Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 83 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grim, grumpy but gripping
It's hard to say what the attraction is about the Kurt Wallander series: They're not whodunnits; the stories can be as grim as the Southern Swedish landscape where they are set; there's no redeeming humour and the hero is just a normal policeman with no special quirks or character traits. There is nevertheless something remarkably compelling about them. The latest...
Published on 8 Jan. 2004 by Martin Myers

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wallander's mid-life crisis
Surely, the quality of Henning Mankell (HM)'s oeuvre is uneven. Books rooted in Africa are his most passionate creations, but not all are great reads. The same applies to his 10-book Wallander-series and a string of other crime novels. Most are entertaining or thrilling, some are memorable and brilliant, and a few disappoint. After completing this tiresome, overlong 8th...
Published 24 months ago by Alfred J. Kwak


‹ Previous | 17 8 912 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fell in love with Scandinavian Noir with this author, 27 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fell in love with Scandinavian Noir with this author. Read them all within a few weeks. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Classic mankell, 11 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book to pickup and know you will find enjoyable, the the best of the wallander novels but strong nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Firewall, 4 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good bedtime read although perhaps not the best in the series. Perhaps I read it a little too quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read., 20 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone enjoying the previous of the Wallander stories will equally find this one to their taste, I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Firewall, 16 Feb. 2010
By 
This book was really, really good and I would very much like to know which one is next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Firewall, 6 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another really good read, I could not put it down. I think this is one of my favourite Wallenders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly predictable, 11 Oct. 2014
Slightly more predictable than others in the series, but enjoyable nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. Alan Haigh (settle north yorks GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
first class murder mystery, which leaves you in the dark right upto the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I have read many Wallander books, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firewall: Kurt Wallander (Paperback)
I was in a low phase of my life.
These books were easy reading, a way to pass the time.
Now I think 'why did I bother?'
Wallander is badly characterised, pedantic, unappealing, an 'old fart!'
His thinking is concrete, unimaginative and trite. The other characters in the books are just as one dimensional, just like Agatha Christi, in fact!
Why did I read them?
Because they are safe, predictable, easy, unchallenging.
So.. if you want easy escapism, these books are for you. If you want your brain stimulated, look elsewhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Firewall, 23 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book to read and it is interesting from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 912 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Firewall: Kurt Wallander
Firewall: Kurt Wallander by Henning Mankell (Paperback - 6 Dec. 2012)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews