Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars violent and brilliant
The story is based on a genuine SAS operation to rescue Royal Irish soldiers captured by the west side boys....and after that it takes off into a violent and captivating world of its own.
Fantastic attention to detail and plenty of twists keep you wide awake reading this.
A Great buy if this is your genre, but be warned, some parts are pretty gruesome. The...
Published on 3 Jan 2012 by mark10

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good train read
This is the type of book I wouldn't normally read but once started I couldn't stop reading . The story was well set with various twists in the tale that demanded you to go on reading,I found the various types of military equipment used a bit bewildering at times but that did not detracted from the overall story. In summary this was a compelling read for a first novel ,I...
Published 20 months ago by The gardener


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars violent and brilliant, 3 Jan 2012
The story is based on a genuine SAS operation to rescue Royal Irish soldiers captured by the west side boys....and after that it takes off into a violent and captivating world of its own.
Fantastic attention to detail and plenty of twists keep you wide awake reading this.
A Great buy if this is your genre, but be warned, some parts are pretty gruesome. The writing style of MS left me feelng as if I were following this story as a participant with sights, sounds and emotions all decribed in vivid detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly gripping, 13 Oct 2011
I was totally absorbed in this book and after a couple of hours reading it felt like I was actually there in the action. Really well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authentic, gripping, real., 10 Oct 2011
I picked up this one after reading Bear Grylls' tip and I was glad I did. Most books about modern military combat these days simply don't seem to work but Crook gets it. The book is both a brilliant and gripping read but also one that really recreates combat with an authenticity that is lacking in most similar books. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab book, 18 Sep 2011
By 
A. Smith (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great adventure novel, I finished it in no time. MS has great writing style and I look forward to the next one; you genuinely want to know what will happen next as the story unravels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fiest class debut novel, 5 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Who Pays The Piper (Paperback)
Certainly a remarkable first novel. Fast faced, believable and fallible characters who you learn to love or dispise. A twist in the story in every chapter leaves you wondering which direction it will take next.
MS has clearly left the main players available for a sequel, and the book would transfer readily to the big screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just loved this book, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Could not put this down a real fast moving SAS adventure, just loved it. Waiting for a new book from Mackenzie Smith.was really sorry when I came to the end great holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good train read, 12 Dec 2012
This review is from: Who Pays The Piper (Paperback)
This is the type of book I wouldn't normally read but once started I couldn't stop reading . The story was well set with various twists in the tale that demanded you to go on reading,I found the various types of military equipment used a bit bewildering at times but that did not detracted from the overall story. In summary this was a compelling read for a first novel ,I look forward to the second book.Who Pays The Piper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read many authors in this genre......................never have I read anything quite so gripping. Truly brilliant. Bring on the next book....please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding book!, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is right up there with any Mcnab, Chris Ryan or Duncan Faulkner title I've read. It's gripping, brutally gritty, guts, blood, betrayal, honor, revenge and plenty of daring do, a real page turner - read this when you have a day to yourself because once the narrative gets going, you aren't going to want to be disturbed by anything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely well written, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like McNab or other such military thrillers written with authenticity and not over the top detail you will love this book, often military thrillers like this leave me cold and there are really only a few authors who keep me page turning. Next time he writes a book I will buy it immediately no questions asked. Just one more point, it would make a brilliant plot for a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Who Pays The Piper
Who Pays The Piper by Mackenzie Smith (Paperback - 27 Sep 2012)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews