Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Multi-Layered and Uniquely Russian Account
This work of Russian literature -which is quite epic in scope-deals with many themes.
It is set in a clinic in Soviet ruled Uzbekistan for cancer patients ,in the mid 1950's ,shortly after the death of Joseph Stalin.
It deals with the personal stories and lives of many different characters
There are parallels between the cancer that ravages the bodies of...
Published on 17 Jun 2008 by Gary Selikow

versus
4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but unfocussed
I've owned this book for nearly a decade without having read it for some reason, and now that I have, I must admit that I'm not terribly impressed. The most interesting thing about this novel is the period that it was written in, since it gives plenty of details about what life was like in Russia between the great late nineteenth century and modern times. But the plot is...
Published on 14 May 2010 by Blackbeard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Multi-Layered and Uniquely Russian Account, 17 Jun 2008
By 
This work of Russian literature -which is quite epic in scope-deals with many themes.
It is set in a clinic in Soviet ruled Uzbekistan for cancer patients ,in the mid 1950's ,shortly after the death of Joseph Stalin.
It deals with the personal stories and lives of many different characters
There are parallels between the cancer that ravages the bodies of the dying patients and the cancer of Communism that ravaged the once proud Russia.
The hero of the novel is Oleg Kostolgotov who has gone from being a soldier on the frontline of Russia's fight against the invading Nazi armies during world War II to a political prisoner doomed to destruction for falling foul of Stalin's psychopathic system to a cancer patient lingering in a rundown hospital
He lives life to the full however , even in this seemingly gloomy clinic.
His foil is the Communist Party hack Pavel Rusanov , a man who has no heart and soul at all other than the Communist Party itself , in whose name he has cold-bloodedly ruined countless lives.
Now he lies in the cancer ward layed low by a disease that even the mighty Party cannot save him from .

Kostoglotov lives life to the full in the ward and has an interesting relationship with two remarkable women -the dedicated and beautiful Dr Vera Gangart and the vibrant and attractive young nurse Zoya.

Through the stories of the many people in this book we learn of the type of society they lived in ,and there are profound observations on so many subjects in life that are extremely memorable.
Always in the classic Russian combination between hope and depression where neither completely triumph over the other , but rather vie in a dependant type of antagonism .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly observed!, 30 Jan 2009
This review is from: Cancer Ward (Paperback)
I love this book. It is superbly well observed and written and shows the many different angles of the human experience of cancer as well as giving a very strong and interesting historical perspective and political analogy. Reading this book has got me through quite a dark phase of my own experience of advanced cancer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inimitable, 8 Sep 2001
Simply put, one of the greatest novels of all time. This may seem a rather grandiose and even foolhardy statement to make, but I firmly believe it to be true. Supremely provocative and involving, Cancer Ward tells the story of Kostoglotov, a man who suffers hardship at the hands of the Soviet State, and the cancerous corruption it represents. The disillusion with what socialism has become serves as a backdrop to the story of a number of men, all fighting to overcome cancer. There is so much I could say about this most wonderful of books. As it is, I cannnot advise you strongly enough to read it. Not only is it a devastatingly incisive analysis of the soviet state, but a beautiful study of the human spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heart felt examination of post Stalin russia, 20 July 2000
By A Customer
Strange how one can learn so much about Russia in the post Stalin years from a book about Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn own experiances in the cancer wards. To be honest I was a little wary of reading a 500 page novel about a hospital, but i'm glad I took the time and effect. It is very emotional and the characters within are deep and real. An interesting, heart felt and informative read, even better if you can cope with some of the unpronouncable russian names that appear within it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book on cancer, freedom, love and mentality of Soviets, 15 Dec 1999
It touches an immensely heavy subject - cancer, with its fears, pains and horrible experiences. At the same time it gives a huge look inside people both oppressed and supportive to Soviet regime. A book on the character, love and passion that can still exist under both physical and moral suppression - both under the regime and one's health. Must reak for those wishing to understand Soviet mentality of both prisoners and regime's supporters. The most honest and objective author for Stalin's era! I wish I could meet him personally and talk about our past, present and future, even though I am not Russian but grew up in the USSR, in the city where the book's narrative took place - Tashkent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, life affirming, 3 Dec 2000
By A Customer
Contrary to what might be assumed from the title this book is life affirming, particularly in the form of the main protagonist, Oleg Kostoglotov. If you want to be informed about the state of Russia in the immediate post-Stalin era or want to read a superbly written indictment of collectivism, or simply want a good old fashioned love story - this is for you! Has to be one of the top one hundred novels ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life, work, family, society, politics, illness, death. It's all here., 7 Jun 2009
By 
noc "noc" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cancer Ward (Paperback)
Another wonderful book by Solzhenitsyn - truly one of the greatest writers of all time. There's so much to say about this book and so much in it that I thnk it would be foolhardy of me to start - I'd never finish! So thought-provoking on so many vitally important subjects e.g. human relationships, emotional needs, facing illness and death, medical practice, frustration and bureaucracy, politics, betrayal, social structures and tension, Soviet history and society, even what constitutes happiness. A meaty, stimulating and evocative read to be revelled in. What a talent! Impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cancer Ward, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cancer Ward (Kindle Edition)
It's a good book, the writing is brilliant. I read it many years ago and wanted to read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful parody of what it was like to live under communism, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cancer Ward (Kindle Edition)
Would never swap places but the book really gives some insight into how medicine has changed and how we are all equal at times but not in this case thanks to political ideals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Genius, 11 Oct 2013
By 
P. Ronayne "Pablo" (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cancer Ward (Kindle Edition)
His greatest novel, indeed, one of the greatest works of fiction ever written. This massive work follows in the finest traditions of great Russian Literature over the previous 200 years.

Partly autobiographical, Solzhenitsyn had himself been a political prisoner in the Gulag and was treated and cured of cancer in the 1950s. Yet this is not a narrative of just the author's sufferings but the sufferings of a nation ripped apart by the terror of Stalinism and blitzed, raped and slaughtered by WW2.

The survivors are grouped together in a drab provincial hospital where they have to continue the struggle against a disease that will get them all eventually. The Cancer of the Stalin State and all its hideous outcomes proving a far greater enemy than the illness itself.

Bleak, yes, but a beautiful book as well. A love story supreme from the master himself, surely the greatest novelist of the 20th Century. Hats off to a Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cancer Ward
Cancer Ward by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn (Paperback - 1 May 2003)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews