Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short, readable, atmospheric
I enjoyed reading this one afternoon over the Christmas holidays, so I was surprised to read the many negative reviews and wanted to restore some balance.

I freely admit I don't know a lot about the Pendle trials, and I do have a thing about historical accuracy, so this would possibly have annoyed me if I were an expert, but I have checked with a friend in the...
Published 14 months ago by A Ryder

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Messy and muddled (review contains spoilers)
I've loved a lot of Winterson's writing, and have enjoyed other books in this Hammer series - but sadly this combination just doesn't work here. Taking her cue from the real case of the Pendle witches, Winterson pulls together a heady brew of Satanism, anti-Catholicism, rape and sexual violence, torture and death.

The problem is that there's far too much going...
Published 11 months ago by Roman Clodia


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars adult fairy tale, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a book to take too seriously. A bit gory in places made me wince a few times. but a good adult yarn of spooky witchery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mistress of her craft., 12 May 2013
Ghastly and poetic in equal measure.One of the most extraordinary things I have read-Winterson is mistress of her craft and has profound understanding.She has distilled a marvellous elixir in this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit too gory for me but she makes for a powerful read, 4 May 2013
By 
M. M. Charles "dilly" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It has scenes of really horrific violence, but i feel the author uses the theme of sexual violence and sexuality to really highlight these poor womens powerlessness in what were very grim times,at the same time it highlights there spirit. it is a very angry and defiant book there is a rape scene that leaves the woman still defiant, until she looses her tongue, again these women had no voice and were vcictimised because they were vulnerable. i can't say that what i have read was enjoyable,(i wont finish this book)but the author makes a poweful and very angry statement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully evocative book, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a huge fan of Jeanette Winterson and I was vaguely familiar with the story of the Lancashire Witches. This book was a fascinating read and I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in the period or who just wants a well informed beautifully written book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Daylight Gate, 3 Sep 2012
By 
A. Siburuth (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Daylight Gate (Hardcover)
This is one of the worst books I have ever read! I shall not pass it on, nor would I recommend it to anyone. I found it to have no proper story, but I personally felt it was full of depraved sex acts - it was a slur on the memories of those ten people who were sent to the gallows in August 1612. I have carried out a lot of research this year on the Lancashire Witches, and just hope that anyone who is unfortunate enough to read this will realise that it is a load of rubbish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Present, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Daylight Gate (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a present I wanted to give, so I can't really write a review. However I have read Jeanette Winterson and I must say she really can write. I think she is a great writer; otherwise I would not have chosen this book to give as a present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read every JW book I was disappointed for the first time. This is very much a switch of genre to straight narrative, so if like me you read JW for her wonderfully poetic use of language and imagination then this will not hit the mark. On the less negative side it is a very well told tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A travesty. Read Malkin Child by Livi Michael instead - it's well researched & well written - real, honest & truthful.., 10 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Daylight Gate (Hardcover)
This is a pointless book - unless you are interested in another Jeanette style Mills & Boon romance with an obnoxious Gothic twist. It wouldn't be a good book if it was simply fictitious - but it is doubly offensive as it's based on a real historical event.
Ten real life people were hanged in August 1612 for the 'crime' of witchcraft. Anne Whittle; Alice Nutter; Katherine Hewitt: John Bullock; James Device - to name five - ordinary people with ordinary names. Names that are still commonplace - look on Facebook or in any telephone directory and you'll find them these surnames often enough.
Today in various countries of the world adults and children suffer torture and death because we - human beings - are a superstitious race. We can fall prey to our fears, just as people did in the 1600s, and believe that this person or that child is a witch.
The Malkin Child reclaims the historical accounts of the Pendle Witch trials. Livi Michael writes a plausible story which has relevance in today's world. Furthermore, her book is associated with a charity that helps rescue children deemed to be witches while also educating the people of their communities so as to enable them to overcome their superstitious fears.
While Jeanette Winterson's book ....? Utterly pointless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reading The Daylight Gate, 23 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Daylight Gate (Hardcover)
The design and size of the hard back book cover and the colours of its edging became part of the pleasure of reading. The tale told is dramatic, gripping and memorable. Winterson has skillfully weaved fact with an imagined human story, where the landscape is as evocative as any character. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Daylight Gate, 6 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: The Daylight Gate (Hardcover)
A beautiful tale of the Pendle witches . Weaving in the state of the times and lyrical descriptions of place. Pendle is still a powerful and magical place, maybe their shades are there still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9e8deef4)

This product

The Daylight Gate
The Daylight Gate by Jeanette Winterson (Hardcover - 16 Aug 2012)
7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews