helpyou to understand the plot and create a better picture in your mind of thestory that is taking place.
Even if you are not a Bond fan but enjoy a good thriller novel then thisis definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thunderball: Ian Fleming - Thunderingly good adventure for Bond, 4 Jun. 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
First published in 1961, Thunderball is the ninth print outing (and the eighth full length novel) for Ian Fleming's superspy, James Bond. It's an absolutely cracking read, and my favourite of the series following Moonraker.

The book starts off with Bond sent to health farm by M. While there he runs into a certain Count Lippe, and as a result unwittingly incommodes the plans of a major new crime syndicate, SPECTRE. Not long after a couple of nuclear missiles are hijacked, and Bond is on his way to the Bahamas following up what seems to be a slender lead, but one that soon turns into a certainty and Bond is in a race against time to get the missiles back before a major city is wiped out.

This is a great read, with Fleming's trademark action set pieces, superbly colourful scene setting prose and larger than life villains. This is the first of the trilogy of books featuring Blofeld, though Bond doesn't actually come face to face with him here. Opening with a great description of the mother of all hang-overs (Fleming writing from experience) Fleming never really lets up with his great descriptive prose, managing to make every detail clear in the minds eye, making every location and character come to life. Right through to the final underwater battle you feel totally immersed in the action.

Another mark in favour of this excellent book is the slightly vulnerable depiction of Bond. Not quite the self confident impervious hero of earlier books (and of the big screen), this Bond has the occasional bout of self doubt, making him seem more human than before.

It's a thrilling read from a master of the form, 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thunderball: Ian Fleming - Thunderingly good adventure for Bond, 4 Jun. 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Thunderball (Paperback)
First published in 1961, Thunderball is the ninth print outing (and the eighth full length novel) for Ian Fleming's superspy, James Bond. It's an absolutely cracking read, and my favourite of the series following Moonraker.

The book starts off with Bond sent to health farm by M. While there he runs into a certain Count Lippe, and as a result unwittingly incommodes the plans of a major new crime syndicate, SPECTRE. Not long after a couple of nuclear missiles are hijacked, and Bond is on his way to the Bahamas following up what seems to be a slender lead, but one that soon turns into a certainty and Bond is in a race against time to get the missiles back before a major city is wiped out.

This is a great read, with Fleming's trademark action set pieces, superbly colourful scene setting prose and larger than life villains. This is the first of the trilogy of books featuring Blofeld, though Bond doesn't actually come face to face with him here. Opening with a great description of the mother of all hang-overs (Fleming writing from experience) Fleming never really lets up with his great descriptive prose, managing to make every detail clear in the minds eye, making every location and character come to life. Right through to the final underwater battle you feel totally immersed in the action.

Another mark in favour of this excellent book is the slightly vulnerable depiction of Bond. Not quite the self confident impervious hero of earlier books (and of the big screen), this Bond has the occasional bout of self doubt, making him seem more human than before.

It's a thrilling read from a master of the form, 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bond's ninth outing., 28 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Thunderball: James Bond 007 (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Ian Fleming's 9th Bond novel, and interestingly the one that I feel the film scriptwriters altered the least for big screen, although I am sure I read somewhere that it was written with a film in mind and that is how there came to be some infighting in the Bond camp over the film rights.

What starts as an order to attend a health farm by M, soon escalates into the search for missing atomic bombs and a ransom for $100,000,000. We are introduced to the mastermind Ernst Stavros Blofeld and the terrorist group SPECTRE..

As usual for a Bond book it contains plenty of action, beautiful women and a cleverly written plot. But for me, and it seems as if I am alone in this, it just didn't live up the previous novels (with the exception of Casino Royale which I didn't like). There just wasn't enough Bond in the book and too much time going into other characters backgrounds, especially those that would be killed of in as many pages as it took to introduce them. I did enjoy the book and Blofeld is an amazingly written baddy, even if most of the coverage is given to Largo.

All in all not a bad weapon in the Bond arsenal, just not the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent start to the SPECTRE trilogy, 2 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
Having read all but the 3 SPECTRE novels I began this book with high expectations. I was not disappointed. The book holds a fantastic storyline; SPECTRE have highjacked two nuclear warheads and have threatened to use them if a huge ransom is not paid. Every agent in the western hemisphere is put on the job of finding these misiles. James Bond, having just returned from two weeks in at health club, is stationed in the Bahamas, the last place the missiles are expected to be... This book bursts with high-octane suspense and action towards the end. It has all the usual excessories: The location, the villain, the beautiful girl. It has it all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bond at his most credible, 13 July 2014
By 
Ian Thumwood "ian17577" (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thunderball: James Bond 007 (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Having worked my way through about 70% of the Bind novels, "Thunderball" is probably the one that most closely follows the plot of the film. When "Thunderball" hit the screen it was one of the first Bond films where the boat was really pushed out as far as the budget was concerned and where the underwater fights stretched the technical abilities of film making. Even though the film has dated with the missing Vulcan bomber now being an element of nostalgia, the film still manages to excite whereas an earlier effort like "From Russia with love" looks decidedly more creaky.

As a novel "Thunderball" remains remarkably well-grounded and some of the excesses which mar the conclusions of Fleming's other novels are absent. In this respect "Thunderball" is one of the best Bond books by a long chalk and the return of Felix Leiter is an added bonus. Coupled with the fact that the villains are neither over-the-top nor too obvious, this is a great read that closely mirrors the story line of the film as well as never flagging.

It is tempting to award this book five stars but I find the most interesting element of the books to be how they diverge from the film. In this instance, the film simply fleshes out the book and adds incidents like the shark attack in the swimming pool that is absent on the page. I would therefore deduct one star for the lack of surprise but this is merely through personal preference at enjoying the differences between the books and films. There is not so much action in the book as the film yet Fleming manages to make this an extremely gripping read even if you know the outcome. "Thunderball" is also one of the least dated of the Bond novels and Fleming adds to the credibility of the story by adding various bits of technical detail that lend to the authenticity of an otherwise elaborated world of espionage.

In my opinion if the reader is encountering Bond for the first time on the page and wants to find him as closely matched to the film character as possible, "Thunderball" is probably the book do go for although "For your eyes only" will not disappoint in this respect either. However, the story is so similar to the film that those looking for any differences (which, in the case of books like "the spy for loved me" are totally different stories) this may not be quite so rewarding. Never the less, this is easily one of Bond's finest adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fleming at his best!, 1 April 2000
By A Customer
This is not one of the best Bond-books... this is the best! I own my copy about ten years; i did read it four times in this period. I love all Bond-novels by Ian Fleming, but this one has to be the number one for me. The story is so fast... when you start reading it, you won't stop! The storyline is very credible. The end is perfect. Much better then both of the two movies ('Thunderball' & 'Never say never again'). A-must-read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James Bond: Thunderball, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the ninth James bond book and is one of my favourite's as well as Dr.No & Live & Let Die, In this book the leader of SPECTRE under the command of Enrst Stravo Blofeld steal two atomic bombs and holds the United Kingdom to ransom for £100,000,000 if the ransom is not paid within 7 days the two bombs will be detonated in high profile targets based in the UK & US, Based on flimsy information M sends Bond to the Bahamas to track the bombs down.
During his investigations bond meets Domino Petachia who after initiating conversation invites bond to meet millionaire explorer and treasure hunter Emile Largo, Bond partnered with Felix Leither and Immediately is suspicious of Largo and concludes that largo has stolen the bombs and is covering this up through his treasure hunting business.
The book itself is a great read better than Goldfinger and is on par with Doctor No, every scene is described in great detail and Bond seems far more vulnerable and bonds seems a little less self confident than in previous novels. The book is fast paced engaging and a real page turner, it's as good today as it was when it was released in 1961.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't leave me shaken OR stirred, 2 Feb. 2010
By 
This review is from: Thunderball (Paperback)
The ninth of the classic James Bond novels, I was looking forward to this one after being completely gripped by 'Moonraker' and 'Live and Let Die' when I read them a few years ago. This one... wasn't so good. It was interesting and detailed, and it had a well thought-out plot and some well-timed humour. It had all the utter chauvinism one expects of 007, all simpering secretaries and bourbon-swigging machismo - which is sort of part of the charm of these old stories. But 'Thunderball' just lacked the building suspense, the deadly peril, and the nerve-wracking finale of the other Bond stories I've read - all the things that really set the books apart from the cheesy action of the movies - and that really disappointed me. There were a couple of thrilling moments, but nothing to make me sit back and think, 'wow'. I'll still be reading more of 007's adventures, but I won't be hanging onto this one to read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Solid if below average Bond book, 8 Nov. 2008
The ninth Bond book is a good solid adventure yarn, and a welcome return after the unusual departure into short stories that was For Your Eyes only. However, it doesn't live up to the best of the Bond books, being a little slow moving and unsuspensful. Bond isn't often in any real peril, he always has a lot of support around him and he doesn't get captured. Thunderball is notable for introducing Blofeld, the most famous of all the Bond villains (though he isn't in the book vey much, the main baddie being Largo, his Number 2) and also for being one of only two Bond books to have two films made of it (the other is Casino Royal).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thunderball: James Bond 007 (Vintage Classics)
Thunderball: James Bond 007 (Vintage Classics) by Ian Fleming (Paperback - 6 Sept. 2012)
£6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews