Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great book
Christopher Isherwood's style is unassuming but flows very well and is always evocative without over-reaching itself. It makes this book a particularly enthralling read if you have read the fictions based on it, that he actually wrote first, namely Goodbye To Berlin, Down There On A Visit, and Prater Violet, and possibly others I don't know. If you have read them it is...
Published 18 months ago by schumann_bg

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating but.........
I agree with some other reviewers that this book is extremely interesting, especially if read alongside the Berlin stories and other Isherwood fiction. The picture of 1930's Berlin and some of Isherwood's other destinations is fascinating. Some of the great characters of English literature are observantly drawn. Most of all, the comparisons and contrasts between two...
Published 6 days ago by Tyke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great book, 30 Dec. 2013
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Christopher and His Kind (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Christopher Isherwood's style is unassuming but flows very well and is always evocative without over-reaching itself. It makes this book a particularly enthralling read if you have read the fictions based on it, that he actually wrote first, namely Goodbye To Berlin, Down There On A Visit, and Prater Violet, and possibly others I don't know. If you have read them it is like a palimpsest of those experiences, drawing you back into memories of those novels which you thought you had lost sight of. It's a bit like watching a film several years later and remembering things only as they occur, but unable to recall what will happen next. You get a very good sense of Auden and Stephen Spender, both of whom he knew very well, and other figures like E. M. Forster and Virginia Woolf are given in deft portraits; equally it gets the feeling of being in Germany, England, Portugal, Denmark, and other countries in the 1930s - China too - and the feeling of dread at the approach of war. How this was felt in everyday life comes across better in this book than almost any other I have read, yet it has the casual tone of a diary we are privy to. There is a thoroughly engrossing section about his German friend Heinz and how they went around Europe trying to get a residence permit for him abroad. Everything he tells about remains totally vivid and compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest, 28 Jan. 2014
By 
M. Ronald Jewell "Sugah" (à Gay Paree) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christopher and His Kind (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Isherwood was gifted and his books travel through time and are relative to the ages of today and tomorrow, emotion, intellect and the challenges of living in difficult times are so vividly expressed that I I highly suggest his books to anyone. he doesn't lie nor mince words and his care for the reader despite those who would prefer lies, Isherwood's writings are magical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating but........., 26 Jun. 2015
By 
Tyke (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Christopher and His Kind (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
I agree with some other reviewers that this book is extremely interesting, especially if read alongside the Berlin stories and other Isherwood fiction. The picture of 1930's Berlin and some of Isherwood's other destinations is fascinating. Some of the great characters of English literature are observantly drawn. Most of all, the comparisons and contrasts between two versions of the same events, one autobiographical and the other fictional, is enthralling for anyone interested in the process of creating fiction and the impact of social and political factors on that process. "I am a camera" the narrator states at the beginning of the Berlin Tales, establishing an objective, non-judgmental approach to what follows. When we read Christopher and his Kind, we finally realize just how often Isherwood the narrator stepped on front of the camera to participate in the events he was describing.

Ultimately, however, I was left feeling quite uneasy. Isherwood may have been almost scientifically objective in his narration. I could not achieve that same detachment in reading Christopher and his Kind. I was disturbed by the unevenness of the power in the relationships formed with the street boys of Berlin. Yes, Isherwood clearly had strong and genuine attachments to some of these boys and some of them teased him cruelly. But ultimately, the distribution of power, wealth, education and social class was all in his favour in these relationships. The boys were invariably penniless, powerless, on the fringes of society and desperate. Of course, unlike the boys, Isherwood also had a British passport and could skip out of Germany at the right time, which he did, moving to America at the start of WW2.

It all seems just a bit exploitative. There are other words I could have used to describe these relationships. But to judge this book totally from the perspective of 2015 is not relevant to them as books about an earlier time. Enjoy them for what they are, a fascinating account of a fascinating time and life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite a story., 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christopher and His Kind (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
I was expecting this to be like the Matt Smith programme about Berlin in the 1930s, but its so much more. this book goes into the story of Christopher Isherwood not just in Berlin,but to many other places he travelled to and his meetings with authors like E.M Forster etc. good bedtime reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure delight, 16 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Top tip for this biography: Don't skip the intro, it's written by Gore Vidal. This autobiography is pure Isherwood and pure delight. Written in the third person throughout gives the narrative a charming quality as it observes the author's journey from England to Berlin to various European capitals to England again and finally ending with Ellis Island and his first steps on US soil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written description of 1930s gay Berlin, 4 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best and easiest way to describe the witting is sumptuous. We follow Christopher Isserwood through his movents and affairs in 1930s Berlin. The constant changing of point of view (1st to 3rd person) can initially be distracting, but you soon get used to it and it only ands to the story.

Absolutely first class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christopher and His Kind (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast delivery, 4 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christopher and His Kind (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
A fast delivery and the book was in great condition, I can't wait to read this! My friend has and she said it was great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A BIG NO, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow, what a truly boring and terrible book! One to be removed from my kindle, just went on and on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 29 July 2014
By 
Mark G. Ferguson "Fergy the Sarnie" (Egham, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well, I would review it if I had received it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christopher and His Kind (Vintage Classics)
Christopher and His Kind (Vintage Classics) by Christopher Isherwood (Paperback - 1 Nov. 2012)
£8.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews