Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of his Best
This was the very first Masterton book I ever read and it is still my favourite. Not only is it gripping from beginning to end, but the plot itself leaves you hanging of every page in anticipation of whats going to, or could possibly, happen next. Focusing on a mirror which "witnessed" an horrific murder, and then some 60 years later when the mirror decides...
Published on 7 Nov 1999

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Inconsistent
The author described loads of violence, fears, extreme pain, and horrific experiences without so much feeling. There were mistakes, too! Sure every reader picked up that Dr Rice, the gynaecologist who saw Boofuls on the night he was murdered (50 years ago), happened to be only 60 years old when he recalled his experience to Martin?!?! This indicates Dr Rice was merely 10...
Published 6 months ago by money wise


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of his Best, 7 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Mirror (Hardcover)
This was the very first Masterton book I ever read and it is still my favourite. Not only is it gripping from beginning to end, but the plot itself leaves you hanging of every page in anticipation of whats going to, or could possibly, happen next. Focusing on a mirror which "witnessed" an horrific murder, and then some 60 years later when the mirror decides the time is right to show what is behind it, resulting in an all too believable plot of demonic resurrection, this book is both terrifying and addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, indeed!, 26 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mirror (Hardcover)
This was the very first Masterton book I have ever read, too, and my favorite as well. Since then I have read dozens of his books, most of which are great as well, but this one really kept me awake for many nights. It is written very vividly and really is beliveable enough to make the reader look at mirrors in a different way than before. :)
If you are not familiar with Graham Masterton, this is the book to start your journey. It is a path that you will have trouble in getting off, believe me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Name Is Lejeune, for we are Many, 5 Jun 2006
This review is from: Mirror (Paperback)
Struggling Hollywood script-writer, Martin Williams' dream is to never have to pen another episode of The A-Team and get his musical about 1930's child protege 'Boofuls' produced. His obsession leads him to buy a mirror - the very mirror in fact that was hangining in the room where Boofuls was brutally murdered.

When Boofuls suddenly steps out of his mirror into the real world, Martin slowly becomes submerged in something bigger than deadlines and antagonising agents - forcing him to look beyond the looking glass and face the most Evil Force of all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling to the end...., 2 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mirror (Paperback)
This book is definitely one of my favourite Masterton books. I had always been a strong Richard Laymon fan, but following the downward spiral the books penned under his name have taken since his death, I thought a change of author would be good. How surprised I was to discover the sheer quality of Masterton's work. This book is truly superb, it's twisting and gripping plot kept me on the edge of my seat right to the last page. The concept behind the story is superb and the graphical descriptions of how to stay youthful and handsome were stomach-churningly fantastic. Masterton is an author who all horror fans would be foolish to overlook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reflected wonder, 7 April 2014
This review is from: Mirror (Kindle Edition)
I picked this up after seeing that the author of the amazing A Gathering of Twine (The Spirals of Danu) cited it as a major influence.

And I can see why. Dark, brooding, an atmospheric thriller that is filled with dread at the hero gets caught up in the obsession of his idols possessions, including the titular mirror.

The influence of this book is not hard to see, including the Kiefer Sutherland movie of the same name.

Gloriously dark and deliciously twisted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read it you mst, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mirror (Kindle Edition)
Mastertone at his very best at the top of his game. Real page turner. Buy it you must if you want a thrilling read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Inconsistent, 22 Jan 2014
This review is from: Mirror (Paperback)
The author described loads of violence, fears, extreme pain, and horrific experiences without so much feeling. There were mistakes, too! Sure every reader picked up that Dr Rice, the gynaecologist who saw Boofuls on the night he was murdered (50 years ago), happened to be only 60 years old when he recalled his experience to Martin?!?! This indicates Dr Rice was merely 10 year old when he was supposed to be practicing gynaecology!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mirror (Kindle Edition)
I read this all in one go as it was hard to put down. The ending seemed to happen suddenly and was a tad disappointing. Definately recommend it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one ov the best books i have ever read, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mirror (Kindle Edition)
I have read this book several times but on the kindle it is so much better no page turning BRILL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mirror (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable book. Makes the hairs stand up on the back of your neck! Couldn't put it down. Great storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mirror
Mirror by Graham Masterton (Paperback - 7 July 2011)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews