Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. - A sobering account about the way humans act towards other humans !!
If you don't mind the rather dated way of writing and the fact that the translation from the original Portuguese seems to be quite stilted at times , also none of the characters are given names apart from "The Doctor", "The First Blind Man", "The Boy with a Squint" etc. this at first appears strange but after a while it actually improves the overall effect. The terrible...
Published 20 months ago by David H J Ashdown

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Someone has got to mention the King is naked, here.
Why did (and does) Saramago get such an easy ride? I think it did him a major disservice, encouraging him to churn out substandard books. Someone has got to say this! This book is simply awful. Pretentious, empty and boring. The only saving factor is the formal novelty represented by Saramago's style. I do love the dense paragraphing. Believe it or not I'm a big fan...
Published 27 days ago by C. Butler


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. - A sobering account about the way humans act towards other humans !!, 20 July 2013
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blindness (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
If you don't mind the rather dated way of writing and the fact that the translation from the original Portuguese seems to be quite stilted at times , also none of the characters are given names apart from "The Doctor", "The First Blind Man", "The Boy with a Squint" etc. this at first appears strange but after a while it actually improves the overall effect. The terrible treatment of the people who suddenly go blind appears to be a metaphore for the way humans treat all minority groups. The tension and chaos that ensues is palpable. At the end you're left imagining that our dependency on modern conveniences such as electricity, sanitation , government and all other things we take for granted are the only things that distinguish us from all other living creatures - A sobering thought
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars “Inside us there is something that has no name, that something is what we are.”, 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blindness (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Blindness is perhaps the most known writing by Jose Saramago. In this work, entitled (Essay on or about) Blindness, Jose Saramago proposes a simple element with which he chooses to explore human traits. And that is, as the book will let you know in the first page, what happens if you, me, and almost everyone goes blind? Saramago is able to explore this topic in an honest, fascinating and interesting way, letting his characters be defined not by names or traits, but by that which we consider typical of others (some glasses here, some other object there). And it's this anonymity that brings Blindness to the front of the line of Saramago's greatest books, because we never really know who they are, we never know who they were, but we know all about them. To be precise, and paraphrasing part of the book, perhaps people are blind and they don't know it, perhaps we are all blind and it is in that blindness that the truth can be found.

Saramago's style is different, yes, but it is a delight to find how his writing works. It's refreshing to see how he is able to find a voice and literary elements that are only his, that allow his characters to be who they are and the reader to find each and of them in the dark.

An overall five out of five stars is what this book deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Saramago is a great writer and this is a very disturbing book, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blindness (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
A remarkable book - a terrifying story difficult to discuss without spoilers. Shows the frailty of society and the underlying terror that unexplained phenomena can bring. Saramago is a great writer and this is a very disturbing book. Read this and wonder how you would survive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Someone has got to mention the King is naked, here., 27 Feb. 2015
By 
C. Butler (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blindness (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Why did (and does) Saramago get such an easy ride? I think it did him a major disservice, encouraging him to churn out substandard books. Someone has got to say this! This book is simply awful. Pretentious, empty and boring. The only saving factor is the formal novelty represented by Saramago's style. I do love the dense paragraphing. Believe it or not I'm a big fan. Saramago, for me, was one of the few unmistakably great novelists of the 1980s-90s. But that's exactly why it annoys me that no-one told him when he was writing self-indulgent drivel.

Read The Year of the Death of Ricardo Reis for something a million times better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 50% great 50% a little dissapointing, 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blindness (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
After getting into the writing style (which isn't typical), first half is really good, a frightening story of fear and intimidation, up there with 1984.

I was however a bit disappointed in the 2nd half of the book - seemed a bit repetitive and I got to the point where I was waiting for the book to end rather than enjoying the story.

I do however recommend reading at least the first 1/2 of it, if only for the interesting writing style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blindness (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Great Book, excellent service by seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome with a BIG minus, 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blindness (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
One of my top3 favorite books!
Fast delivery, good packaging and condition.

Big minus, the price is PRINTED on the back cover and it was bought as a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blindness (Vintage Classics)
Blindness (Vintage Classics) by Jose Saramago (Paperback - 4 April 2013)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews