Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, moving and funny xxxxx
The first thing that drew me to this particular book was the title. I'm a huge believer in Angels, I love everything about them and it is not often that I read a story with angels in. I'd LOVE to read more fiction that features Angels, and after reading this one, I'm now on the look out for more!! I must also say that the cover of this book is GORGEOUS. It is very warm...
Published 17 months ago by Megan ReadingInTheSunshine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars another good read
I chose only to give this an okay because it was a very quick read. I do like to take longer to read a book.
Published 14 months ago by hotspur


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, moving and funny xxxxx, 12 Nov 2012
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Angels at the Table (Paperback)
The first thing that drew me to this particular book was the title. I'm a huge believer in Angels, I love everything about them and it is not often that I read a story with angels in. I'd LOVE to read more fiction that features Angels, and after reading this one, I'm now on the look out for more!! I must also say that the cover of this book is GORGEOUS. It is very warm and invites you in before you have even opened the first page!

Mercy, Goodness and Shirley are Angels. They are Prayer Ambassadors, working under the direction of Gabriel and helping the humans on Earth by answering their prayers and guiding the humans. But one rule they find hard to follow is that they must not interfere too much! When they take a new apprentice under their wing, the trio get so caught up in showing Will the excitement of Earth on New Year's Eve that they all get a bit carried away!

Lucie is in Times Square waiting for the New Year to come in, and after she is separated from her friends, she finds herself alone as everyone around her hugs and kisses in celebration. Next to her is Aren, he too finds himself alone, and when Will accidentally nudges them in his anticipation to be amongst the crowd of humans, sparks fly and there is an instant attraction. However, the passion and romance is short-lived as a twist of fate tears them apart. Will Aren and Lucie find each other? And can the Angels lend a helping hand?

I cannot describe how much I enjoyed this book! I finished it in a few hours and I could not put it down! Immediately I was drawn in by the story of the Angels in Heaven looking down at the exciting events happening on Earth. It made me smile to read about the Angels enthusiasm for Earth and how much they enjoyed their time with humans and their visits to Earth!

I loved reading about the two separate worlds and how they interlinked, coming together as one. I loved that the Angels followed humans around and tried their very best to help, even if sometimes it did have disastrous consequences! I was laughing out loud at the mischief they got themselves into, and I enjoyed picturing the scenes in my head, wondering how things would appear to the humans who could not see them! Mercy and Will were my favourite Angels - I loved how Mercy had a fun side and although she meant well, it was her influence which always landed the others in hilarious situations. I think Will was brilliantly written as an apprentice, I enjoyed reading about his progress and his love and care for the humans touched my heart. I liked how he tried his very best to behave, and how all he wanted throughout the story was for things to go right. I absolutely adored the Angels, I could not stop laughing at their antics and I am already looking forward to reading the other stories that Debbie has written about them!

Lucie and Aren were very well-written as characters. I LOVED their initial meeting at the beginning of the book, I was actually squealing with excitement at how well their relationship hit off at the start! It has to be one of the most romantic scenes I've read this year, something about it pulled me in and I felt so much happiness for them! As sad as i was when fate intervened and tore them apart, it compelled me to read on to see how their individual journeys progressed and I willed them all throughout the book to find each other. Lucie was a character that I very much got behind and supported, I warmed to her straight away and wanted her to have huge success in all areas of her life and achieve everything that she wanted to. Lucie's mum Wendy deserves a mention too - She was fantastic and always made me smile.

Angels At The Table is an enchanting book filled with magic. There is the perfect balance of love, kindness, and a lot of humorous moments thrown in to brighten your day. It is a warm story set amongst Christmas and New Year, and it is by far the most comforting story I have read in a while. There is a very special message in this book: We are never alone. And sometimes, if we ask for help, then Angels might visit Earth, cause a bit of mischief along the way, but ultimately, they will try to help you and answer your prayers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comical and light reading, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels at the Table (Paperback)
Great story with elements of laughter and fun - thoroughly enjoyed it. Would highly recommend to fans of Debbie Macomber
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear, 10 Mar 2014
I have read the Cedar Cove series which I enjoyed very much but I think Debbie Macomber was having a bad day when she wrote this or maybe had to produce a book fast. It is sad that having written some lovely books that a book of this poor quality follows. I do not write reviews as a rule but felt I just had to about this particular book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 27 Feb 2014
By 
Linda Smith "50s fan" (Bury, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love these Debbie Macomber Angels books -they are funny and entertaining. Will be buying more when they are available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Angels at the table - A Christmas Story, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. P. A. Mason (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels at the Table (Paperback)
I have read some brilliant books by Debbie Macomber but I couldn't get into this one.I couldn't get past the first few pages because it just didnt hold my interest.So love the author - just not this particular book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as usual, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels at the Table (Paperback)
I have lost count of the Debbie Macomber books I have read. There has not been a story that I have not enjoyed and I like the way the stories often interlink with each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels at the Table (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book found it to be fuuy in parts have read a few more of this authurs books and wiil try more thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels at the Table (Paperback)
l don't write reviews as l feel people should make their own decision and not be influenced by others points of view but as a fan of Debbie Macomber's books l would be bias l will say though that if you believe in Angels then you will really enjoy this book and if you don't then give it a try you may change your mind............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels at the Table (Paperback)
My wife read tis and found it most brilliant, she is not a strong reader but flew through this book in a couple of days so the story must have been good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My wife loves it, 23 Aug 2013
By 
M. Illingworth (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels at the Table (Paperback)
My wife wanted this book and now she has read it she is delighted with it. She enjoys all books by this author Debbie Macomber and this one did not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb46d93a8)

This product

Angels at the Table
Angels at the Table by Debbie Macomber (Paperback - 8 Nov 2012)
3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews