Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Polished Bond adventure
Having worked my way through more than half of the Bond novels, you start to appreciate the Fleming could be an unpredictable writer and the interest for me often lies in the way these novels differ from the films. As a rule, the shorter novels illustrate Fleming at his most creative whereas it seems in the longer books that sometimes he is tired of his creation so that a...
Published 4 months ago by Ian Thumwood

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Diamonds are Forever: Ian Fleming - A decent adventure, but lacking a little sparkle.
Published in 1956, this is the fourth outing in print for Ian Fleming's spy James Bond. Here Bond is sent out to follow a diamond smuggling pipeline and to close it down. Inserted into the pipeline undercover, he has to deal with ruthless American Gangsters the Spangled mob, working his way through various scrapes with fixed horse races, hot mud baths and runaway steam...
Published 23 months ago by Victor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Diamonds are Forever: Ian Fleming - A decent adventure, but lacking a little sparkle., 19 Nov 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Diamonds are Forever: James Bond 007 (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Published in 1956, this is the fourth outing in print for Ian Fleming's spy James Bond. Here Bond is sent out to follow a diamond smuggling pipeline and to close it down. Inserted into the pipeline undercover, he has to deal with ruthless American Gangsters the Spangled mob, working his way through various scrapes with fixed horse races, hot mud baths and runaway steam locomotives before finally getting to the brains of the operation.

It is written with all of Fleming's verve and eye for detail. The opening paragraphs are adsorbing, and the big set pieces, especially the locomotive chase, are thrilling and breathtaking. These are the real strengths of the book. However, it does have a weakness in that the plot really isn't up to much, and the villains are less than impressive. Fleming tries to talk them up, but there is never really any feeling of threat or danger. And the plot does have a few holes in it. In all, these weaknesses are overcome by the strength of Fleming's writing. Even with unimpressive villains and a weak plot it is still an exciting read. Fleming had a real flair for adding in little descriptive touches that really build a vivid image in the mind's eye and transport the reader to the scene, I always find it adsorbing. On balance, 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Polished Bond adventure, 17 Jun 2014
By 
Ian Thumwood "ian17577" (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds are Forever: James Bond 007 (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Having worked my way through more than half of the Bond novels, you start to appreciate the Fleming could be an unpredictable writer and the interest for me often lies in the way these novels differ from the films. As a rule, the shorter novels illustrate Fleming at his most creative whereas it seems in the longer books that sometimes he is tired of his creation so that a book like "Dr. No" may include elements of hokum at the end or at least allow the tension to dissipate as the novels build to a climax. Whilst I would suggest that "FRWL" and "OHMSS" are probably the best of these longer books, "Diamonds are forever" is not far behind.

Part of the success of this novel stems from Fleming reining in his excesses and this book is better for Bond being up against American organised crime so that the more incredible elements that can spoil some of Fleming's writing are absent. I would also have to add that the fact that the last third of this novel is effectively a chase sequence does add to the excitement, especially as the heroine is not quite so two dimensional as in other 007 outings. In fact, Tiffany Case is probably one of his best crafted female characters. I'm not convinced by Victor's review that the villains lack menace and it is more a case that Fleming shelved the more absurd elements for a more credible picture of how well ingrained organised crime was in to many aspects of American society. The novel is assisted by the return of Felix Leiter whose life-threatening injuries incurred in "Live in let die" manifest themselves in him being far more gung-ho and reckless.

The whole escapade is bookended by incidents in Africa and I felt this juxtaposed itself nicely insofar that the setting of the sun on the British Empire is contrasted by the more cynical world of gambling, extortion, race fixing and murder that was the rotten under-belly of American life. Granted that there are a couple of pages of wholly unacceptable racism during the course of one particular menacing incident that should have been edited out without the story losing anything, this is otherwise one of the very best of the 007 adventures. I can recall trying to read this book for the first time when I was about 13 and being disappointed that is was nothing like the film. Returning to it over thirty years later it is clear that film was not a patch on Fleming's original vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bond lacking the bling, 25 Jun 2014
This review is from: Diamonds are Forever: James Bond 007 (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
5/10

Probably the weakest Bond novel in the series to this point which was somewhat surprising to me as the film is a fond favourite (who would have thought that the screen and page could differ?!). This more felt like Bond visits various locations with a little bit of spying on the side.

The setup is no different to any other, Bond meets M and gets his mission (I do enjoy the relationship these two have), Bond sets off on mission and finds a lady to admire and try to woo (book Bond is not as suave with the women as film Bond), Bond does a bit of shooting and puzzle solving, Bond gets the bad guy and the mission is a success.

The book just didn’t work though this time though, the whole diamond smuggling aspect was quite interesting but the plot never really got fleshed out and the villain is less villainous and more just mediocre thug.

Overall it was disappointing (even the gambling aspect was toned down in this one which is quite a shock as a large chunk is in Vegas!) and didn’t live up to some of the others in the series. I hope Bond and Fleming will be back on form in “From Russia with Love”.

If you enjoy this try: Anything by Vince Flynn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still very readable and I enjoyed it immensely, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds are Forever: James Bond 007 (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Still very readable and I enjoyed it immensely.It is far superior to the film version and provided your a Bond fan this is a
Very Good Read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like it, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds are Forever: James Bond 007 (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Good read, not as good as Casino Royale and Moonraker but still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds are Forever: James Bond 007 (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Pretty good but not as compelling as some of the other early Bonds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where have you been all my life?, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds are Forever: James Bond 007 (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
What a thriller should be...taut, quick, slightly unbelievable...but brilliant...In my old age I've got into Bond and I've started with the original work. I cannot recommend this work enough. Absolutely of it's time bearing no relation to the comedy Bond of Roger Moore....read all Fleming's Bond books, they are great entertainment and a snapshot of a long gone time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds are Forever: James Bond 007 (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Ordered this for my 18yr old son, who, as a young boy was an avid reader,but over the years has only read what was required at school. He found my copy of Casino Royal on the book shelf and read it in a day... So thought i'd order more. He's still reading. So refreshing to see a young man read a book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bond at best!, 5 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds are Forever: James Bond 007 (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Great book! Bond books so much better than movie counterparts. Felix Leiter returns. Politically incorrect and sexist by today's standards but great fun anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds are Forever: James Bond 007 (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
It was a gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diamonds are Forever: James Bond 007 (Vintage Classics)
Diamonds are Forever: James Bond 007 (Vintage Classics) by Ian Fleming (Paperback - 6 Sep 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews